We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clanree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clanree Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just back from a long weekend in a wonderful hotel we where in room 146 .This hotel is just lovely clean room lovely room lovely staff always there to help you. The food was excellent. It's a very good hotel .

Room Tip: Was on the first floor the bed was the best one I have been in for a long time . No noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 442Marydoll1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear 44Marydoll 1959,
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review on your recent visit with us, it was so pleasing to learn you were impressed by all aspects of your stay including the cleanliness, food, service and of course our team your valuable comments are very much appreciated by all.
We do hope we can extend another warm welcome to you in the very near future.
Many thanks again &
Warmest Regards,
Antoinette Coyle,
0035307491024369
info@clanreehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    318
    162
    77
    38
See reviews for
302
403
23
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omagh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just returned from a relaxing and enjoyable 2 night stay in this beautiful hotel. From the minute we arrived (my 16yr old son and myself) we could not fault the warm and professional hospitality, the delicious food in McGettigans Bar, the clean and luxurious leisure complex and the spacious, modern and comfortable room. Parking was excellent-we had motorbikes with us and they were accommodated as well as we were!! I even noticed a member of staff out washing our bikes without being asked-that's what I call fabulous service! We'll definitely return and bring the rest of the family next time. Check out their well stocked info stand on things to do in the local area-the off road 'Dirt Bike tour Ireland' was excellent and well priced too.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back-v v quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dirtbiketours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Dirtbiketours,
Thank you for the lovely review following your recent stay with us which we were all pleased to read.

the management & staff were delighted to read how much you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Your words are so kind and I can assure you that they have given the entire team a great lift.

I do hope that it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Thank you again.
Many Thanks &
Kindest Regards,
Antoinette Coyle
info@clanreehotel.com
00353 74 91 24369
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Just back from along weekend in this wonderful hotel. We stayed in room 208 overlooking the main thoroughfare but very little noise from it. We had no trouble sleeping. The food was excellent and at no time did we find the food cold or have to wait long for a table, people must remember when an hotel is full to capacity a slight delay is unavoidable. We found the staff so friendly and helpful no matter what you asked of them the reply was always the same "No bother". This hotel has everything location,staff, good food and not to mention a great swimming pool. We will be going back again in the near future with some friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Mary L,
Thank you for such a fabulous review it is very much appreciated we are truly delighted you were impressed with the service,food and ambiance in the hotel, I did meet you personally when you were checking out and again you gave us such glowing feedback and recommendation which is receive with great thanks and appreciation.
We of course look forward to extending another warm Clanree welcome hopefully in the not too distant future to you both,
Kindest Regards,
Antoinette Coyle,
info@clanreehotel.com
00353 74 9124369
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

we are just back from three days in this hotel. we were there for a country weekend.when we arrived at hotel we were very impressed by the reception and entrance. when we got to our room we were very disappointed. sheets were torn. curtain were all raggety. no way went down to speak to staff. spoke to manager paul who told me they were doing the hotel up working upward. he gave us a big refurbished room. which was much better. lovely guy paul fixed it right away and I did understand when he explained.we had a really good weekend the staff are lovely. the new bar is fab. we spent Friday night there. great band white lightning.food was great in the bar. we had meals twice and they were lovely.my only complaint. was the breakfast. very poor. cold food. we had to wait in a big line to be served. one morning we had to wait 10min for a table. it was a really busy weekend and there was not enough staff on.the food was cold by the time we got served. one morning the sasages were burnt. the ham was grey looking rotten breakfast.

Room Tip: no comment till rooms are fixed. we were 1st floor room 137. nice big room. new bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel28703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Daniel 28703,
Thank you for choosing the Clanree Hotel & Leisure Centre on the occasion of the country weekend which we hosted recently, it was pleasing to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and Paul was able to assist you, we are of course a little disappointed to learn you had an issue at breakfast and I do hope we get the opportunity to redeem your faith on another occasion.
Looking forward to welcoming you back hopefully for next years event. If we can assist in any way please do not hesitate to contact myself or the reservations team at info@clanreehotel.com
Kindest Regards,
Antoinette coyle
00353 74 9124369
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

i stayed here last week with my sister and it is a lovely hotel with really wonderful staff, who are welcoming and with one of the receptionist- deirdre i think being very friendly, going out of her way to book our table in a local restaurant. the hotel itself- especially some of the rooms could do with being updated and it is clear that they are trying to do this in other areas of the hotel- the bar is quite modern (mc Gettigans) with great food and cocktails!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Sharon N,
Thank you for your lovely review of the Clanree Hotel & Leisure Centre. It was a real pleasure and encouragement to read about you experiences with us and I very much look forward to relaying your feedback to the team. It is always great to see particular members singled out for special praise and Deidre is indeed a valued member of the reception team and is delighted with the personal mention, thank you it is very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully soon and If we may ever be of assistance to you in the future please don't hesitate to contact me or any of the team directly at info@clanreehotel.com

Thank you again &
Warmest regards,
Antoinette Coyle.
0035374 91 24369
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently for our wedding anniversary. Friendly and helpful receptionist on check in and our room was spotless and comfortable. We had some food in the bar which wad really nice and we weren't left waiting long for it. Afterwards we decided to try out the pool. We were told we had to buy swimming caps to wear in the pool at €3 each. A bit pricy but we bought them only to find people already in the pool with no swimming caps! Next morning at breakfast the food again was lovely. My only issue at breakfast was the breakfast staff were not very attentive. We were asked for our room number and shown to a table and told to help ourselves which we did. We then had to try find a waiter/waitress to try to order some tea and wete almost finished our breakfast before it arrived but it was only a minor issue.

Overall, we had a really enjoyable stay and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Thomas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Thomas O,
Thank you for your detailed review of the Clanree Hotel & Leisure Centre. It was a real pleasure and encouragement to read about you experiences with us and I very much look forward to relaying your feedback to the team. I do apologise for the service at the breakfast on this occasion.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and If I may ever be of assistance to you in the future please don't hesitate to contact me directly at info@clanreehotel.com
Warmest Regards,
Antoinette Coyle
00353074 91 24369
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stay here regurally on business and have done so for years.You would find it very hard to get a better hotel in terms of location,rooms.food and staff.The hotel is very well run and you are always met with a friendly welcome no matter how many times you stay.I could not recommend this property highly enough for business or a weekend break.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philip g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Philip G,
Thank you for taking the time to review The Clanree Hotel & Leisure Centre. We truly value your opinion.
I can assure you that your experience with us is an example for what we strive for, simply by providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service be it for business or leisure
On behalf of the management and all other team members I would like to thank you for your feedback it is really very much appreciated.
If I can be of any assistance in the future please don't hesitate to contact us directly at info@clanreehotel.com or by telephone on 00353 74 9124369 we would be delighted to welcome you back in the very near future.
Many thanks again for your recommendation,
Kindest Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,121 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
1.6 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
1.7 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
3.2 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clanree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clanree Hotel

Property: Clanree Hotel
Address: Derry Road, Letterkenny, Ireland (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clanree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All you could want in a getaway...Plus More!!The Family Friendly 4* Clanree Hotel, Letterkenny, the ideal place to relax and revive. The 4* Clanree Hotel Letterkenny is ideally located for exploring beautiful Donegal and the Northwest of Ireland. Located only a few minutes drive from the bustling town centre of Letterkenny, the hotels accommodation boasts 120 luxurious en-suite rooms. The Aileach restaurant in the Clanree Hotel offers Award Winning food, while McGettigans Bar offers an extensive Bar Food Menu & live entertainment. Visitors can't fail to be impressed by its grand interior and wide range of facilities. The hotel boasts a fully equipped health and fitness club with a heated indoor 20m pool and children's pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steamroom, solarium and fully-equipped gym. There is an in-house beauty salon providing a full range of treatments and special 'pamper packages' are available throughout the year. What is there to do?....You will not be short of activities in the area from the many coastal drives to mapped walks, horse riding, surfing, fishing, golfing, karting, clay pigeon shooting plus more! Letterkenny town offers great shopping facilities, cinema, theatre and kids jungle gym & bowling. So, I am sure you will agree that the 4* Clanree is the perfect location for midweek breaks, weekend breaks, family breaks, & golden year's breaks...The team at the 4* Clanree Hotel look forward to welcoming you to Donegal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Clanree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clanree Hotel Letterkenny, County Donegal
Holiday Inn Letterkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing