We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very personal experience”
Review of Oaklands B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oaklands B&B
Ranked #2 of 26 Letterkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We were welcomed by Martin as we pulled into the drive to park. He was shouting something at us that was quite confusing, "County Clare!" Football playoffs were going on and thought we were from Limerick because of our rental's license plate.

We headed inside, where Majella checked us into our rooms. The rooms were spacious and clean. After relaxing a little, we headed down to the Brewery that Majella recommended for dinner.

After dinner we were welcomed to go up to a separate building with a bar with Majella and Martin. As we were hanging out and exchanging tales, we were joined by other guests who brought their instruments. We were entertained by traditional Irish music on the banjo and concertina.

I have traveled a fair deal and want to say this was the best accommodation experience I have encountered. They were truly hospitable with a great atmosphere to relax. The B&B had great sitting areas to relax in away from the bedrooms. The breakfast was a traditional and hearty.

If you are driving through the Letterkenny area, make sure to stay at the Oaklands B&B!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelatravels11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Family at Oaklands B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thanks so much for your review and we are delighted you had such a positive experience staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Oaklands B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

Really great value to stay in Letterkenny.
Majella welcomed us with tea and cake and was really kind to us.
She gave us nice tips to have diner in town.

The room is nice and really cheap for what it is, especially if you compare it to other B and B in the country.
Good breakfast as well and a very quiet area, at 15 mins walk from city center.

Stéphanie and Florent

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephEtFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Family at Oaklands B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Hi Stéphanie and Florent, Thank you both so much for taking the time to review your stay with us and hope to welcome you both should you return to Letterkenny in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Gt week. Magelhas the giftt of hitting the right balance between being welcoming and giving you space. The use of the fridge, microwave etc in residents kitchen was perfect for me. Very, very reasonable price. I did miss the usual tea making facilities in the bedroom though the kitchen was nearby.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Carol_B945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Family at Oaklands B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Hi Carol, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we greatly appreciate your feedback regarding tea and coffee making facilities in the room. We had removed tea and coffee making facilities as we always offer complimentary tea or coffee upon arrival but are taking your very vital feedback on board moving forward. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We arrived quite late in the evening and the owner Majella immediately brought us tea and biscuits; we felt at home from the start. Very friendly and welcoming throughout our few days stay. Clean and comfortable; the bedrooms are lovely and my bedroom was a single, en-suite with fresh towels. Full Irish breakfast was great but many alternatives if you wanted something else. Lovely surroundings and near to town and shops. I would definitely stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Oaklands B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Good Morning Marie,

Thank you for reviewing Oaklands B&B. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We are also delighted that you appreciated the simple gestures such as tea on arrival. We are firm believers that it is the small parts of the stay that contribute to a total experience and hope you will consider Oaklands B&B upon your next stay in Letterkenny.

Best Wishes

David Leonard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Majella does a wonderful job of making your wishes come true. Rooms were comfy and breakfast was super (even to go when we had to make an early morning bus ride). We enjoyed our stay in Letterkenny, largely because of the comfortable stay at this b and b.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Oaklands B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Good Morning Lynn,

Thank you for reviewing Oaklands B&B. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in Letterkenny and your acknowledgment that the B&B largely contributed to it. We hope you will consider Oaklands B&B breakfast upon your next trip to Letterkenny.

Best wishes

David Leonard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Comfortable rooms, excellent service and a peaceful sleep were all on offer and readily taken when I stayed here.
I felt looked after and also left alone which strikes the right balance for what I wanted.

Oh, and The Full Irish breakfast set me up perfectly every day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Family at Oaklands B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Hi Damian, Thank you for taking the time to review and we are happy we got the balance right during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I stayed a week at Oaklands B&B, Letterkenny,Donegal, in July 2012. From the moment I arrived I felt special & was made a lovely cup of tea straight away from the Owner, Majella.

The bedroom felt very homely & comfortable & the hot breakfasts were absolutely delicious. Majella also played Celtic music in the background while you're enjoying your breakfast & this makes you feel like you are in Ireland.

Majella's husband Carl is also a wonderful Host & if you are good, he will take you up to his homemade Bar & as the Irish say, talk Craic.

Andrew Gunn
Brisbane. Australia

Room Tip: All good. All rooms upstairs.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Oaklands B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Hi Andrew,

Thank you so much for your warm review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you again should you venture to back to the North West of Ireland. Rest assured the same warm and friendly welcome will be extended upon your return.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
0.7 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#7 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,275 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
0.7 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaklands B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaklands B&B

Address: Oaklands 8 Oaklands Park | Gortlee Road, Letterkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Letterkenny
Price Range: £62 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional, warm Irish welcome is guaranteed at Oakland's Bed & Breakfast. A family run, 3-star Failte Ireland approved B&B located in the heart of Letterkenny. There are so many ways for people to truly, madly, deeply experience Donegal. Whether you are seeking an escape from the stress and busyness of your daily life by revelling in breath taking scenery or just want to immerse yourself in a place that offers rich history and local culture, your hostess, Majella, will make sure all your requirements are taken care of and will be happy to plan everything for you, get you to where you ought to go...With an insider's knowledge which has been built up over thirty years in the hospitality industry. Letterkenny serves up great shopping and beautiful countryside in equal measures. Oakland's Bed and Breakfast is located less than ten minutes' walk from Letterkenny town centre with its excellent shops, restaurants, pubs, clubs and cinemas, not to mention An Grianan Theatre. Our home provides a great base whether you want to enjoy the bustling town of Letterkenny or revel in the natural beauty the county has to offer when exploring Donegal's Wild Atlantic Way and beautiful Glenveagh National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oaklands B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaklands B&B Letterkenny, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing