We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Clanree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clanree Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay in the clanree. This hotel should be upgraded, it is gorgeous, spotless, and has the most pleasant, helpful and polite staff, nothing is too much bother. Food in the hotel restaurant was beautiful. McGettigans bar does very nice food too although we did have an issue on one occasion with 3 steaks being cooked wrong. We did mention this to our waitress but nothing was done about it.

We stayed in room 220 which was spacious, spotless and has a good size bathroom. Great power shower! Only fault with the room was the mattress, it could do with being changed, there was a large dip on one side, other than that the room was lovely and very quiet.

McGettigans bar has a great atmosphere in it and very good live music. once you are in it you have no reason at all to want to venture into the town, young and old were thoroughly enjoying themselves. We were gutted to leave but are looking forward to returning in the near future.
Do not hesitate at all to book this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andersons_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Anderson_10,
Thank you for taking the time to review The Clanree Hotel & Leisure Centre. We truly value your opinion.
I can assure you that your experience with us is an example for what we strive for, simply by providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service.
On behalf of the management and all other team members I would like to thank you for your feedback.
If I can be of any assistance in the future please don't hesitate to contact us directly at info@clanreehotel.com or by telephone on 00353 74 9124369 we would be delighted to welcome you back in the very near future.
Many thanks again &
Warmest Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    333
    164
    77
    39
See reviews for
310
426
23
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Craigavon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Just returned from a stay in the Clanree Hotel, Letterkenny. Beautiful Hotel, food delicious, staff from reception to bar first class. Many thanks to Michael, Manager, Antoinette, Annette, Deirdre, Kay in reception, to name just a few. Lovely comfortable bedroom, will return soon. Many thanks, Marie Agnew. 19.05.14

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Roisin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Marie,
Thank you so much for your kind and detailed review of the Clanree Hotel & Leisure Centre. It was a real pleasure and encouragement to read about you experiences with us and I very much look forward to relaying your feedback to the team. It is always great to see particular members singled out for special praise and I appreciate your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you and your group back in October for another visit and If I may ever be of assistance to you in the future please don't hesitate to contact me directly at info@clanreehotel.com I would be more than delighted to assist.
Many thanks again Marie &
Sincere Regards,
Antoinette Coyle
00353 74 9124369
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shercock
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed at the Clanree for 2 nights from the 9th May to 11th May 2014 and throughly enjoyed it. The swimming pool is excellent and our 5, 4 & 2 year old Children had a great time in it. The restaurent was a bit quiet but the bar was really lively and the food there was fantastic.
The only thing we didn't like was that our Children like good food but half portions weren't available. The Waitress said the Chef wouldn't make an exception. Very disappointed with this.
The rooms were quite big and really clean. Although the Hotel is a wee bit out of Letterkenny there is a petrol station & shop just accross the road. A 5 minute drive takes you into town and there is loads to do. We have stayed countless times in the Clanree and have never being disappointed. Would highly recommend for anyone.

Room Tip: The Wi-Fi is bad the further you are away from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Thomas C,
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review and for sharing on Tripadvisor, it gave us great pleasure reading your review. We really are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit with us and with with so many beautiful attractions to explore we are indeed ideally located for touring Donegal and the NW of Ireland. We welcome your valued comments regarding the children s menu and we have included half portions of our daily roasts on their menu.
I do hope we get the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Clanree Hotel in the very near future.
Many thanks again &
Kind Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.
info@clanreehotel.com
0749124369
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the clanree for 2 nights over Easter. I was very impressed by my first impressions and this was the way for everything else. Rooms very great, service was great, the pool was great and breakfast was great also. My 2 boys had hours of fun swimming. We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marianne173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Marianne173,
It was a real pleasure to read about your family's experience with us recently. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable visit.

Summer time at The Clanree Hotel & Leisure Centre will see us welcome many more families and we very much look forward to sharing all of our new facilities with our valued guests.

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future and thank you again for your lovely review.

Many thanks &
Warm Regards,
Antoinette Coyle
074 9124369
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. It's location is a bit outside town and access is a bit awkward owing to its location on a main road. The room was cheap and great value. They clearly make a lot or their profit selling food and drinks. Leisure centre is not impressive. Mc gettigans bar is pretty but food is pricey and just alright. I'd recommend the clanree for a stopover or business travellers more than a holiday destination

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank conasatatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Conasatatu,

Many thanks for the fantastic review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it and I am delighted that you had the opportunity to enjoy our facilities, which we are continuing to improve with plans also in place for our fitness and leisure suite to be upgraded.

Thank you for your kind recommendation and we do hope that we have the privilege of welcoming you back to The Clanree Hotel & Leisure Centre in the not too distant future.
Many thanks again,
Kindest Regards,
Antoinette Coyle
074 914369
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownstewart, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had our wedding reception here I can honestly say I couldn't fault anything. The staff were very helpful in the run up to the wedding and were brilliant on the day itself.. All our guests had only great things to say, food was beautiful and hot when served and loads of extras were offered. They prepared our function room beautifully and lovely and warm, bedrooms also very comfortable. Staff are so friendly and willing to help with anything (even pinning up my dress!!) nothing seemed a bother. Would highly recommend if anyone is looking for a stress free day. I will definitely be coming back x

Room Tip: Tip- you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Carolanne M,

Thank you so much for your lovely review on your recent wedding in the Clanree Hotel. It was our pleasure to host your special day which you celebrated with family and friends.
It was very pleasing and delightful to read such positive comments regarding the wedding but also the service which was delivered throughout your weekend with us, thank you again for the lovely feedback and if we can be of assistance to you in the future please do not hesitate to contact us.
Many thanks &
Warmest Regards,
Antoinette Coyle
info@clanreehotel.com
00353 74 9124369,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The Clanree hotel was brilliant. The staff were really friendly and nothing was a problem. The rooms were clean and the food was excellent. We ate in the bar also, and this was great - good food and lovely surroundings. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Fiona B,
Thank you for your lovely review of your recent visit to the Clanree Hotel & Leisure Centre. It was a pleasure to read your feedback and I look forward to relaying your comments to the team.

We really appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back to The Clanree Hotel in the very near future and If we may ever be of assistance to you in the future please don't hesitate to contact the team on 00353 74 9124369,
Many thanks &
Kindest Regards,
Antoinette Coyle,
info@clanreehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
0.8 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
1.7 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
3.2 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clanree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clanree Hotel

Property: Clanree Hotel
Address: Derry Road, Letterkenny, Ireland (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clanree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All you could want in a getaway...Plus More!!The Family Friendly 4* Clanree Hotel, Letterkenny, the ideal place to relax and revive. The 4* Clanree Hotel Letterkenny is ideally located for exploring beautiful Donegal and the Northwest of Ireland. Located only a few minutes drive from the bustling town centre of Letterkenny, the hotels accommodation boasts 120 luxurious en-suite rooms. The Aileach restaurant in the Clanree Hotel offers Award Winning food, while McGettigans Bar offers an extensive Bar Food Menu & live entertainment. Visitors can't fail to be impressed by its grand interior and wide range of facilities. The hotel boasts a fully equipped health and fitness club with a heated indoor 20m pool and children's pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steamroom, solarium and fully-equipped gym. There is an in-house beauty salon providing a full range of treatments and special 'pamper packages' are available throughout the year. What is there to do?....You will not be short of activities in the area from the many coastal drives to mapped walks, horse riding, surfing, fishing, golfing, karting, clay pigeon shooting plus more! Letterkenny town offers great shopping facilities, cinema, theatre and kids jungle gym & bowling. So, I am sure you will agree that the 4* Clanree is the perfect location for midweek breaks, weekend breaks, family breaks, & golden year's breaks...The team at the 4* Clanree Hotel look forward to welcoming you to Donegal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Clanree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clanree Hotel Letterkenny, County Donegal
Holiday Inn Letterkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing