We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Dog Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Drumcreehy Country House
Ranked #2 of 16 Ballyvaughan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I booked here with the understanding from the owner.I could leave my Yorkshire Terrier in the room when I was not there. Upon arriving his wife informed us that we had to take the dog with us when we vacated the room. When eating out I found a restaurant where I could see the car from where I was sitting. On leaving I told her I was unhappy about this and she was very rude and asked what was my problem. She seems unaware that you cannotleave dogs unattended especially in heat as it is dangerous. With the high level of dog napping around leaving windows open is nsafe. Our room was outside for ease of access with the dog. Ihad to go back to the main house if we wanted tea or coffee. I was very disappointed in this and thought a kettle with some tea bags etc should have beign provided. My husband asked for 4 rashers and 2 eggs for breakfast and the response the got was very rude. She gave him 3 rashers and 2 eggs. Overall the husband of the house is very nice but his wife is rude and unhelpful. You either leave the dogs in or just not allow them . It was very upsetting.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerardine e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alwin, Owner at Drumcreehy Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Guests, thank you for your favourable comments regarding Drumcreehy House. We regret that you did not find us dog friendly and considered us rude, simply because you did not like/adhere to our rules.

We are a dog friendly premises and almost every week, we have guests accompanied by their dogs. We usually try to offer guests with dogs a room in the adjacent annex for easy access to the garden in the morning and before going to bed - something most guests appreciate. Obviously every establishment has house rules and one of our rules is that dogs should not be left unattended in the rooms while guests are at breakfast or out for dinner/other activities. I am fully aware that it is not ideal to leave a dog in a car in warm weather but there are ways around it (short periods/slightly open windows/good run before and after). Dognapping is not a problem around here and so I cannot comment on that. However, I would like to point out that it is extremely traumatizing to leave a dog alone in unfamiliar surroundings. Out of fear, they tend to bark, become mischievous and can even soil. Hence to leave a dog in their owners car for a short period of time with a slightly opened window would seem to me and many other dog lovers to be the lesser of two evils.

Likewise you seem to find it rude that you couldn't get a double portion of breakfast. We offer a very substantial breakfast buffet with variety of cereals, fruits (fresh, dried and stewed), cold meats and cheese, range of breads, pastries, croissants etc. In addition, we offer a choice of 9 cooked breakfasts. Our portions are generally considered to be more than adequate and so we were taken by surprise when you asked for a double portion of bacon and eggs. When you think about it, one doesn't normally expect two steaks for dinner when the normal serving is 1 or 2 sandwiches for lunch when the normal serving is 1. Why then expect a double portion of breakfast?

Rules/policies are there for a reason and we either accept them and adhere to them or we don't. On this occasion, you didn't accept our policy on dogs and didn't adhere to the rule of leaving the dog in the car while at breakfast. For pointing out our policy, you considered us rude but I guess courtesy runs both ways!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
There are newer reviews for Drumcreehy Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 732 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

Definitely the most spacious and beautiful place we stayed in Ireland. The service was great, very helpful for our rushed check in so we could hit our reservation. The breakfast was phenomenal and their new little dog, Sheaba, is adorable. We would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mackenzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed at Drumcreehy House when first opened and always wanted to return we had such a wonderful stay. We decided to come for the Clare Burren Marathon and stayed 2 nights in the family cottage. Our second stay was just as wonderful, if not better. Armin & Bernadette are lovely hosts and make their home yours. The breakfast buffet is outstanding with fresh pastries, fruit, cereals and breads plus a cooked to order breakfast. Great views of the sea and bay. Close to town with lots of restaurants and shops. Good base to explore a beautiful area. By far, one of the best B&B’s in Ireland. Everything was perfect. Hope our travels will take us back again someday.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Our room had a very nice view to the water. It was clean, spacious, and well decorated. Quiet as well. The honor bar downstairs where you could hang out for a drink was a very nice idea. It was great to grab a glass of wine to enjoy in our room and admire the view. Especially since this B and B is not walking distance to any restaurant. My only comment would be the fact that while the coffee and tea were complimentary, there was a charge if you used the espresso machine. I mean, you made your own espresso - there was no one making it for you! I can understand charging for wine, liquor, and snacks. But to charge you to use the espresso machine?

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kathi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alwin, Owner at Drumcreehy Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments on our house. We're glad you were able to avail of the honesty bar and regret that you found it unacceptable to pay for an espresso. At our competitive rates, we feel that it is only possible to include so much and we feel that a modest Euro 1.50 for an espresso or cappuccino is quite good value for money when you consider that they cost Euro 3 - 3.50 elsewhere. Of course they are served then, thus the higher price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The B&B is beautiful but found the owners in a hurry with their dog and kids. The breakfast was all right and the room was ok. Nice view to the water. They have an area with alcohol, snacks, sodas, fancy coffees which is nice if you want to talk and get together but you pay extra for all of it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelladybug14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alwin, Owner at Drumcreehy Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you for your review and good ratings regarding location, rooms, sleep quality and in particular cleanliness. We are disappointed that our family and pet friendly house did not meet with your expectations but I'm afraid we cannot apologize for our commitment to our children and furthermore, we did explain at check in as to why our new dog was in need of attention.

We would also like to point out that a variety of loose leaf tea (choice of 8 - 10), freshly ground coffee and snacks (pastries and biscuits) are complimentary in the tearoom at all times. There is only a surcharge for cappuccinos, espressos, lattes and wine - we feel it's pretty global that you pay for such drinks unless you book all inclusive holidays. All guests are welcome to use the facility and consume complimentary products - there is absolutely no push to choose drinks that are chargeable.

We were also disappointed to read that you found our breakfast only alright - with such an extensive buffet and a choice of 9 cooked breakfasts, the majority of our guests are more than satisfied and we consistently enjoy lots of favourable comments in both this regard and also where value for money is concerned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed for two nights and were really impressed with this guesthouse. It would be hard to think of anything you might need which our hosts had not already provided. There were thoughtful extras in our room and in all the communal areas, which were spacious and very comfortable. The 'honesty' bar was a really welcome extra, particularly for the driver after a meal out. All the staff were very helpful and friendly and the whole place was impeccably clean. The breakfast was generous with an unprecedented choice of menu.
Our dog was made very welcome. This was in fact one of the reasons we chose to stay in this guesthouse at short notice in August. With no kennels available the 'pet-friendly' policy made our visit to the Burren possible. It's just a shame that dogs are generally quite unwelcome in Ireland, with a prevailing attitude that all owners are irresponsible. This guesthouse was a very pleasing exception. Thank you.

Room Tip: Take your pick from views of the Burren hills or the bay. Both are beautiful.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed two nights and the hosts were very friendly and helpful. We wanted to go to the Cliffs of Moher, they called the touring co. for us and had them pick us up in front of their home and returned us after the tour. The "honesty bar" was a lovely perk for us to hang out and have a drink before we went to bed for the evening. The wonderful breakfast buffet was outstanding with loads of fresh fruit, breads, and a hot breakfast served to order and the teas were wonderful. I would recommend this B&B not only for the wonderful service and friendliness of the proprietors but because of the cleanliness and spaciousness of the rooms. Great stay for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sadie594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyvaughan
1.3 mi away
Hylands Burren Hotel
Hylands Burren Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
264 reviews
4.2 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
466 reviews
10.5 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cappabhaile House
Cappabhaile House
#1 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
486 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ballyvaughan Lodge
Ballyvaughan Lodge
#4 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
236 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hazelwood Lodge
Hazelwood Lodge
#3 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drumcreehy Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drumcreehy Country House

Address: Bishops Quarter | Co. Clare, Ballyvaughan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Ballyvaughan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyvaughan
Price Range: £78 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drumcreehy Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Ballyvaughan, Drumcreehy House is a delightful country style home, boasting superb views of Galway bay and the surrounding Burren Landscape.Open fires, antique furnishings and a friendly and personal service by your conscientious hosts Bernadette and Armin, serve to make your stay both enjoyable and memorable.Ten ensuite bedrooms, decorated with old world charm, yet equipped with all modern conveniences (Telephone, TV, WiFi). Some enjoy magnificent sea views while others overlook the splendour of the Burren hinterland.Allow us to spoil you with our extensive continental buffet and a choice of delicious cooked breakfasts in a relaxed and homely atmosphere.Relax by the open fire and enjoy complimentary tea or coffee with cakes or help yourself to wine in our cosy honesty bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Drumcreehy Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drumcreehy Guest House Hotel Ballyvaughan
Drumcreehy Country House Ballyvaughan, Ireland - The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing