We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up in smoke!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mount Errigal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Up in smoke!”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Upon arrival we had to make our way through a large group of smokers at the front door (there was a function on that evening). In fairness, I think they were receiving mixed messages from the hotel as right below the 'No Smoking' sign the hotel had thoughtfully provided a large standing ashbin! The lobby therefore stank of smoke and gave a very bad first impression. We has specifically booked a non-smoking room, but were sent up to a spacious but slightly dingy room which stank of stale smoke. Edel at reception could not have been more helpful and sent us off further down the corridor to a sweeter smelling room. However, as this was above the function room which was going to be used for a wedding the next night we were told it would probably get very noisy. They duly moved us to another room (our 3rd and final one) the next morning, and what a difference!! I would strongly recommend that you do not stay in the 'older' part of the hotel - make sure you are in the newer wing as there is a world of a difference. We had dinner in the bar that night and the food was excellent. Likewise, breakfast was great with attentive service and plenty on offer. Our waitress Fiona was a real gem. We enjoyed the pool and our overall stay, but they really need to sort out the problem with stale rooms and second-hand smoke.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the 'older' part. Rooms numbered with 500 or 600 are in the newer wing, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecraicis90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Firstly, I would like to apologise as regards the issues you encountered. We have since addressed the issues regarding guests smoking near the entrance and we have also addressed smoking & non smoking bedrooms.
You will be happy to know that we have almost completed the refurbishment of the 'older wing' of bedrooms. These rooms are now of an exceptionally high standard and are all non smoking.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,094
    581
    259
    141
    117
See reviews for
822
760
35
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrickfergus Co. Antrim Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
200 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We spent a weekend here on a Living Social deal. From the start the staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. Everyone made an effort to deliver good service with a smile. The hotel is clearly a focal point for night life in this part of Donegal and both nights we stayed the public areas were packed for functions. Despite this there was no overnight noise nuisance, and our bedroom was noticeably quiet and untroubled by passing revellers. Bar food was better than I'd expected considering how busy they were. Breakfasts were very good with a wide range on offer and a good "full Irish". The very attentive servers kept everyone supplied with top ups of coffee and tea. Our room was massive and very clean. Fittings were comfortable though some updating of the decor is needed. The pool is a great size and offers a good length swim. On the day we used it, it was not very busy. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. My only reservation would be that the foyer of the hotel and the dining room are inadequately lit. A sombre colour scheme doesn't help. But this is a minor issue as basically this hotel has its heart in the right place.

Room Tip: Room 601 offers ample space and a quiet overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tripstaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we are delighted by your review. I have taken on board your comments regarding lighting in the foyer area, we have since addressed this and you will see a vast improvement when you join us again in the near future.

Warmest Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

A large hotel made exceptional by the friendliness and sheer good-nature of the staff. The food was an eye-opener, we had dinner in the restaurant and the food was excellent, as was the lunch we had there the next day. The wine list is quite small but we had a bottle of the white Rioja which again was excellent. great value.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knowledgeseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thanks a million for your kind comments, we are delighted by your review & we look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Kind Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Went back to this hotel for one night in March 2012 having stayed there before in May 2011. It was still as good as last year. We had a great evening meal in the bar & a plentiful breakfast on the next morning. No complaints.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xandalree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we are delighted you enjoyed our hospitality and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kindest Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballynahinch, Down
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We arrived in the Mount Errigal Hotel on the 16-19 March and the reception staff we so friendly and helpful, especially Denise who on a couple of occasions helped us with ideas for days out with two toddlers. On entering the room 505 it smelled so fresh, and thankfully no tobacco smells like many other hotels I have been too. There were 4 beautiful cupcakes waiting on us and it took us all a day or two to finish them due to the sheer size of them lol! The double beds were a bit on the small size but comfortable enough, The room was a great size especially when you have two little ones with all the baggage you have to carry!. The windows thankfully had child locks on them!! The hotel was busy for that weekend as we noticed two bus loads of people in for the St Patrick's Day Celebrations. Even with the amount of people about the breakfast buffet was done very well, the staff although busy were friendly and efficient. We requested a quieter part of the hotel as one of my little ones is a light sleeper and this request was honored it was a lovely part of the hotel. My only problem with the stay was we were to get an evening meal with our stay and on the Saturday one of the staff in the carvery said that we could use the token for the carvery the next day as we didn't want to avail of the three course meal at that time on Saturday and wanted to keep it for a Mother's day treat on the Sunday. But on Sunday when we asked could we use it in the carvery we were told we could only eat in the cafe renaissance. The seating in this part of the hotel was not at all child friendly, big bulky settees and big lounger type seats perfect if you are enjoying pub grub and a beer, not suitable for a two year old and three year old wanting to jump around and waiting on drinks etc to be spilled. We were given our menus which were very limited selection, and waited twenty minutes before anyone even came near us again to take our order (we hadn't even ordered a drink at this point so it wasn't like they were allowing us to finished our first drink before they took our order). The cafe renaissance was busy enough but not enough to lead to poor service there were at least 4 guys serving at the bar. Other people came in and were seated and one of the waiters took one of our menus off us and gave it to them and didn't even ask us had we finished with it or did we want to order. Eventually one of the guys at the bar came over and took our order, we asked for jug of orange juice, a tea and a coke, the orange juice came along with the food, and a pot of tea with no jug of milk and no coke was given to us. We had two kids getting very restless at this time and didn't bother trying to rectify the situation ourselves. The food arrived very quickly and i must say it was absolutely beautiful. It took another 45 minutes before anyone came anywhere near us again, no one asked us did we need anything else, we weren't asked if the food was ok, it was only when Terry McEniff came in and went over to a crowd in the corner that we had someone from the bar come back down, he did give us fresh tea and milk this time but still no coke, the desserts were ok but nothing to write home about. All I can say is over the whole time were stayed in the hotel Terry McEniff was present on a number of occasions but I don't think we looked like very important people as not once did he acknowledge us, he always seemed to be ensuring that the bigger parties were ok. Surely we as a family would be as important as the bigger parties. This eating experience of the holiday was very disappointing. Also always check your bills we were overcharged for a cup of tea and even though it was only 1Euro its still money out of our pockets. One of the guys on our bill was a D Friel as far as I remember well he really was 'frail' at his job! On a better note the swimming pool was fantastic (although the kiddies pool needed a lick of paint) but it was the best kiddies pool I have ever been in. And although there might be a bit of a wait on the family room, it was very useful as I have two girls and my husband wouldn't be happy taking them into the mens changing rooms we were all able to get undressed and ready for the pool without one or the other of my daughters from slipping and hitting their head. as we both could watch them and dress them quickly. Car parking in the evenings can be a problem too but all in all we had a nice time and if the hotel could get the cafe renaissance staff to be as friendly as the breakfast staff (who I must say are mainly women!!) then our weekend would have been perfect.

Things to do with the kids - Arena 7, great wee centre just down the road from the hotel and you get a discount if you are staying in the hotel, the main street of letterkenny a good enough wee walk with the kids but close enough and some lovely eating places there too, shopping is fantastic with many big brand shops nearby, Argos, Boots, TK Max, Tempest, McDonalds, Tescos, Pennys and Dunnes to name a few. The St Patrick's Day celebrations were brilliant for the kids and thoroughly enjoyed them!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 505 and it was spacious and a quiet part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catmck88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. I would like to apologise for your experience in the bar, I admit, it was an extremely busy weekend, however, that is no excuse for the issues you encountered. I have since addressed those issues with the appropriate departments and I can assure you that they will not arise again.
Thank you for your kind comments on our staff, food, location and facilities. I'm sorry Terry McEniff missed you over the weekend, I apologise if you felt that he intentionally did so but I can assure you that that is not the case at all, Terry puts great effort into meeting and greeting the majority of our guests but during extremely busy periods it may be difficult to find the time to speak to everyone.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future

Kind Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My wife and I took advantage of a late deal with Caledonian Travel for a three night stay at this hotel. The coach arrived late on the first evening and we went straight to dinner and we only dealt briefly with Reception to collect room keys. The staff we encountered were friendly and helpful - with a pleasant surprise that so many were Irish. Our set menu was fairly limited but more than adequate. Portions were plentiful and quality good. Room was fairly basic but again very acceptable and clean. The bed was a bit hard but certainly didn't cause us to lose any sleep! Despite a large Irish Dancing competition in the hotel there was no real noise or inconvenience. Some children were running about but nothing out of the ordinary for a family hotel. Only a couple of minor negative comments - the bar area on Friday was awash with dirty glasses and crockery - I think the staff were rushed off their feet at the time; and the restaurant and front area of the hotel were quite cold - we were grateful to the table next to us who sent kids to shut the restaurant door on a number of occasions! The swimming pool was excellent, but we didn't extend to the gym which looked fairly well equipped. All in all we would happily return to this hotel at any time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Homewright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we are delighted you enjoyed our hospitality and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kindest Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

i stayed here for the first time in around 5 years

the hotel is spacious, clean, friendly

its not central to the town but that is no major issue - a short walk into letterkenny

they have the soccer on big screen in the bar

they have free wifi through-out

the food was just basic to be honest


i did have to ask for an electric heater for my bedroom as the heating was off - for some reason......


theyhave plenty of rooms and obviously they dont heat empty rooms - that said - it should be easy enough to remedy


i did not relish the thought of sleeping with an electric heater turned ON in my bedroom and as a result i woke cold -


this hotel will be fine after march and upto septemeber but i wil be careful if checking in again on a cold evening

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciarán R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we are delighted you enjoyed our hospitality and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kindest Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,101 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
0.9 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
1.1 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
3.1 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Errigal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Errigal Hotel

Property: Mount Errigal Hotel
Address: Ballyraine, Letterkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
#6 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Errigal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a great central location, within walking distance of Letterkenny Town, this luxury 3 star hotel and state-of-the-art leisure centre is close to pubs, nightlife, shopping and theatres. Free parking and Wi-Fi. The Mount Errigal Hotel has a leisure centre with a 20-metre swimming pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, steam room, and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mount Errigal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mount Errigal
Mount Errigal Letterkenny
Mount Errigal Hotel Letterkenny, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing