We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Court Yard Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Leixlip
Certificate of Excellence
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“little gem”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just wanted to say what a great hotel, second stay here and once again excellent. The staff, food, drinks of which there was plenty!! And the exceptional beer garden will be a welcome to any traveller. A special thanks to the owner Luke Moriarty who very kindly sent us down a drink, cheers. A special hotel and one I hope to return to soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRamjan, General Manager at The Court Yard Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Bernie O

Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave such a lovely review on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to see we are your hotel of choice whilst in Leilxip and thank you for your continued patronage. Your feedback of the hotel including the rooms, bars, courtyard and of course the team here was gratefully received will certainly pass on your thanks to Mr Moriarty.
Thank you again for your lovely comments; we look forward to welcoming you back to the Court Yard Hotel.


Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    144
    42
    20
    25
See reviews for
109
314
8
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wexford
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Just back from a lovely two night stay here and enjoyed every minute. Had a lovely big room with double and single bed and sparkling clean bathroom. Included in our deal was a dinner in the resturant and it was perfect, service with a smile from Leigh-Ann in particular. happy and hard working and the food was fab. We loved the bar and could'nt believe that it was buzzing even on a Wednesday and Thursday night and the music in the bar was lovely and added to the athmosphere. The food in the bar is really lovely also and the portions are huge! We really enjoyed our stay here and would love to return again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronnieWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRamjan, General Manager at The Court Yard Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
ronnieWexford

We are delighted that your stay at the Court Yard and Leixlip met your expectations and thank you
for your kind comments and for recognizing our great Team. I have shared your comments with them and have passed on your kind words to Lee Ann. Personally, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in hotel over Lexlip Festival Weekend and the hotel was rocking. Right in the centre of the village over looking the salmon leap. Staff friendly and rooms comfortable with baloney overlooking gardens on river.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRamjan, General Manager at The Court Yard Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Tina L

We are delighted that your stay during the towns Festival met your expectations and we trust that your stay had a positive memory with us. I will pass on your kind words to my team and thank you for understanding the that the hotel takes on a very different environment over those days.

Thank you for taking your time to pass on your comments and look forward to see you in the future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Extremely helpful staff.
Lovely room, amenities in room
Bar was lively and full of variety with a smoking area if that's your thing.
Safe parking.
Only minus was the difficulty finding this hotel, but that added to the quietness in this small city.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRamjan, General Manager at The Court Yard Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Joseph H

Thank you for taking your time to offer us your feedback delighted that we were able to meet your expectations and will pass on your comments to my team here.We will certainly take on board your comment on finding the property in the dark and try new options to make us more visible at night. Thank you once again for that feedback and your kind comments.

Looking forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We spent a Monday night in this hotel on our way south. What a great wee place. The staff were amazingly friendly and helpful, the food was just gorgeous and our bedroom, a suite in the top floor,was just so spacious and comfortable with a large balcony complete with table and chairs so we could enjoy the sunshine. The lively bar and outdoor seating in the courtyard were also to be enjoyed. A great experience thanks to the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRamjan, General Manager at The Court Yard Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Jackie C

Thank you for taking your time to offer us your feedback delighted that we were able to meet your expectations and will pass on your comments to my team here.

Looking forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Rooms extremely clean although parts of the carpet to the rooms are a bit grubby. All hotel staff well mannered and courteous especially the receptionist. Food well presented and of a high standard. We stayed for a weekend in March 2014 and the entertainment on both nights was fantastic, had a good dance. I will definitely be back to this hotel and strongly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damian q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRamjan, General Manager at The Court Yard Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
damian q

We are delighted that your stay at the Court Yard and Leixlip met your expectations and thank you for your kind comments and for recognizing our great Team. I have shared your comments with them and have passed on your kind words. I would also like to thank you on your feedback on the carpets , which we have taken on board and we are due to upgrade these in the not so distant future and hope on your return you will be able to see the completed work.
Personally, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your personal recommendation of the Court Yard and Leixlip.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

A Break in Leixlip.
Wisps of Mare’s Tails are teased across the blue porcelain sky as the sun sinks below the autumn gold leaves along the river bank of the Liffey. Out here in Leixlip the Liffey is a clear crystal river murmuring to itself over pebbles as it flows under trailing willows and past banks of gently nodding reeds on its way through Dublin to the Irish sea.
We are staying in the Courtyard Hotel which is privileged to be on the banks of this timeless river and which has as its claim to fame being the original site of where that legendary figure Arthur Guinness built his first brewery. Now if you’re fond of a drop of the black stuff then this is the Mecca for you. Apart from that this is a hotel of renown. Odd little nooks and crannies vie for your attention. The foyer is one where you can languish for an hour or two with a pint and your book and indeed even nod off. No one is too worried and the world will pass by without too much disruption while you’re in the Land of Nod.
Outside a huge courtyard complete with waterfall has a gigantic screen for sport, especially on days of rugby when national honour is at stake. Arthur’s shade smiles from the shadows as his beverage lubricates the throats of the fans on these occasions.
We eat in the hotel dining room looking out over carefully manicured lawns and pathways to the banks of the young Liffey. As with everything else in The Courtyard, it’s done to perfection. Quiet friendly service without being pretentious.
Now if you’re a vegetarian, there’s a good range including Seared Scallops served with Peperonata and Aioli Dressing. Or a New Potato, Chicory and Asparagus Salad served with Orange and Mustard Dressing or the sweetest of French onion soups with mature cheese croutons. And for a main course why not try a roasted bell pepper tart with a rocket salad and mint? If your taste is more towards the carnivore try the chorizo and melon brochette for a starter. Follow it up with pan roast rack of spring lamb served with Softened Pak-Choi and Asparagus with a Redcurrant Glaze.
And if you want to eat out somewhere? It has to be da Vinci’s. Pizza to die for. More Italian than many pizzas I’ve eaten in Italy. Plenty of variety in dishes, family friendly, great staff, great prices. And gluten free. We were meeting my daughter and her Italian friend for or pizza at da vinci’s and it has to be said that the enthusiasm by alfredo for the pizzas was unbelievable. High praise from a man whose brother has a pizzeria in venice. It added to the ambience of the restaurant to hear him talking with my daughter in Italian about the quality of the food. The fact that locals from far and wide come here says it all, and if you don’t book you won’t get in.
O’Connell Bridge is still the same bustling thoroughfare with the wind coming up the Liffey from the sea slicing flesh to the bone with its Arctic bitterness. But it’s Grafton Street that is still the Mecca for the visitor with its plethora of shops well known to the Dublin shopper. Dozens of shoppers throng the street threading in around the street entertainers. Strains of “Summertime” played on a trumpet and backed by a seductive bass guitar dripping liquid notes onto the street, echo off the shop fronts.
Half an hour in the ‘bus and we are in Bewleys, that meeting place so beloved by Dubliners for decades. Not much has changed in those years except that now there are trendy dishes and coffees whereas in days gone by the fare was more sedate though no less sumptuous. This is the place to do some serious people watching - and listening. Every accent of Ireland is here from Malin to Mizzen, to say nothing of the languages of visitors from the farthest shores. And the necessary visit to the washrooms? At Bewley’s this is an experience in luxury down into the basement where a small tiled atrium is graced by two elegant statues.
As we leave a shiver runs down my spine not from the wind coming up Grafton Street but from the trumpeter who is now playing a spine tingling saxophone solo.
Glasnevin cemetery is easy to get to by the #40 'bus and worth it. This is the most impeccable of cemeteries with grass carefully manicured and gravel raked with military precision. We are here to see Michael Collins’ grave and hear the re-enactment of Padraig Pearse’s oration at the grave of Jeremiah O’Donovan Rossa. Pearse’s immortal words which have travelled through time and inspired a nation give an involuntary shiver that has nothing to do with the icy wind sweeping across the graves.
“...The Fools, The Fools, The Fools! — They have left us our Fenian dead, and while Ireland holds these graves, Ireland unfree shall never be at peace."
Back in Grafton Street, there is a haven of peace in St. Theresa’s tiny church up a little side street where all the noise and bustle is shut off when the door sighs shut. Elsewhere Brown Thomas’s is all glitz and glamour with its window displays. Inside it is difficult to reconcile the price tags with the beggars outside. I needed a pair of Raybans to replace the old Aviators left on a pub windowsill in Leixlip, but at 350 Euro ...
Leixlip is a charming little village with property prices to match its closeness to the capital and being on the edge of rich Kildare countryside. The shops mirror the local economy with the number of boutiques, spas, beauty shops, health stores and hairdressers. To say nothing about the cars at the kerbside.
It’s an easy destination from the north along the M50 avoiding the centre of the city.
And when its time to go home? We’ll be back – soon.

Room Tip: Be nice to the delightful staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james_m186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRamjan, General Manager at The Court Yard Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
james_m186470

Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave such a well written review on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to see we are your hotel of choice for your "home away from home" experience whilst in Leilxip and thank you for your continued patronage.
Your feedback of the hotel including the rooms and of course the team here was gratefully received. The town on Leixlip also thanks you for kind words and the recommendations in your review.We are all most grateful for you taking your time to write this fantastic review.
Thank you again for your lovely comments, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Court Yard Hotel.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leixlip
0.4 mi away
Springfield Hotel
Springfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leixlip
409 reviews
3.5 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
421 reviews
4.3 mi away
Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
3.7 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
6.9 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Court Yard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Court Yard Hotel

Property: The Court Yard Hotel
Address: Main Street, Leixlip, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Leixlip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Leixlip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Court Yard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Courtyard Hotel, Leixlip. The hotel is the latest addition to the Moriarty Group, a fully Irish owned family business, priding itself on customer care and guest comfort. After many years of careful restoration, we believe that we have developed one of the most unique hotels to emerge onto the Irish market in recent times. The hotel combines remnants of the old Guinness Brewery, which was the original birthplace of Guinness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Court Yard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courtyard Hotel Leixlip
Courtyard Hotel Leixlip
Courtyard Leixlip
Leixlip Courtyard
The Court Yard Hotel Leixlip, Ireland - County Kildare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing