We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding Day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leixlip House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Leixlip
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Wedding Day”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We got married here on Friday and I really wanted to get this review in before we go on our honeymoon.
We booked our wedding almost a year ago and from the minute we booked the staff could not have been better. Emma and Stuart are fantastic with everything and making sure everything is perfect. Any little hiccups were smoothed over in no time. Nothing was too much trouble.
The day itself was absolutely fantastic. The ceremony in the hotel was lovely. The room was beautiful. We were then brought to the Leixlip manor for our photos and the canapes were served to our guests which everyone said were gorgeous. When we came back Stuart met us to check the room which was perfect too. The meal was gorgeous and all of our guests raved about it. Every single person said the food was amazing and they had plenty. All of the staff were brilliant during service. The band 'rewind' were really good and had everyone up on the floor...even had our 2 year old up dancing. The dj Adam was again great getting really involved dancing and getting everyone up. I could not find fault with any of the suppliers used, any of the staff or anything else. Our room was decorated really well and our champagne breakfast was brought up on time and was really nice. All in all if I could give 10 stars I would. Massive thank you to Emma, Stuart and all the staff for a perfect and memorable day..Lorna and Mark.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buttons15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    22
    26
    7
    15
See reviews for
52
64
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and our two young kids attended a wedding at Leixlip House on the 19/5/14 and we had a great time. The staff (Emma & Nikki, tks guys) were very accomodating and made sure everything was setup for us when we checked in early. The weather was lovely and everything about the wedding and the hotel was brilliant. Thanks guys, keep up the good work. GregB

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A8822TOGregS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killyleagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We returned to Leixlip house hotel having had our wedding reception there 14 years ago, this time with two children in tow, and stayed in one of the suites. The hotel still has the warmth and character that we loved back then and the staff are so so friendly. We enjoyed a family meal in the local pizza place then came back and enjoyed a glass of wine in the lounge area whilst our children enjoyed the fun stuff of "buying" crisps and juice (the bar man gave them these for free) it just felt like one of those friendly family hotels we enjoyed in ireland as kids. The next morning we all enjoyed a fabulous breakfast and as it was such a sunny morning we asked if we could have an extra pot of coffee to enjoy out on the terrace....nothing was a problem and the waitress was very sweet with our two girls, showing them around the restaurant etc. I was nervous returning as it could have marred all the happy memories of our time there 14 years ago but it was lovely and our little girls loved it. Thanks to all the team at leixlip house, again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AIslingC81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great hotel,great location. Friendly staff. Clean spacious rooms and excellent food and beer at reasonable prices. I would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to returning there some day.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaybarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We got married there August 2013 went for the 5 star package could not fault anything food was great staff excellent service everything ! ever since our first meeting we knew it was the place for us changed a few things with there package and it wasn't a problem and used some of our own decorations left them with the staff and they took care of everything we had 80 at our big day and and few to the afters and plenty of room loved the way we had the hotel for our selfs very personal can't wait to go back for our anniversary ! Sorry for the late review .

Paul @vicky

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
297 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This is the strangest review of a hotel, because it had everything needed, just not presented well....yet food is fantastic.

On arrival it is a quaint manor house that looks small. Reception was fine and check in was fast. When we walked to our room, up and down stairs and small, narrow hall ways my thoughts were oh no...what did I book. If you have problems walking or carrying your luggage up and down stairs...forget it. Parking is free.

The room was small and had a double bed that just fit both of us. The 'wardrobe' door wouldn't close and was right at the head of the bed...didn't like that. One side had plenty of room to get out of bed, the other not so much. The furniture is very old.....which I didn't mind as it went with the theme. The tv is so small and on a low stand, so it is very hard to see it from the bed. One person can't put up their knees even a little or the other can't see anything. The lighting was bad for doing your hair or makeup....The curtains didn't keep out the daylight. The bed was comfortable, not the pillows though.

Wifi....they use bitbuzz....you get a code from reception. Well, 5 calls later and a long walk back down to get it to work. Then the next day...same thing---took 3 tries to get it right. And you have to log in with an email and set up an account. Totally nuts in this day and age.

The bathroom was not good....But...the power in the shower was great and there was very hot water. There was no place to put your soap or shampoo...only on the ground. It is very tiny with no room to put your arms to far. It looked old and the shower head needed cleaning, too. The door handles were dirty. The floor needs to be replaced. So, it suited the purpose...but you feel cramped.

The room door locks with a key. There is so much potential for the rooms---like rearrange the furniture to make more room for moving around. Buy blackout curtains or shades. Put a flat screen on the wall in front of the bed. The bathroom has empty space that would allow for a normal shower---even luxury. Put fabric softener in the washing of the towels...they are hard as rocks. Get nicer pillows. Get rid of lamps with missing baubles. Replace dead light bulbs. 2 bars of soap wouldn't hurt instead of 1 tiny one.

You can hear people in the rooms around you, but luckily all went to bed early and it was quiet come 11 pm. This was mid week. The heat was plentiful and could be regulated....had to turn it off for the night as room was nice and cosy.

Now, on to the food....We were at an event in their function room and it was great. Staff was all over helping and the food was fantastic. Simply delicious! Caesar salad and dressing to die for...meat that melts on the fork...everything seasoned perfectly. Desert...apple pie that was mouthwatering. Perfect coffee that was rich in flavor and freshly made.

Food in the main restaurant the same....fantastic...not expensive at all for a hotel and worth every penny. The steak and guiness pie was a masterpiece as was everything else. The two men waiting tables and tending bar were running like crazy....yet, we never waited for anything. More staff is definitely needed. There were a lot of local people just coming in for food, so that says a lot. The breakfast is cooked to order...what ever you want, they will make it if they have it. Had the full Irish, which was the usual standard. The eggs benedict is crazy good....The sauce was on the side and had the hint of lemon. Again, strangely, there was only 1 person on staff and was running around doing everything. The table cleaning had to wait....so you had to look for a clean table when you went it in---if it was after 9. Food is amazing... Had coffee on the deck outside in the sun....very nice.

Upon checking out, the bill was 100 higher than should have been. The person at reception looked at it before they handed it to me....upon immediate inspection it was plain to see that another room was charged, along with food to me. The person's name was on it. Yes, she took it all off right away, but that left a very bad taste with us. There was no 'Oh No We are So Sorry'.

The lobby had couches and a fire and is very nice as well.. Rating this was hard, as it had what we needed, just not presented well. And that bill thing. So, the final i guess is a definite 5 for the food----5 for the staff running around crazy---5 for the heat in an old building----5 for the mattress---5 for the hot water and power of the shower---5 for heat in room and throughout hotel...3 for the room on the whole---1 for reception due to bill and wifi. Take what you will from this review, as I've been more explicit than my other reviews so you'd get a feel for what it is like here.

We would return, but ask for a better room-----in the main building. Don't get the ones that are more apartments, as we heard no one likes them.

Room Tip: Get room in main building as 4 connected to hotel are not good, per other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alish2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We got married at this hotel on New Years Day 2014. We had an amazing day to say the least. Stuart, Emma and the team were so obliging, friendly and supportive over the last year and in the build up to our big day. We were treated like royalty on each and every visit to the hotel. All of our guests are still talking about the friendly staff, great food and warm atmosphere they experienced at Leixlip house hotel. From the food to the bedrooms, all of our guests were very impressed.

We chose the Ultimate 5 start wedding package with the Leixlip house and I have to say it really is a 5 star package. Everything within the package is amazing from the wedding car, to the flowers, the cake and the band 5th Avenue Party Band, who had us all dancing our socks off all night!! Thank you guys!!!. We would highly recommend this package to anybody considering it.
We just just like to say a hugh thank you to Stuart, Emma and all the team at Leixlip house hotel for your help, support and friendly atmosphere throughout the buildup to our wedding and for giving us such an amazing wedding day.

We look forward to seeing you very soon again!
Niamh and Hemant

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank niamhdussoye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leixlip
0.4 mi away
The Court Yard Hotel
The Court Yard Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leixlip
649 reviews
0.7 mi away
Springfield Hotel
Springfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leixlip
407 reviews
3.8 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Finnstown Castle Hotel
3.3 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
7.2 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leixlip House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leixlip House Hotel

Property: Leixlip House Hotel
Address: Captain's Hill, Leixlip, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Leixlip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Leixlip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Leixlip House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leixlip House Hotel is a masterfully transformed Georgian home dating back to 1772. Overlooking Leixlip Village, the hotel is just eight miles from Dublin City Centre and easily accessible by bus and train. Enjoy our intimate surroundings where one can relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Leixlip House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leixlip House Hotel Ireland - County Kildare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing