We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

β€œnice hotel”
Review of Clanree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clanree Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
castlefinn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

i stayed here on friday 1 june. enjoyed my stay although the Jacuzzi was out of order but the girl said it would be fixed the next morning.The staff in all areas of the hotel were polite, friendly and the food was lovely. i would return but only if i could have a room at the back of the hotel. As i was in 106 and the noise was awful cars ravin up and down the road all night and my husband never slept the entire night.Will return for another night next month if there was no road noise as we live out in the country side and have silence everynight.

Room Tip: i was located at the front of the hotel noise was dreadful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Thank you for taking time out to review your stay! We are delighted by your comments about our staff & our food. If you have an opportunity to come & stay with us again in the future, please just let us know you would like quiet room & we will accommodate your request. Again thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    333
    164
    77
    39
See reviews for
310
426
23
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I stayed here for 1 night and found the hotel nice when I arrived..Lovely foyer and pleasant check in.Got room 102 and it was a basic hotel room with some stains on the carpet.Bed was comfortable but the TV would not work.Had dinner which was quite good (served starter and then a carvery main).Breakfast was good also but as I was at the front of hotel,it can be a bit noisy as windows did not appear to be sealed properly and traffic noise was loud.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back so as to ensure a good nights sleep..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent break with us and for your constructive feedback. We are very happy you had a great time and please be assured, we will address the issues raised regarding the Television in your room. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

Rooms need an update with modern furnishing. Bathrooms need a redo.

Food only passable.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank macire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanree, Public Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for your constructive feedback, it is feedback such as yours that help us improve our standards & guest satisfaction.
Hopefully, this has not dissuaded you from using the Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Stayed for an overnight business trip - just popped in as I passed by and asked the best rate which was competitive. They added an 'upsell' by taking me into a BB + Dinner which seemed very good value but what they didn't tell me is that the food is Superb - really nice and imaginative. I was given a lovely room which had all the bits that a tired chap on the road needs - even a footstool, and complimentary newspaper at reception and bottled water in the room. Breakie was nice too and the young ladies at reception could not have been more helpful. I felt special and cared for and sure thats all that I wanted........

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PVDalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
On behalf of the Team at the Clanree Hotel thank you most sincerely for your your very kind words and especially for taking the time out of your schedule to review your recent stay with us. We have a very pasionate & hard working team who strive to deliver a high level of service & guest satisfaction, Your positive comments are very welcomed & I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Clanree Hotel in the near future..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Check-in was fair enough, friendly staff with a good attitude. Rooms are fine, bed was clean but the duvet cover was an old fashioned hessian blanket with a cotton cover, if it was winter it wouldn't be too warm. Room was a bit tired looking but clean all the same, good WiFi connectivity and a clean bathroom, again a bit tired looking. Overall i was comfortable enough here, my only quarrel really was that there was no staff at the desk on check-out, i had to leave the card and go, which was quite unprofessional really. On the plus side smoking was allowed on our floor and the cleaning staff done a great job servicing our rooms each morning, the traffic though during peak times was noisy so had to keep the window closed, but this hotel is what you would call standard.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the adjacent main road, it would be quieter and more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brimit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in Nov 2011 with some colleagues. I find it hard to believe that a hotel that's only open about 10 years has dated so badly in that time. The rooms are quite small, the decor is outdated (and was probably already outdated when it was put in). When my colleagues and I gathered for breakfast, the only topic of discussion was the smell in all of our rooms. Bearing in mind that we were placed in rooms on different floors, and at differing ends of the building, it's hard to explain why, but we all complained of a damp smell in our rooms.

My room was at the front of the hotel, which is beside a dual carriageway, and the windows were not adequately sound-proofed, and so I had ambulance sirens going all night (the local hospital is about a mile away).

Breakfast was fine, not great but not terrible either.

I didn't visit the leisure centre so can't comment on that

Overall, this is an ok hotel, but there are better, more central options in Letterkenny

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I stayed here 2 nights which i purchased through groupon at a great price of under Β£60. On arrival you get a glass of wine each which was very nice. I checked in and was on the 2nd floor and the room was big with twin beds as requested. The heating in the room was poor and i worked at the air condition/ heating system for long time but could'nt get any heat, so i guess this is standard in most rooms. The heating did come on in the evening but the radiator was only semi hot which did not heat the room up to a comfortable temperature through the night. The television did not work until i had fixed the aerial lead and the picture was not great and not digital and old tv. There was tea and coffee making facilities in the room but not a single biscuit which in most b&bs i have visited had, never mind a hotel. The leisure facilities was the best feature for us during our stay at the Clanree Hotel. The swimming pool, jazucci, steam room and sauna was perfect for relaxation and included in the price, though you have to buy a bathing cap at 3 euro for swimming in the pool. We had breakfast and this was 10 euro each but food was quite cold and the waiter serves the food, so not really a buffet as stated. Overall good hotel at the price we paid but would not pay more because of the negative points.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trackoverseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
0.8 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
1.7 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
3.2 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clanree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clanree Hotel

Property: Clanree Hotel
Address: Derry Road, Letterkenny, Ireland (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): Β£
Hotel Class:4 star — Clanree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All you could want in a getaway...Plus More!!The Family Friendly 4* Clanree Hotel, Letterkenny, the ideal place to relax and revive. The 4* Clanree Hotel Letterkenny is ideally located for exploring beautiful Donegal and the Northwest of Ireland. Located only a few minutes drive from the bustling town centre of Letterkenny, the hotels accommodation boasts 120 luxurious en-suite rooms. The Aileach restaurant in the Clanree Hotel offers Award Winning food, while McGettigans Bar offers an extensive Bar Food Menu & live entertainment. Visitors can't fail to be impressed by its grand interior and wide range of facilities. The hotel boasts a fully equipped health and fitness club with a heated indoor 20m pool and children's pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steamroom, solarium and fully-equipped gym. There is an in-house beauty salon providing a full range of treatments and special 'pamper packages' are available throughout the year. What is there to do?....You will not be short of activities in the area from the many coastal drives to mapped walks, horse riding, surfing, fishing, golfing, karting, clay pigeon shooting plus more! Letterkenny town offers great shopping facilities, cinema, theatre and kids jungle gym & bowling. So, I am sure you will agree that the 4* Clanree is the perfect location for midweek breaks, weekend breaks, family breaks, & golden year's breaks...The team at the 4* Clanree Hotel look forward to welcoming you to Donegal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clanree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clanree Hotel Letterkenny, County Donegal
Holiday Inn Letterkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing