We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than a B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Drumcreehy Country House
Ranked #1 of 16 Ballyvaughan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I stayed here with my parents for two nights. We chose this B&B because they accept dogs and they have ground floor rooms which is essential for my Dad.
The rooms are immaculate, spacious and comfortable. There are even dressing gowns in the rooms and Tea and Coffee making facilities are also available.
The breakfast is absolutely amazing. There is a spread of cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt, dried fruits, nuts, seeds, breads, cheese, cold meat, fruit juice, croissants and more, from which you help yourself. There is also a menu for a breakfast from the kitchen including a smoked salmon platter, creamed mushrooms on toast and french toast.
Bernadette and Armin are fantastic hosts and run a very professional and welcoming establishment where every detail is thought of. One of the only places I have stayed where the photos on the website are an accurate and true reflection of the accommodation and experience. I can't say enough good things, but suffice to say we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaate_JE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 764 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at Drumcreehy Country House for two nights. It was excellent in every respect. The hosts are very experienced and professional and welcoming. Excellent set up with a great deal of thought put in to what makes a comfortable stay. More than a B&B experience but not as formal as a hotel so Country House description is spot on. Excellent spacious room. I had some concerns about the dog friendly aspect(as we don't have dogs) but everything is spotless.The refreshment arrangements and space for guests to relax are great. The food recommendations were spot on. We had the Dog Violet room and had lovely views over the sea. I would definitely recommend this B&B and we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Dog Violet faces out over the sea. Shower only though and blankets rather than duvet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

We picked this B&B as it is dog friendly so a big thumbs up for that. It is in a beautiful location and the house itself is stunning. A downside is that we were told there is no full Irish breakfast on the menu yet the gentleman on the next table was given a full Irish but when we asked we were told no. You would think a full Irish breakfast is a must for a B&B but our biggest problem was that we were not given the option yet he was. No explanation given other than no. So that was disappointing. A pleasant enough stay otherwise.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I have stayed in many band b's in Ireland.This one of the best.From a great location,the ocean out front,the Burren out the back,huge clean bedrooms to a most extensive exquisite breakfast.
Armin and Bernadette saw to every detail.I am delighted to recommend this B and B

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maic1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed here for three nights at the end of our trip to Ireland. This is an exceptional B&B with lovely rooms. Ours had a nice view of the bay. The breakfast was also very good with a generous buffet. You could order additional items not provided with the breakfast at an additional price. they even had a bar in the guest sitting room with complementary coffee, tea and biscuits. There was also espresso, beer, wine, and Liquor for an additional price. The front foyer had some local tourist items for sale which seemed unique for a B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night after a wedding - to visit the cliffs of Moher. Our room had a lovely view and was nice and spacious. Some handy info regarding where to eat nearby. We slept well on our 2 single beds pushed together to make a double - lots of space, just uncomfortable to meet in the middle! Armin and Bernadette were very hospitable - you could see a nice mix of irish/german in the runnings of the B&B! The breakfast was delicious - rather fancy! My salmon and eggs was perfect, and was nice to have some eating space to fit the extras in; breads, fruit, yoghurt. Nice coffee too. The girl serving was lovely and had a very natural way about her. We arrived at the same time as 2 other couples, and I think this may have been a bit too much for their new dog (cute lil black dog) - who jumped up and bit me on the bum!! (no broken skin just some rather red marks!) It made quite a comical start to our stay (my husband found this hilarious! whilst I couldn't quite believe it had happened!) There is a note on the door about the dog - don't pet it etc - which I hadn't done, thankfully!! but handy to know before hand if you're reading this, as I hadn't got as far as the door when I met the dog! An overall good stay, we would recommend! nice people, good views, great food!

Room Tip: We stayed in "Dog Violet" - very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NowCousins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is a lovely B&B just outside Ballyvaughan were you can hear the birds in the surrounding trees, view the sunset over the water in the evenings and be treated to comfortable rooms/beds and an abundant breakfast menu/buffet. Great location for day trips into The Burren and Co. Clare.

Room Tip: The Fushia Room is lovely, with a great view and small balcony/doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcurtin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyvaughan
4.2 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
481 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hylands Burren Hotel
Hylands Burren Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
271 reviews
10.5 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cappabhaile House
Cappabhaile House
#2 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
499 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ballyvaughan Lodge
Ballyvaughan Lodge
#4 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
238 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hazelwood Lodge
Hazelwood Lodge
#3 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drumcreehy Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drumcreehy Country House

Address: Drumcreehy Country House, Bishops Quarter | Co. Clare, Ballyvaughan H91 N9D5, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Ballyvaughan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyvaughan
Price Range: £81 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drumcreehy Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Ballyvaughan, Drumcreehy House is a delightful country style home, boasting superb views of Galway bay and the surrounding Burren Landscape.Open fires, antique furnishings and a friendly and personal service by your conscientious hosts Bernadette and Armin, serve to make your stay both enjoyable and memorable.Ten ensuite bedrooms, decorated with old world charm, yet equipped with all modern conveniences (Telephone, TV, WiFi). Some enjoy magnificent sea views while others overlook the splendour of the Burren hinterland.Allow us to spoil you with our extensive continental buffet and a choice of delicious cooked breakfasts in a relaxed and homely atmosphere.Relax by the open fire and enjoy complimentary tea or coffee with cakes or help yourself to wine in our cosy honesty bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Drumcreehy Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drumcreehy Guest House Hotel Ballyvaughan
Drumcreehy Country House Ballyvaughan, Ireland - The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing