We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't Wait to Visit Again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cappabhaile House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cappabhaile House
Ranked #2 of 17 Ballyvaughan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't Wait to Visit Again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Cappabhaile House provides large rooms, big breakfasts, vast views of the gorgeous Burren countryside, and even grander hospitality. Our family enjoyed four wonderful days in the area, thanks to friendly expertise and offers of help from the proprietors about running paths, outdoor yoga locations, archaeological sites, local history, and bus routes. We left behind a power adapter en route to catch transport back to Galway on our final day there, and were stunned when Conor showed up at the bus stop with a smile and our misplaced equipment. Our twelve-year-old son is already trying to get us to go back, as if we needed the nudge. You can't go wrong with Cappabhaile House.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    47
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
140
162
19
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
323 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Large room, comfortable, with good wifi. Huge, tasty breakfast, and lots of helpful advice about what to see around the Burren from pleasant owners. Its not luxurious and the water pressure in the shower might be a little better, but I've stayed in plenty of hotels that get things less right than this. We were pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidHBerkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberasbach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

There have been so many positive comments before that there is not much left to add ...

We can only confirm that this place is heaven! - even better than you can imagine from reading the ratings! My husband and I have been to many accommodations worldwide and have often found a pleasant one - Cappabhaile beats them all. This time (after having been there before) we brought our daughter along and she was that impressed that she has already started planning her next trip to Ireland!

Cozy and spacious rooms, beautiful views, wonderful and amiable hosts, great landscape, centrally situated within reach of many impressive places one must visit in Ireland - and the most stunning breakfast we have ever eaten in our whole life (you MUST eat the fruit platter!!!)

Should you visit the West Coast, don't miss to stop by and spend a couple of days at Cappabhaile. Margaret will spoil you with her cooking skills and Conor will not leave a single question unanswered, be it about history, local animals, flowers or landscape. And the very very best: A cozy evening with Irish life music!

Thank you Margaret and Conor, for everything and for making our stay so special. We again had a great time and promise to be back soon!

Uschi, Annika & Klaus

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ucm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

I have been going to Ireland every spring for the last 12 years, and I've made it a point to stop at Cappabhaile House every time! The rooms are enormous, comfortably furnished to a very high standard, and have fabulous views out to the mountain and Newtown Castle. This year, the room I stayed in had been newly furnished and was even better than before which I had not thought possible.

Margaret and Conor continue to be excellent hosts showing me more and more of the Burren in which I love to walk. They are always welcoming, accommodating hosts who have vast and in depth knowledge of the area, the wildlife, the flowers, the history, and the walking. The Burren seems to have endless corners to explore and endless walks to try. Before and after my walks in the Burren, it's a pleasure to return to the hospitality of Margaret and Conor who have taught me so much about ireland, the Burren, and their village, Ballyvaughan over the years.

The weather this year was outstanding, and I'm attaching a few photos from my walks which show the fun and variety of the area.

Cappabhaile House is the kind of place you will want to include in any trip to ireland - it's a destination which should be savored over several days. No matter how long I stay (from 2 to 7 days), there is always more to see and do.

Room Tip: I love the four back rooms with large windows to the rear of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank optimistic20814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Cappabhaile House is located a mile north of Ballyvaughan, with a gorgeous view of the Burren out the front and a lovey view of a local castle out the back. It has large and comfortable common areas including a pool room with a fireplace and a spacious breakfast room. The rooms are large and well appointed.

But the best part about Cappabhaile House is Conor Fahy, the proprietor. He knows every rock, every photographic site, every pull-off in the Burren, and gave us supurb advice when helping us design a circle tour of the area. From a secret parking place for the Cliffs of Moher (worth its weight in gold!) to just the right place to eat, Connor knows his territory well and takes good care that his guests spend their time wisely.

And then there is the way he chased us when our granddaughter left her jacket in her room - an immensely spacious room, I might add. We felt like family. You could pay more, but you probably won't do much better than staying at Cappabhaile House.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back have a great view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpoppendieck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay here. The location was central to what we wanted to see and an easy drive from Shanno after an overnight flight. Conor was very responsive to all my questions before our arrival and gave us great tips about what to see. Breakfast was the best we had during our week in Ireland.

Room Tip: Our family room was very large!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MATeacher0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

I stayed with a friend, in Cappabhaile House for three nights and could not have been more pleased with the room, the ambiance, the food and most of all Conor and Margaret's hospitality.

Each morning, Conor would help us chart our explorations which was very helpful and he had resources and advice galore. His own background from living in the region and his love for the history and "story" of the region made for an absolutely amazing experience. I could have stayed for two weeks.

Thanks for a great trip. I will be back!

Melinda

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melpsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyvaughan
2.2 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hylands Burren Hotel
Hylands Burren Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
7.6 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
2.1 mi away
Drumcreehy Country House
Drumcreehy Country House
#1 of 17 in Ballyvaughan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ballyvaughan Lodge
Ballyvaughan Lodge
#3 of 17 in Ballyvaughan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cappabhaile House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cappabhaile House

Property: Cappabhaile House
Address: Newtown, Ballyvaughan NA, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Ballyvaughan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyvaughan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cappabhaile House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a large, spacious B&B Hotel in the Burren Hills, we offer great rooms and a very extensive breakfast, coupled with peace, quiet and a warm family welcome in a rural environment. We are situated right in the middle of the Burren region, which is a mountainous terrain in North Clare, famous for its flowers, rocks and scenery. The Hotel accommodation at Cappabhaile House is unique, with fantastic views of the Burren Hills. We have built on our own 12-acre site, where you can mingle amongst the cattle and take a stroll at your leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cappabhaile House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cappabhaile House Ballyvaughan, Ireland - The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing