We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leixlip House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Leixlip
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Have to say that i was very nicely surprised, this place looks lovely from outside and when you are walking in looks a little bit small but it's actually quiet big. Receptionist was lovely overall staff was very good. Violet on the phone was just brilliant.

Rooms are cozy as actually the hole hotel. You have coffee/tea facility, very comfortable bed, a little bit small TV but i didn't really care about that. In bathroom there was shower not sure if there are rooms with bath.

Corridors might need a little bit of updating, but i'll not complaint about that.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krisq2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Leixlip House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2009

Spent two nights in this lovely hotel last week with my partner and couldn't have enjoyed it more! we were given a complimentary upgrade on arrival which was great and the bedroom was spacious and had a really traditional style (four poster bed) and had a large desk/work area which was convenient also. We had dinner on one night in their restaurant, and lunch in the lobby are the next day. Both areas had great food and the staff were really friendly and helpful. Overall really enjoyed our stay and would recommend to anyone visiting the area for work (like myself) or for pleasure (my wife!)

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMarkCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

welcoming atmosphere, Loved the room, dinner and breakfast superb. Lovely staff very helpful and pleasant. Will return again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

We stayed in Leixlip House Hotel at the end of April for my sister's wedding. Most of the guests were staying overnight in the hotel. The wedding was wonderful and the staff were very nice. The hotel doesn't have any grounds to speak of, but if you need to take photos you can make the short walk to a sister hotel close by. The food at the reception was tasty and beautifully presented.
HOWEVER! The bedrooms are small (our would just take a small double bed), badly furnished, shabby and in need of refurbishment. Our room had a badly stained carpet (dont want to think about what the stains were), the curtains were in danger of falling down, the wardrobe door kept swinging open and the television was balanced on the luggage rack! There was no lock on the bathroom door and nowhere in the shower cubicle to leave soap or shampoo. For this "elegance" we were charged €150 for the night. This in a time of recession and when our party was filling the hotel for them on a night when it probably would not have been full. Other guests also felt the rooms left a lot to be desired. Breakfast next morning was terrible. I asked for scrambled eggs and instead of the soft creamy eggs that I would make for myself I got a mound of eggy bits mixed with chopped onions and herbs! For breakfast!! I should have complained but I didn't because my sister would have been upset. Don't stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AustinL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2009

I walked in to the Leixlip House, very tired, looking for a room. I found not only a room, but a wonderful "secret" outside of Dublin. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was on par with many manor houses and castles that I've stayed in recently. The amenities (robe, slippers, free internet, etc.) were classic. White duvets, heavy curtains, roomy bathroom, etc. I went down for a quick bite, and had a wonderful dinner, again, great service, and ended the evening with an irish coffee, as good as any I've had. I will stay here again and give high recommendations for this small hotel. Convenient to Dublin City, and the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aine4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2008

I stayed at this hotel for only one night while I was in the area on a business trip. The room I had was absolutely fabulous! It was filled with individual pieces of furniture and antiques which complimented the huge windows and high ceiling perfectly. It was so far removed from the normal sterile multi national hotel chains which I often find myself. The bathroom had a reasonably good selection of toiletries and there was plenty of hot water. The TV also had a very large selection of channels.

I had dinner in the hotel which was above average and decided to have breakfast in my room the next morning which was delivered promptly with the morning newspaper and a flower in a vase on the tray which I felt was a nice touch. The breakfast like the dinner the night before was also well presented and well cooked.

The staff were friendly and efficient.

To sum up “A charming, eclectic, individual hotel which I would certainly stay in again and would highly recommend”.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelledLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianSchmelter, General Manager at Leixlip House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2008

Dear TravelledLondon,
Thank you for your very kind words. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kindest regards,
Christian Schmelter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2008

we had our wedding reception on the 26th july 2008. It was amazing The food was great the staff were so nice to our guests and everything was done to perfection. I would recommend this hotel for a wedding reception to anybody. A hotel with such comfort and a wonderful atmosphere to it. Many Thanks to all the staff.

Mr & Mrs Ryan

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank DublinBeautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian072, General Manager at Leixlip House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2008

Dear Mr & Mrs Ryan,
Thank you for your review and kind words. We were delighted to be able to host your wedding reception and be part of your special day. I very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,
Christian Schmelter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leixlip
0.4 mi away
The Court Yard Hotel
The Court Yard Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leixlip
672 reviews
0.7 mi away
Springfield Hotel
Springfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leixlip
418 reviews
3.8 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
2.4 mi away
Finnstown Castle Hotel
4.2 mi away
Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leixlip House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leixlip House Hotel

Address: Captain's Hill, Leixlip, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Leixlip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Leixlip
Price Range: £84 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Leixlip House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leixlip House Hotel is a masterfully transformed Georgian home dating back to 1772. Overlooking Leixlip Village, the hotel is just eight miles from Dublin City Centre and easily accessible by bus and train. Enjoy our intimate surroundings where one can relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Leixlip House Hotel Ireland - County Kildare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing