We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect House in Perfect Irish Town”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ballyvaughan, The Burren, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

DougR1491
2 reviews
“Perfect House in Perfect Irish Town”
Reviewed 10 January 2017 for a stay in August 2015

We had a wonderful stay at Knocknagrough house. We were there with my parents and our three kids. We had plenty of room. The house was extremely clean, and within easy walking distance of the village. The proprietor Rita was very nice and helpful. My parents arrived earlier than check-in, but Rita made sure to help them get settled. I highly recommend both the town and the house.

Date of stay: August 2015
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
It was a pleasure to accommodate you wonderful guests. I am so happy you all enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pvbeach
Jacksonville
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely home!”
Reviewed 18 December 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Ballyvaughan is a charming village with lovely shops and restaurants. The house is a short walk to the village. We were very comfortable here; the house is equipped with everything you would need, is attractively decorated and absolutely immaculate. We were fortunate enough to meet Rita, a lovely, friendly lady who was quick to offer suggestions for our stay here. We hope we will be able to return here someday! Highly recommend!!

Date of stay: September 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2016
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to meet you. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeaverSan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cozy Cottage in the Heart of Ballyvaughan”
Reviewed 13 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you've always wanted to experience life in a small, Irish village, Rita's lovely cottage in Ballyvaughan, County Clare is about as close to perfect as you can get. Rita greeted us warmly when we arrived, allowing us to check-in a little early and even warmed up the house. She was meticulous explaining all the nuisances of the cottage (some things are a bit different then here in the US) and left a few groceries to get us started. The location was great, just a couple of short blocks from the pubs and restaurants in the village and just a few more steps to Galway Bay. With four bedrooms and three bathrooms, the cottage is perfect for families or groups of friends. Ballyvaughan is in an area called The Burren which features extraordinary limestone mountains and landscape straight out of Middle Earth. There is plenty of activities in the area to keep anyone busy for more then a few days. Must see places include O'Loughlan's Whiskey Bar, Ailwee Cave and The Burren College of Art (of course in a real castle). Finally, this cottage was a great price!

Date of stay: December 2016
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2016
Thank you for your review. It was lovely to meet you and have you stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TobiTobi
Baltimore
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delightful Cottage”
Reviewed 27 November 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This cottage was perfect for my month in Ireland. Cozy and comfortable with lots of light, beautiful bedding and a super kitchen that was well fitted out. Located on a lovely corner with a big yard and beautiful landscaping, it was a quiet retreat. yet a short walk to the main street of Ballyvaughan.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and light
Liked least: Could have a stronger shower, but it was fine. Just not the blast of my one at home.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2016
Thank you for your review. Wonderful to have you stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M
1 review
“Great location for the whole family.”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Spent a week here in July. Had a great week. Lots of things to do for the whole family. Plenty of room in the house & gardens.

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christina...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely House, Great Location”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Having just spent a very relaxing and enjoyable week with my husband and two other couples in Knocknagrough House, I can highly recommend it to anyone considering holidaying in this lovely area of Co. Clare. The house is extremely spacious and comfortable and is fully equipped with everything required for a self catering holiday. Situated on the edge of Ballyvaughan Village, it is the perfect base for visiting places of interest in Clare and Galway and ideal for strolling to the restaurants, pubs and shops in the village. The owner, Rita, was most helpful and a pleasure to deal with.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort & cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2016
I really appreciate your comments and I am sure that it is helpful to other guests. Sincere thanks. You are always welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josephine...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely house in a great villahe”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My husband and I along with family members including 2 small children stayed in this house in July 2015. The location is excellent, you are in the village and can walk to a variety of pubs and restaurants which we found a great bonus. The bedrooms are excellent, the two upstairs rooms are huge and both en suite, the living room and dining room are also excellent. This is a great area, we would recommend the Burren Perfumery for a lovely visit, all the attractions locally are very well worth a visit.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: size of house great and in village location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.