We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious, comfortable, close to village”
other travellers have booked this property
Knocknagrough House: 5 star self-catering home in the picturesque harbour village of Ballyvaughan.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Knocknagrough House: 5 star self-catering home in the picturesque harbour village of Ballyvaughan.
Large comfortable sitting room with TV/DVD and open fireplace.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Knocknagrough House: 5 star self-catering home in the picturesque harbour village of Ballyvaughan.
Large comfortable sitting room with TV/DVD and open fireplace.
Adjoining dining room.
Country-style, fully-equipped kitchen with all mod cons.
Double bedroom with 4 foot 6' double bed. Antique oak wardrobe with matching dressing table
Spacious twin room with 2 single beds (3 foot).
Upstairs large twin beds (4') with en-suite bathroom.
LArge double room upstairs with en-suite bathroom and antique furniture.
En-suite bathroom number 1
Downstairs guest bathroom with bath tub.
The tea rooms in Ballyvaughan village.
Sunset - Day or night; this is a fantastic village to spend a relaxing holiday.
Cliffs of Moher - the route from Ballyvaughan is truly scenic where you can stop off for photos
Cliffs of Moher, world famous tourist attraction. A short drive away this is a trip you cannot miss.
Ballyvaughan village with many cafes/shops/restaurants/trad pubs/harbour/beach & picturesque vie
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ballyvaughan, The Burren, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Niamhikin...
Greystones, Ireland
2 reviews
“Spacious, comfortable, close to village”
Reviewed 11 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We stayed with our toddler and my in-laws. The house is very handy to the village and has 4 spacious bedrooms, 2 of which are en suite and upstairs. The other 2 are downstairs with a bathroom in between them. The house was comfortable, and had plenty of crockery etc, though the selection of kitchen equipment was a bit hit and miss so if you're planning a lot of cooking you might want to bring some of your own equipment. We had a lovely relaxing time. There's plenty of outdoor space for kids to run around.
When any issues arose the owner quickly resolved them. The house had very good central heating.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and convenience to village
Liked least: selection of kitchen equipment
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoelBarry
Greystones, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for a break in the Burren”
Reviewed 10 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here for a week with my wife, baby son and elderly parents.

There was lots of space in the house for us all (and my sis who also stayed one night with us).

Also, the house was well furnished and equipped - the bedrooms were particularly nice.

From the moment we arrived, we were delighted we had chosen to stay here - nothing changed our opinion during our stay. I hate it when you plan a holiday, arrive where you've decided to stay and are disappointed - nothing worse.

I don't see how this could happen to anyone who chooses to rent this house.

It was just as advertised - a spacious, well decorated house right in the town within walking distance of all local amenities - great!

Also, if we needed to contact the owner prior to booking or during our stay, messages were promptly responded to and any questions etc. were quickly dealt with.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location close to everything
Liked least: No internet access
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Reviewed 9 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of the house
Liked least: The double beds were a little small! A minor complaint.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Aug 2012
It is encouraging that you enjoyed your stay at Knocknagrough House and I appreciate you taking time out to share your thoughts with others.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Napanee, Canada
Reviewed 31 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Four bedrooms and three bathrooms for four people.
Liked least: The weather.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
North Stonington, Connecticut
Reviewed 2 June 2012 for a stay in September 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: En suite bath for two of four bedrooms
Liked least: No complaints come to mind
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Jun 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review Knocknagrough House. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt comfortable with the standard and its location to the village. kind regards, Rita.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lauram00
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“amazing house, fantastic location, thoroughly enjoyed, will go again”
Reviewed 21 March 2012 for a stay in June 2011

My girlfriend and a group of friends stayed here for two weeks last summer and had a fabulous time. The house is located in the picturesque village of Ballyvaughan in the heart of the Burren, just a short walk from lovely pubs, the pier, mini supermarket and 2km to the lovely beach. We met the lady owner on the first day who was so pleasant & gave us her recommendations for activities and restaurants. We were very impressed with the house- although its a holiday home, it had a lovely homely feel, was modern, and clean, all mod cons , lovely open fireplace in the sitting room & there's a nice garden area that you can take advantage of if you get the weather! We bought disposable BBQs on two nice evenings and tucked into some nice food outside. Two of our rooms had en suite bathrooms with showers & there's another large bathroom downstairs- rooms were lovely and big. One of the nicest holiday homes I have ever stayed in, hands down. Would also be suitable for families-plenty of space for children to play outside etc

ballyvaughan is a lovely village- if you prefer you can use it as your base and travel by car along the coast, explore the Burren, or visit local villages such as lisdoonvarna, Fanore, Corofin & places of interest such as the Cliffs of Moher, Dolmen etc.

We all had a wonderful time and will certainly return to this house. Highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location, beautifully furnished, clean, comfortable & very homely
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2012
I appreciate your comments and am pleased that you had a memorable stay at Knocknagrough House, Ballyvaughan and the breathtaking Burren.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing