We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still as good as ever”
Review of Becketts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Becketts Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Leixlip B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Still as good as ever”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We had lunch here recently. Being local we use this restaurant quite a lot and have never been disappointed. The staff are very friendly & efficient and the the food is always great.

We brought 2 friends with us and they thought the same. You would need a reservation as it us a busy & popular restaurant. Look forward to our next visit!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tinneas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    34
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
28
53
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Southern Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Excellent hotel, stayed in this hotel on recommendation; this praise was based on the professionalism of the Hotel Manager, Colin and his marvellous colleagues. Neither disappointed and lived up to their reputation.
We were given a second floor suite, bags of space, most comfortable bed and good sized en-suite bathroom.
We didn't get a chance of eating in the restaurant, although from chatting with another guest, that was our loss!
On any future visits we will definitely give this hotel's restaurant a try.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdenDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I have stayed in this hotel some time ago...I remember driving around and looking for it...In actual fact it was less than 2 mins from motorway behind old walls.

I would note say this place is good for county walks..There does not seem to be much around....Well, you will need to drive to get anywhere...However, hotel has spacious and nicely decorated rooms..Our one was with exposed brick work, long red velvet curtains, which I loved..It gave room extra warmth...We had dinner in the restaurant downstairs...Food was great and service was fantastic..It was a bit too bright for me in terms of lighting, I prefer dining in the intimate settings...with less light..but same restaurant was perfect for breakfast and then a terrace which would be great if sun was shining...Other little thing, there was no bar....there was just a couch that you could use...But other than that you could not really go into bar after dinner and relax..so we used the couch and then just brought drinks upstairs as the room had a couch and TV in front of it...Overall, very good memories of this hotel. If you need to be in the are it is a definitely place to be.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrlandeRussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here for my wife's birthday last weekend. The first time we had stayed here. We have eaten here many times in the past and have always enjoyed our meal. We checked in and were given the key to our room No 6. We then went to our room on top floor, the hotel is very tastefully decorated using neutral and earth tones. It is a pleasant experience going to the room and evokes thoughts of grandeur that the original owners would have experienced. We got to our room and were disappointed by it to be fair. It was possibly the smallest room that I have ever stayed in and I have stayed in my share of city center / budget hotels. The bed was a small double and there is very little room around it, for example if my wife was standing at the end of the bed to do make up I could not walk past her. The en suite is within 16" of the bed and the extractor fan did not work. The shower head was a bit leaky and attached to a noisy old electric shower. The ceiling in the room is very high and the room is much bigger when lying down!! For me the biggest disappointment about the room was the bed. We have a king size bed at home and usually when we go away for a night to celebrate we expect that the room would be better than our own... this was far from the case here unfortunately. Neither of us had a good nights sleep. I am 6'4" and weigh 92kg my feet were over the end of the bed and I nearly fell out twice during the night.

The next morning we went down for breakfast and were disappointing again by the lack of a hot breakfast. I did have smoked salmon and brown bread. Plenty of toast and fresh coffee. I still left feeling hard done by.

The staff in this hotel are really brilliant and are the saving grace. They are all very friendly and really do their best to ensure your stay is as good as they can make it.

I don't think I would stay here again or at least I would specify a different room. On booking you only get one choice of room but I saw into different rooms which were much larger. I think If you were to be stuck with this room No.6 you would also feel hard done by. I also specified that we were staying here for my wife's birthday on the booking which was made through the hotels own website.

Room Tip: Avoid number 6 for a start.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Myself and my wife have eaten in the restraunt of Becketts several times, the food is always amazing. As an extra treat for our anniversary we booked an overnight deal with dinner included.
On arrival we were booked in to a suite even though we thought our booking was a standard room.
The suite made our stay even more enjoyable. The food as always was stunning. The whole hotel is really tastefully decorated and the staff were very freindly.
We definitely will be back !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stormforce99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I only discovered this hotel the other day. We had dinner here and the food was out of this world, great value also. I must say the dessert was probably the best ive ever eatin. The staff are very friendly and helpful also. Five ***** experience all round

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Only discovered this Hotel recently and its a jewel!

From entering the courtyard to park, to friendly staff greeting and meeting us; super rooms; helpful and friendly bar staff; lounge area and food all superb and if you are looking for good value and sincere friendlieness... this is definitely the place to go.

Stayed there in July and again August bankholiday and enjoyed both times.

Cannot recommend it enough.

Louise & Fin

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leixlip
0.4 mi away
The Court Yard Hotel
The Court Yard Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leixlip
667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Springfield Hotel
Springfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leixlip
412 reviews
4.6 mi away
Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lucan Spa Hotel
Lucan Spa Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lucan
330 reviews
3.5 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
431 reviews
1.6 mi away
Finnstown Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Becketts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Becketts Hotel

Property: Becketts Hotel
Address: Cooldrinagh House, Leixlip, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Leixlip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Leixlip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Becketts Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Becketts hotel is a 3-star property located on the outskirts of Dublin city which was the home of the famous Irish writer Samuel Becketts' mother. This Country house has been fully restored maintaining many or its original features. It boasts 10 guestrooms beautifully designed including double, single, twin and suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Becketts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Becketts Hotel Leixlip, Ireland - County Kildare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing