We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel in a beatiful setting...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gregans Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballyvaughan
Certificate of Excellence
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Superb hotel in a beatiful setting...”
Reviewed 30 July 2007

I stayed in this in July of this year and found it to be a fantastic experience. The setting is just perfect, located in the Burren with a view of Galway Bay in the distance. The hotel itself is full of old world charm and the bedrooms are just great. The bar is extremely relaxing and the food served in the restaurant is top quality. All the food is fresh local produce. For breakfast we had smoothies and a cooked breakfast which was unbeatable. Overall, this is a great hotel for a peaceful weekend free from the hustle and bustle of your usual city hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — The relaxing atmosphere created by the hotel and the location
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KEM1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    67
    25
    17
    10
See reviews for
67
284
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2007

This place just gets better and better. No it is not a castle, it gets it's name from the round tower across the road, but it is a sublime hideaway in spectacular scenery. We have stayed here twice and been there numerous times for coffee and drinks - we have already booked for next year. It is all you imagine Irish country house living to be. Open turf fires, candlelight and friendly Irish hospitality. The food is amazing - as good as you will get in the best establishments in London and Simon and his staff are as friendly as you want them to be - they do not hassle or crowd you but will chat if you want them to. Americans will probably find the plumbing a bit archaic but this is the West of Ireland! I would strongly recomment this hotel if you want to be pampered, de-stressed and chilled out. Do not go there if you want exciting nightlife! Ideal for romantic weekends/holidays - I speak from experience!! If you have a bit of extra money to spend, I strongly recommend the Galway Bay Suite!

  • Liked — The room, the bed, the shower and the view
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomond_ennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2007

Great location in Ireland in the Burrens. Just outside of Ballyvaughn and close to other towns and sites. It is not a castle but a large house. Some of the staff: not friendly and some were very friendly. We had booked a king room but were shown to a room with a full size bed and twin bed. Not great for a couple. After convincing the hotel to show us another room, we got a euro king. The room was smaller, but more cozy. The room was okay. It clean but very dusty and even a cob web hanging from the ceiling light fixture. Many "cheap" furnishings. The bathroom was fine but the shower curtian was too small and consequently the shower leaked all over the floor. The common rooms, living room and bar were very nice and nicely kept. The dining room was wonderful! The food was exceptionally good. Most of the people that were there were upwards of 50 or 60 year's old. It was okay, but for price $350 per night plus -- I would not return. We left early the next morning to get a flight from Shannon. We were told to leave the key on the desk and find our own way out. No one to help us with luggage (from second floor) and we had to drag it out through the stone parking lot in the pitch black to our car.

  • Liked — Location and restaurant
  • Disliked — The quality of the accommodations/furnishings
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tvjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2007

We stayed here as a treat for a relaxing and chilled out romantic weekend. I was expecting a castle but it's a country house - it made no difference, it was fabulous from start to finish. We stayed in the Martyn Suite and it was truly special...huge 4 poster bed, separate living room area and our own private gardens!! Worth the splurdge! The food was delicious and the wine list excellent. Our waiter was a lovely eastern european man & was so charming and helpful and knew what it meant to deliver great personal service..breakfast and housekeeping staff equally friendly. The setting is gorgeous too and there are plenty scenic walks in the area. All in all one of the best places I've stayed - right up there with Rathmullen House - check out the Blue Book, it's become our guide to weekends away and deluxe places to stay in Ireland..

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayjunkieIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, FL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2007

My sister and I stayed in this boutique hotel a few years ago. It was, I think, the most elegant of any hotel in which I have stayed. It is actually a manor house, not a castle, with lovely local stone floors and fantastic William Morris wallpaper. The food was excellent as was the service and attitude of the staff. We had a large room overlooking the garden. It was extremely tasteful with a large very clean bathroom.
It is very easy to find. We called from the road based on a listing in a DK travel guide.

We felt very uplifted by the tranquility and reservedness of this pristine property.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shinyfluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2006

When my family went to Ireland in 2004, this hotel was our first stop on our jaunt. And a better introduction to Ireland I could not imagine. From the welcoming smell of the peat fire in the fireplace, to the amazing staff...this place was perfect. We stayed here for 2 wonderful nights and the staff genuinely got to know us during our stay. We had our own table set aside for all our meals, and the servers made us feel at home. The rooms were small, but beautiful and cozy. The beds were wonderfully comfortable. The grounds are beautiful. The meals were great. What more could anyone want.

Located near the amazing Burren, it was the perfect location. Our only regret was that we did not plan a longer stay here.

We will stay here again, but for a much longer stay. Take my advice: fly into Shannon and stay here for a long relaxing stay.

  • Liked — The staff and the atmosphere and the decorations
  • Disliked — Nothing, I loved it all
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay for a few nights
  • Stayed September 2004, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jennifero2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebeltoft
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2006

This is an absolutely amazing place if you just want to relax away from it all. With no television in the rooms and a code against the constant and increasingly common buzzings of mobile phones, you are certain to feel everyday stress just fall away - once you get used to the quiet.

The overall atmosphere is one of entering a stately, effortlessly elegant, but relaxed private home. The staff is unobtrusive but very friendly and ready to chat if you seem to be in the mood. Otherwise they will just stay quietly in the background.

The grounds are lovely, food is excellent (including a very good breakfast) and rooms are elegant, with beautiful views. I stayed in Mina's Room and would just loved to have been able to take the whole bathroom home with me. And the colour scheme of muted grey/blue/green and gold I am considering copying for home.

The surroundings are astounding, and Gregan's is well situated for long walks in the Burrens and even better for long bike rides. If you bike, the famed Cliffs of Moher are within distance.

However, this is not a place to go if you want lots of life, entertainment and like to be in the center of things. It is quite far to the nearest town if you want to walk - half an hours brisk walking should get you there, although you can also borrow bikes - and the quietness of the place, which is a blessing to me, may seem like a curse to others. But I am just dying to go back so I can wake up to the warbling of a robin and the gentle mewing of cows.

  • Liked — the beauty of everything inside and out
  • Disliked — the distance to town
  • Tips/Secrets — take advantage of the bikes and get around that way. Much better than a car.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank moratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyvaughan
23.4 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,156 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hylands Burren Hotel
Hylands Burren Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
11.9 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gregans Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gregans Castle Hotel

Property: Gregans Castle Hotel
Address: on the N67, Gragan East, Ballyvaughan 01, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Ballyvaughan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballyvaughan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gregans Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views across Galway Bay and idyllically situated overlooking the unique Burren landscape, this is the ultimate luxury and gourmet hideaway. Simon and Frederieke together with their staff manage this oasis of comfort and offer genuine Irish hospitality, award winning innovative cooking and elegant bedrooms free from the intrusion of televisions. Antiques, an eclectic art collection, open fires, candles, jugs of flowers and Shelley the cat add to the indulgently relaxing atmosphere. The hotel while strictly not a "castle" in the usual sense of the word has been named "Gregans Castle" since it was built in 1750 as a more comfortable residence for the O'Loughlen and Martyn families from the nearby 16th century towerhouse. Located on the Wild Atlantic Way and the Burren Food Trail. The ideal location from which to enjoy the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Walking, Cycling, the Aran Islands, Horse Riding, Surfing, Sea Angling, Golf. Members of The Burren Ecotourism Network. Awards include: Georgina Campbell’s Hotel of the Year 2016, RAI Best Hotel Restaurant 2016, Gold Medal Awards Ireland’s Chef of the Year 2015, Supreme Winner & Best Country House 2014; Food & Wine Magazine Best Restaurant & Best Chef Munster 2014; AA 3 Rosettes for Culinary Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Gregans Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gregans Castle Ballyvaughan
Hotel Gregans Castle
Gregans Castle Hotel Ballyvaughan, Ireland - The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing