We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steaks”

Silver Tassie Hotel - Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 113 Restaurants in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$67
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A Word from our Head Chef Hi, my name is Karl Murtagh and I am the Head Chef at the The Silver Tassie Hotel with over 20 years experience satisfying the taste buds. Together with a dedicated and hard working team, my aim is to ensure all our customers enjoy a superb dining experience in the Hotel. The Silver Tassie Hotel has established itself as one of the town's most reliable establishments for good food and quality hospitality using only using the freshest ingredients in all our dishes. We take great pride in our food, as it is all freshly made on the site by our highly skilled and creative culinary staff. All our food is sourced locally and where possible using sustainable produces, all of our meats, fish and vegetable have full traceability. We have carefully planned our menus to ensure there is something to cater for all tastes with a great emphasis on fresh seafood and locally sourced meat with our "Tassie Steaks" our specialty dishes. Our Sunday Carvery Lunch is an experience not to miss out on with 5 courses to be enjoyed during a pleasant afternoon of dining. Children in your party can enjoy our Kiddies corner to make the day out relaxing and fun for all the family. Eating should be an experience, which is why we taken great care to ensure the restaurant is the epitome of comfort, wood paneled walls, crisp white linen table cloths, a large stone fireplace and sumptuous leather chairs ensure that the whole dining experience is a comfortable and memorable one. Your dining experience is strongly supported by friendly, attentive, and helpful staff who ensure you have everything you need, all you have to do it sit back, enjoy, indulgence and let us delight you! I look forward to welcoming you to The Silver Tassie Hotel and attending to your culinary needs and desires during your stay at the Hotel. Karl Murtagh
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Steaks”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great restraunt.Great steaks,ask for the New Yorker,its to die for.Excellent value and very friendly staff.I would highly recommend this property and hope to get back there again soon.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank philip g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    91
    21
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice place - Silver Tassie”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed just one night while playing golf at the Portsalon Golf Club. The hotel and restaurant were very nice - kind of old fashioned hotel rooms. Rooms were very clean and well kept. We enjoyed our meal there - dinner and breakfast. Handy location for the golf course which I highly recommend too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DarrellW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not that great.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Due to other people booking this place i have had the misfortune to eat here on several occasions. The food is consistently unpleasant and very freezer to oven style. The staff are pretty rude, quite a lot of surly young adults. The last time i ate here the waitress pulled the menu away from us half way through our order as she had laid down the wrong menu, when it took more than 30 seconds for us to choose from the other menu she started rolling her eyes and became visibly annoyed. When my order came it was wrong and when i sent it back it came back on another plate with the wrong sauce having been wiped off with a cloth. Gross. We stayed for a few drinks afterwards but as the hotel was uncomfortably hot we chose to leave. When we were leaving there were a couple of people from a large wedding party throwing up in the car park. Kind a sums the place up.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FoxEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Carvery Lunch”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stopped for lunch with my teenage son. The carvery was excellent, Great choice of meat and fish together with lovely fresh veg. Great to get cabbage that is fresh and crisp and not over cooked.
As a vegetarian I did not to have any meat and had veg and potatoes. I enquired if the gravey was vegetarian - unfortunately not (gluten free). This was the only negative. Would have loved some vegetarian gravey. Lovely fresh food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Marsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast, northern ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great carvery!!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We went into the Silver Tassie for their Sunday carvery and I have to say that it was really good. It is €21.50 for adults and €12 for kids which I first thought was over priced but it is a 5 course carvery and the food was brilliant. Loads to choose from and good service. Would definitely recommend it and go back again.

Helpful?
Thank lf35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silver Tassie Hotel - Restaurant also viewed

Letterkenny, County Donegal
 
Letterkenny, County Donegal
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 

Been to Silver Tassie Hotel - Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing