We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of the Burren”
Review of Ballyvaughan Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ballyvaughan Lodge
Ranked #3 of 16 Ballyvaughan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Great location for exploring the Burren - wonderful, engaging hosts, delicious breakfast and comfortable accommodations. Right next to the village so you don't have far to walk to grab a bite to eat and a great whiskey at O'Laclainns.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tcroddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

We spent a delightful two nights at the Ballyvaughn Lodge. The rooms were perfect and the breakfast delicious. Our hosts could not have been nicer or more helpful. It is right in town and an easy walk to some great restaurants, pubs, and Irish music. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank runningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed at Ballyvaughan Lodge for one night on the August Bank Holiday weekend. I am not generally a B&B gal! I had not stayed in a B&B in a long number of years. My stay at Ballyvaughan Lodge was so good that it has converted me! and i have booked in for my next B&B stay at this accommodation for another date next month.
The property is immaculately maintained inside and out. There was ample parking on grounds. We received a very warm and personable welcome for our host Gerry. Our room (Room 5) was spacious. Huge bed, seating area with 2 armchairs and a coffee table. Everything was immaculately clean, nice linens & the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was also spotless. There were mini shower gels, shower hat etc... and the shower was warm with good power.
The breakfast was superb. A buffet of delicious, fresh locally sourced produce including fruits, berries, yoghurts, dried fruits, cheeses, granola, scones etc.... The coffee was excellent - individual cafetieres as opposed to flavorless instant stuff. They also offered a hot breakfast. I had the smoked salmon and scrambled egg. It was delicious. My partner had the full Irish and commented that the black & white pudding were particularly good. Service was prompt and again personable.
Overall it was an excellent stay that i could not fault. I look forward to my return and recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Ballyvaughan.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LimerickSinead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful place to stay. Pauline and Gerry were so warm and friendly. Absolutely beautiful bedroom. Breakfast was fabulous- great continental selection and fry up. We stayed here for 3 nts to celebrate our wedding anniversary. I don't know how Gerry does it, but he remembers Everybody's name! Also, they gave us good tips on places to visit and how to train our dog!! Coco is a character!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank sheshecork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Nice location: not crowdy, calm, with a few restaurants/pubs nearby. Great room, with a beautiful wooden floor, bathroom clean and with some fancy shampoo etc. The TOP of this B&B is the buffet for breakfast: an incredible variety of food, including fresh berrie. A very good deal for the price they ask.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Falumen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The best breakfast of our trip. Nice size room. Walking distance to town. The proprietor (Gerry) was very friendly and helpful. We stayed here on the way to see the Cliffs of Moher and the Burren. One thing we noticed is that several of the guests had stayed at the Lodge before - repeat customers is always a good thing. We'd go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dgcrawf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just back from a 3-night stay, which we booked on the basis of previous reviews........ Our room on the ground floor was spacious, beautifully decorated, and the bed was large and comfortable.
There is also a wonderful and varied collection of art on the walls throughout the house. Breakfast was particulary good - plenty to choose from and much better than many hotels. But the icing on the cake that is Ballyvaughan Lodge has to be the owners, Gerry & Pauline. Quite simply, perfect hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NED541287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyvaughan
0.1 mi away
Hylands Burren Hotel
Hylands Burren Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
268 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
475 reviews
9.3 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cappabhaile House
Cappabhaile House
#1 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
495 reviews
1.1 mi away
Drumcreehy Country House
Drumcreehy Country House
#2 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
752 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wild Atlantic Lodge
The Wild Atlantic Lodge
#6 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyvaughan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyvaughan Lodge

Address: Ballyvaughan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Ballyvaughan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyvaughan
Price Range: £71 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballyvaughan Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the centre of Ballyvaughan village, within walking distance of restaurants, cafes, bars, local craft fairs and shops.After a days journey, park your car in our private car park, check into Ballyvaughan Lodge, meet your hosts Pauline & Gerry who serve to make your stay as memorable & comfortable as possible. Stroll down our quaint seaside village & enjoy a pint, looking over Galway Bay and watch the sun go down. Ballyvaughan Lodge has 10 bedrooms. All are en-suite. Our lounge and sun-room caters for your relaxation, whether reading about the Burren or just enjoying our gallery. On a glorious sunny day sit on our deck and take in the Burren with all its majestic beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ballyvaughan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyvaughan Lodge Ireland - The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing