We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money and great staff.”
Review of River Forest Hotel

River Forest Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Leixlip
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
River Forest Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Leixlip
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Myself and partner stayed here recently as we were attending a wedding in the area. It's not super luxurious but it was perfect for our needs and the nicest hotel we've stayed in at that price range. It's very clean and well kept and staff were lovely and very helpful from check in to check out. We had a few drinks in the bar which was very busy and had music on that night, it seems to be a lively spot and had a good mix of locals and visitors. The hotel is very quiet at night so we slept well and we had a freshly cooked full Irish the next morning. It's 2 mins walk to the local train station which brought us directly into town in minutes. I'd highly recommend this hotel, yes its basic, but its a very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunbeamDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013

From the totally warn out carpets to the cheap and cheerful (and uncomfortable) mattress and budget breakfast everything about this place showed the managements' style is cutting corners.

The hotel appears to be owned by the same person who own the Indian restaurant "next door" (actually it may appear to be "next door" but it's actually the hotel dining room so, aside from breakfast, the hotel only does bar snacks.

The "full Irish" breakfast was disappointing, clearly using the cheapest possible ingredients (right down to the"SmartBuy" orange juice carton on the table (though it had been poured into a jug). No sauces were provided but they were available on request.

The only saving grace about this hotel was the room was clean (though the shower head could have done with some attention). It's a pity the same can't be said of the other areas with cobwebs and dirty, splattered, glass.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JustThisGuyY0uKn0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

Ok so this accomadation is basic. Not very up to date or anything but for what I paid boy was I impressed?! Was all over Kildare on business and had lots of paper work to do in evening, was never disturbed and full Irish in morning kept me going hours. Price is indeed the main selling point, was on the road in minutes in the morning too. Excellent job, old-fashioned hospitality, nice to see it is not dead. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Galwayladyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2008

Easy peasy to get to from the airport, 6 euro fare on the airport bus into Bus Arras , out of the bus station, across the road to Connolly Rail station then 2 euro fare on the train to Leixlip Confey station . ( A return costs 3.80 .) Connolly to Confey takes just over 30 minutes but worth it to see the mountain and canal views.
3 minute walk from Leixlip Confey station the hotel is set in the corner of a small retail park which boasts all the shops you could need for a budget stay. Supermarket .Off licence, diner and the hotel has its own pub and Indian restaurant.
The hotel is clean and towels were changed every day. Our bed was the most comfy we've ever had in a hotel. Staff were very friendly, breakfast was FULL Irish and enough to last till teatime! Very affordable at 65 euro per night for a double room plus 10 euro each for the breakfast.
Amazing value I reckon and worth being outside the city centre.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank herosmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leixlip
0.3 mi away
Springfield Hotel
Springfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leixlip
429 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Court Yard Hotel
The Court Yard Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leixlip
695 reviews
3.5 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Becketts Hotel
Becketts Hotel
#1 of 5 in Leixlip
128 reviews
0 mi away
Leixlip Manor Hotel and Gardens
0.4 mi away
Carton View B&B
Carton View B&B
#1 of 1 in Leixlip
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Forest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Forest Hotel

Address: Leixlip | Co.Kildare, Leixlip, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Leixlip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Leixlip
Price Range: £31 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
River Forest Hotel Leixlip, Ireland - County Kildare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing