We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed and Breakfast at it's BEST...The Burren is and added bonus.”
Review of Cappabhaile House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cappabhaile House
Ranked #2 of 16 Ballyvaughan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Bed and Breakfast at it's BEST...The Burren is and added bonus.”
Reviewed 14 November 2005

After recently returning from a most enjoyable holiday in Ireland (despite so much rain) I feel compelled to tell the world about one exceptional bed and breakfast we found on our trip... Cappabhaile House was supreme in a group of 8 Bed and breakfast and 2 Hotels. Everything about this Guesthouse were perfect, the rooms were very large and very comfortable and very nicely furnished.. The breakfast had everything you would wish for and twice as much food as we got in any other place. The owners were wonderful; they made our holiday, we wished we could have stayed longer.. So if you are going to Shannon or Clare, you must go to the Burren which is really wonderful, AND you should stay at this Bed and Breakfast. If it is raining, they have a very large galery which has the most wonderful pictures of the local area showing the flowers, the animals and so many pictures of nice rocks.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    47
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
141
165
19
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 November 2005

We took a break in Ireland last week and found a real Gem of a Bed and Breakfast (3Star Guesthouse)and wish to use your site to spread the message.. We had booked Cappabhaile House on the basis of their web site but my goodness the surprise, the site does not do them justice. The room was way better than most hotels I use and I travel extensively throughout England, the size, the furnishing the bathroom were far superior. The breakfast was outstanding and the service was really very warm and friendly. AND all for only 74euro a night. I will be advising my friend and realtion not to miss this one and readers of this site would be well advised to check it out.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 31 October 2005

Well done tripadvisor, I have found your service very useful and want to offer what I consider a very useful tip. We took a vacation in the West of Ireland lately and had a particularly great time in the Burren. The main reason for this was our choice of accommodation that being a guesthouse call Cappabhaile House. The rooms were very very big and very well furnished with excellent decoration. In fact every aspect of the Guesthouse was exceptional, the view were great, the breakfasts was more like a banquet and whole surroundings were just so peaceful and pleasant. When we were planning the trip we had certain romantic views of what Ireland might be like and this came closest, the man of the house was a fantastic conversationalist and his wife Margaret was great fun and so very helpful.

Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 October 2005

Simply the best. Great setting in the Burren. Spacious, well appointed rooms and bathrooms; fabulous breakfasts - a cut above, but still at value price. Best of all though is the warm Clare welcome from Conor and Margaret, very accomodating and helpful. If your lucky you may hear the family play traditional music but if not there is usally great craic in town. We've been there several times and will continue to return.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 October 2005

We are a group of 7 nature lovers who went to Clare for a 4-day trip as bagpackers, trying to find out the best of this region's lovely nature. We spent our last night in Cappabhaile House. What a delightful stay it was !
For sure, we had never seen such spacious rooms, so well furnished, decorated and so clean too. And not to mention breakfast, as if your mother has accompanied you and prepared it herself !
Above all, Conor and Margaret are excellent at making you feel at home, at advising you about what to visit, where to go, and how to get there.
They even managed to find a travel arrangement for us to go back to Shannon Airport, which enabled us to take full advantage of our last day.
They actually took our 7 bags from one place to another, in order for us not to have to come back to the B&B to take them before leaving !!!
That's what I call service ! Enjoy !

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2005

We have just returned from a relaxing stay at Cappabhaile House. Conor and Margaret are very friendly and welcoming hosts, even though our Ryanair flight into Shannon Airport was delayed and we arrived at nearly midnight. The reviews are all true (I decided to book on the strength of the reviews below) - the rooms are enormous, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The breakfast is also huge and very delicious.

We had a fabulous day learning to surf on Fanore beach with Aloha surf school (which I found on the web). Highly recommended. Even if you don't want to surf, the beach is beautiful with golden sand and sparklingly clean water.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Marget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyvaughan
2.2 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hylands Burren Hotel
Hylands Burren Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
7.6 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
2.1 mi away
Drumcreehy Country House
Drumcreehy Country House
#1 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ballyvaughan Lodge
Ballyvaughan Lodge
#3 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cappabhaile House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cappabhaile House

Property: Cappabhaile House
Address: Newtown, Ballyvaughan NA, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Ballyvaughan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyvaughan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cappabhaile House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a large, spacious B&B Hotel in the Burren Hills, we offer great rooms and a very extensive breakfast, coupled with peace, quiet and a warm family welcome in a rural environment. We are situated right in the middle of the Burren region, which is a mountainous terrain in North Clare, famous for its flowers, rocks and scenery. The Hotel accommodation at Cappabhaile House is unique, with fantastic views of the Burren Hills. We have built on our own 12-acre site, where you can mingle amongst the cattle and take a stroll at your leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Cappabhaile House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cappabhaile House Ballyvaughan, Ireland - The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing