We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect base for Irelands West.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Ballyvaughan, The Burren, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Whackaway
Howth, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The perfect base for Irelands West.”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We have just returned from a fantastic weekend in Ballyvaughan, Co Clare. There were 16 of us and were limited in the rentals available due to the large number. Given that our stay covered the passing of 2016 and the start of 2017 the value for money was very good.
The house is beautifully presented and was spotlessly clean. It was perfectly kitted out for our large number with high quality and stylish furnishing and appliances. We ate in a lot and there was no shortage of cutlery, plates, etc etc. There is a nice view of the mountains from the rear of the house.
Ballyvaughan is a picturesque little town that provides a great base to tour the Burren and West of Clare. Galway is not too far. It has some great bars and you have a choice of good food served in the Pubs and Restaurants.However, you will need a car in this location. The village is only a 10 minute walk but the road is fairly narrow and has a good bit of traffic.
West Clair is stunning and we visited the local Ailawee Caves, the Cliffs Of Mohar, Father Teds House, Doolin and Ballina/Killaloe area. The Ailwee caves were most enjoyed by adults and kids alike.
All in all, I would highly recommend this property, the house is a credit to its owner.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2017
Dear Paddy

Many thanks for your review of Orchard House. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the local area - your support for the area and our property is really appreciated. We hope you will come and stay again.

John & Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clairefla...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic spacious cottage with beautiful garden.”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A beautiful property with a fantastic garden and a lovely view. A party of 13 we had all the space we could wish for. The house had everything we needed and was spotlessly clean. Ballyvaughan was a lovely little town with the beautiful beach of Fanorre a short drive away. Would definitely recommend this cottage.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2016
Dear Claire

Many thanks for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our property. We hope to see you back again.

John McGann & Claire Sivills
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathMrsS
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spacious comfortable house but lacked necessary extras”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The house is excellent and a good location. It could do with a sign outside saying Orchard House as was difficult to find without. Felt one toilet roll per room and only three dish washing tablets was a bit mean. A welcome pack would have been nice. The heating only worked for an hour or so each ievening in at least two of the rooms upstairs. It would have been better if we could have controlled the timings of the heating and hot water as both were not always on when required. For the number of people the house can accommodate the small teapot and cafetière were inadequate.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The spaciousness and comfort downstairs
Liked least: Lack of heating upstairs and paucity of toilet rolls etc
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2016
Dear Mrs Brown

Thank you for your review which was disappointing and does not reflect the feedback we have received from our other guests both prior and subsequently to your stay. As you are aware, Karen, who manages the property, was on hand at all times to answer queries and we responded to information requests prior to your arrival including suggesting a local B&B for overspill guests.

We advertise as self catering and provide a deluxe standard property for our guests. We do not indicate the provision of a welcome pack in our literature and the local shops are a short walk away.

When you raised concerns about the heating, we did respond quickly and checked the system, including calling out our plumber - as was mentioned, the radiators do have individual controls.

Again, as soon as things are mentioned we resolve to fix any concerns for our guests and we did have available an additional teapot and cafietere which we put into the property once we saw your feedback - if you had mentioned we could have provided to you.

We welcome feedback from our guests to improve our offering which in the words of recent guests who come to Ireland every year - "we have never stayed anywhere in Ireland this good and we will be back".

John McGann & Claire Sivills
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing