We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nor Impressed”
Review of Springfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Springfield Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Leixlip
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here on Sunday night last and was not impressed at all.
On checking in the girl that checked us in was not remotely friendly and seemed to be completely disinterested in us or our needs, she did not explain the layout to the hotel instead just telling us the floor we were on and where the lift was,
The rooms were a good size but very basic, facilities, the room we stayed in was not up to scratch in the cleanliness department, there were stains on the valance sheet and the net curtains were positively grey in colour, the bathroom was clean and there were plenty of towels.
The staff in the dining room disinterested in our needs and not at all attentive..
Overall I would say we were glad to check out

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pardaig_Kennedy, Manager at Springfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear Joan
I would like to thank you for taking the time in writing your review.
It is good to get feed back from all our guests it helps us identify areas where we can enhance our guests experience. However in your case this did not happen which i apologise.
We pride ourselves in customer service and Food. This is rare situation which i have dealt with in training and we all have learned from this experience.
I would like to take this opportunity to welcome you both back and hope we can redeem ourselves.
Kingt Regards
Padraig Kennedy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

Great wedding.
From when we all arrived.
Staff very friendly..
A bit of confusion with rooms but was sorted by the manager on duty.
Room nice and clean
reception very bright and clean.
Ballroom was amazing..lots of natural light and clean.
Lovely cobble lock garden at side of room.close to room so you were not too far away from what was going on.
breakfast was good ,buffet style.but room for improvement...what happened to table service.. all hotels seem to be doing this now.what a shame.

Great staff.

Great food.

We all enjoyed the day.

Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlie40plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Have had a wonderful; stay now on six occasions at the Springfield, been in Leixlip on business on all these six visits and found the hotel rooms very comfortable and very clean,microwave and fridge has been a big advantage to myself.John and Audrey on reception are very helpful and always greet you with a smile as of course the rest of the staff do also.Nothing is too much trouble for them.Good food is also available from the bar.Would happily recommend the Springfield to friends and colleagues for a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed one night when attending a friend's wedding.
Check in time was 3pm but our room was ready by 12:30 pm so we were allowed to use the room early, at no extra charge.
Large room, comfortable bed, good shower, clean with a fridge and microwave. More than we needed but would be very handy if staying or a few nights.
Just the one negative. We booked the room through a third party website, paying in advance. On check out the hotel tried to charge is for the room. I had the email confirmation to hand as proof of payment so everything was sorted out quickly. Best to mention if you have paid in advance during the check in process.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed here for one night because the courtyard could not fit us in until the following day. We had a long wait to check in because the staff were busy with a function, but I felt that a staff shortage was poor form on a Saturday. Our room was indifferent, rather tired looking and the bathroom was not very clean. We had a reasonable table d'hôtel dinner and the waiter was excellent. Breakfast was bizarre to say the least. I ordered the full Irish buffet. There were no eggs, bacon or mushrooms. I pointed this out and the waitress advised they would be a few minutes. 20 minutes later she disappeared into the kitchen. Shouting ensued about the breakfast which became a domestic to which all of the diners were subjected. The eggs finally arrived 10 minutes later, and the bacon another 5 minutes after that. The contrast with the courtyard, for which we paid an extra few pounds a night was marked. I would not stay here with better hotels in the area. A bit fawlty towers really

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stayed here for four days to attend a recent family wedding (not at this hotel) and couldn't fault anything. The room was at the back of the hotel overlooking a field with horses and foals so it was quiet as well as being lovely and clean, bright and airy. The bathroom was clean with a shower over the bath so there was the option to use either. The water was hot no matter what the time of day .The All the staff we extremely friendly and helpful, with nothing being too much trouble for them. Good food was also available in the restaurant and bar. Wouldn't think twice about making a return visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OmaRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

lovely family run hotel close to main motorway to galway....close to celbridge and maynooth...close to river liffey...and intel and hp...........well run and cosy...food always good....could do with some back round music in lounge area...and better seating lay out.... too many doors....staff all friendy and helpful..............................bedrooms good...price fine for close to city...bus sercice to city outside gate...........maynooth college 5 mins drive.............

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tomhannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leixlip
0.4 mi away
The Court Yard Hotel
The Court Yard Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leixlip
685 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lucan Spa Hotel
Lucan Spa Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lucan
344 reviews
3.6 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Liffey Valley
4.7 mi away
Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club
3.9 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Hotel

Address: Leixlip Road, Leixlip, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Leixlip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Leixlip
Price Range: £64 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Springfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Springfield Hotel we aim to make your stay as comfortable as possible. It starts as soon as you step inside the hotel and experience the facilities, from the welcoming bar atmosphere to the relaxed quality of our restaurant. All our 52 central heated bedrooms are en-suite, are tastefully decorated and furnished to a high standard and designed to make your stay with us a comfortable as possible. Choose from a suite of rooms including Standard Guestrooms, Executive Guestrooms and Family Rooms for the perfect accommodation in Kildare. The following facilities are standard: Colour satellite/cable TV, Hair dryer, Tea/coffee courtesy tray, Direct dial telephone, Voice mail, Modem points, Personal safe, FREE broadband and wireless internet connections. We also have 10 executive mini suites decorated with a touch of elegance incorporating the same facilities as our bedrooms, extras include mini fridge and trouser press all designed to make your stay with us as comfortable as possible. Some of our bedrooms are designed for people with special needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Springfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leixlip Hotel Springfield
Springfield Hotel Leixlip, Ireland - County Kildare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing