We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Groupon deal”
Review of Clanree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clanree Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2014

When we arrived there was a problem with our booking showing up on their systems, but the receptionist (Annmarie) was very helpful and put us into a room while she sorted everything for us promptly and without any problems.
That evening we had dinner in mcgettigans bar that is attached to the hotel, the food and service where both first class and great value. Overall we had a thoroughly enjoyable 2night stay in the hotel, perfect if you want to enjoy a quiet couple of nights away from everything as it is on the outskirts of town.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Matt M,
Thank you sincerely for choosing the Clanree Hotel for your Groupon breakaway, and we are thrilled that you had such a positive experience and Annmarie looked after you so well at check in, we value all our guests and their feedback it is very important to us indeed Mc Gettigans bar is a great asset to the property and it is pleasing to read you enjoyed the service, food and the ambiance it has to offer and we look forward to welcome you back soon for another relaxing getaway break.

Warm Regards
Antoinette Coyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

773 - 779 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

Just back from 2 nights as part of a deal.Hotel was very clean,room was spacious as we had a family room.Water was piping hot and facilities good.Staff were vere friendly and healpful.Made use of the pool and gym as weather was terrible.MCGETTIGANS bar was great Music on Sunday and monday.Decor was great and well thought out, As for our meal included in our deal which normally is not the standard set. 3 courses with cofee and drink...Great service and quality of food.We paid a supplement for steak..Havent had a steak as nice in a long time. .Well worth a visit

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Brian C,
Thank you for your lovely review of your recent visit to the Clanree Hotel in Letterkenny. We are delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable experience. Most pleasing to receive are your comments regarding our service and food quality, it was lovely to read your great feedback on our New Mc Gettigan's bar, looking forward to welcoming you back here very soon as a valued customer if we can assist in any way please do not hesitate to contact us.
Many thanks again,
Kind Regards,
Antoinette Coyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Booked our stay for a few nights during the Christmas break. We chose the Clanree due to their competitive pricing. When we arrived in Letterkenny, we found that the hotel had closed for Christmas and had not yet reopened. We made several calls to the Hotel but the phone rang out. The carpark was empty and there were no lights on in the entire place. We waited for a few hours and eventually went off in search of other accommodation. I'm just glad we didn't prepay. And also that we managed to find accommodation in the end. We had to go to 3 other hotels before we could find someone to take us. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Natasha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Natasha C,
We were very disappointed to learn that you were unable to stay with us in the Clanree Hotel. The Hotel closed late on Christmas Eve and reopened the doors @ 3pm on St. Stephen's Day 26th December , check in time for all arrivals is from 3pm onwards and we are saddened to read that you were unable to check in we had called all our arrivals prior to Christmas to inform and remind them of check in time as some guests do arrive quite early but unfortunately we were unable to contact yourself as the number given through booking.com was incorrect and would not connect unfortunately.
Again sincere apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused and I do hope you get the opportunity to visit Donegal and Ireland again in the near future.
Sincere Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Visited the Clanree on a Groupon Deal. Very impressed with the reception area of the hotel. Reception staff were welcoming and very efficient. Room was great with 2 double beds and was comfortably warm. Leisure facilities were excellent and we made use of the swimming pool, gym and steam room. However, we were a bit disappointed with the Jacuzzi and Sauna as they were both cold and couldn't be used during our visit. Hopefully they will have heated up when we make a return trip. Overall, a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear GlynnC,
Many thanks for choosing the Clanree Hotel for your recent stay, and we are truly delighted you had such a positive experience with us, and I have passed on your lovely comments to the team at reception for a job well done, I do apologise for the issue in our leisure centre and we have since rectified the problem, I really look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and if we can assist you with anything please do not hesitate to contact us either by email or telephone 074 9124369 or info@clanreehotel.com
Warm Regards,
Antoinette Coyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We recently stayed for two nights at this hotel. All in all in was a fantastic weekend.
The staff were so friendly and efficient. The room was well appointed and kept nice and warm at all times. The food was excellent. The breakfast was a choice of cereals, juices, breads and fruit. Or the traditional full Irish. The hotel bar, McGettigans, was a great place to relax in a very friendly atmosphere with some terrific live music.
The only negative point and its a small point, is the wifi was pretty useless!
I highly recommend this place if you're planning a stay in Letterkenny.
Thanks for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PTB392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear PTB 392,
On behalf of the entire team at the Clanree Hotel I would like to sincerely thank you for choosing The Clanree and for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us here, we are delighted to read your lovely comments on all aspects of your stay and your positive recommendation regarding all our food service is very much appreciated, the team endeavor to deliver the highest standard in guest care and it isalways a pleasure to receive feedback such as yours,we very much hope to welcome you back to the Clanree Hotel in the not too distant future and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance at all. contact us at info@clanreehotel.com
Warm Regards,
Antoinette Coyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

The place was cold the room was horrible. And everything was oh at your own risk. Anythin u asked the staff were all I dont know. Place wasa joke. Only good thing was the food. Mcgettigans was ok but if ya the way the people stare at ya like they r gonna lynch ya

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kyle8809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Kyle 8809.
In response to your Trip Advisor review of your recent visit to The Clanree Hotel. It is with regret we receive your comments however it is difficult to measure your feedback given in your review and the manner in which it is written. We do have a manager available on duty at all times and would have happily dealt with any problems you may have had and it would have been our pleasure to have given you a different room if we had known you had any issues with it. If you would like to discuss this matter further please do not hesitate to contact me at info@clanreehotel.com or tel:
0749124369.
Many thanks &
Kind Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Got a great deal on Booking.com, we love this hotel, stayed for just the 2 nights.

Apparently we'll not recognize the hotel when we next return as a complete re-fit is planned.
If it is half as good as the new bar it will be great.

We used the bar food only - great choice and value - oh, and Coors on draught - heaven.

Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and plenty of room - no waiting.

Tip, if you are driving out of the car park and wish to turn right and are a visitor, it's much safer to just go left up to a roundabout and come back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peteram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Peteram,
Thank you for spending your well earned holiday with us at the Clanree Hotel Letterkenny. We were delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable experience. Our team endeavor to provide the very highest standard in guest care and attention and it is always a pleasure to receive feedback such as yours. We would of course be delighted to welcome you back to see the new & improved changes to The Clanree Hotel and if we can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact us at : reservations@clanreehotel.com
Many thanks &
Kind Regards,
Antoinette Coyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
0.8 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 13 in Letterkenny
2,341 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
3.2 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 13 in Letterkenny
798 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#3 of 13 in Letterkenny
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clanree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clanree Hotel

Address: Derry Road, Letterkenny, Ireland (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range: £57 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clanree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All you could want in a getaway...Plus More!!The Family Friendly 4* Clanree Hotel, Letterkenny, the ideal place to relax and revive. The 4* Clanree Hotel Letterkenny is ideally located for exploring beautiful Donegal and the Northwest of Ireland. Located only a few minutes drive from the bustling town centre of Letterkenny, the hotels accommodation boasts 120 luxurious en-suite rooms. The Aileach restaurant in the Clanree Hotel offers Award Winning food, while McGettigans Bar offers an extensive Bar Food Menu & live entertainment. Visitors can't fail to be impressed by its grand interior and wide range of facilities. The hotel boasts a fully equipped health and fitness club with a heated indoor 20m pool and children's pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steamroom, solarium and fully-equipped gym. There is an in-house beauty salon providing a full range of treatments and special 'pamper packages' are available throughout the year. What is there to do?....You will not be short of activities in the area from the many coastal drives to mapped walks, horse riding, surfing, fishing, golfing, karting, clay pigeon shooting plus more! Letterkenny town offers great shopping facilities, cinema, theatre and kids jungle gym & bowling. So, I am sure you will agree that the 4* Clanree is the perfect location for midweek breaks, weekend breaks, family breaks, & golden year's breaks...The team at the 4* Clanree Hotel look forward to welcoming you to Donegal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clanree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clanree Hotel Letterkenny, County Donegal
Holiday Inn Letterkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing