We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Based solely on the Bar!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mount Errigal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Well being from the town I always considered this to be a good restaurant and so on. So last night myself and a friend went for a coffee. Well we decided to get a little desert too and this is where things started to go down hill. Within one simple order of a coffee, cappuccino and two deserts we had to correct them first when they forgot my cappuccino, then let us order deserts from the menu of the previous night leading us to have to re pick, since we had already paid at this point. Then when the deserts eventually arrived, at this point our coffees long since finished, my friend was given the wrong one.
And as if that wasn't enough, well the lemon cheesecake, when she did FINALLY get it was not something I would serve to my dog! The taste of CURD was unforgivable for such a well respected hotel and the biscuit base was not worthy of the name biscuit.
This is one place I will NOT be going back to!!! And as I say being from the area I am very disappointed to be writing this review.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank DonegalDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience in Cafe Renaissance. I am profusely sorry that you were disappointed. It's a pity you did not raise your concerns with us at the hotel, we would have like the opportunity to rectify them with you.
I can assure you that we will try our best to investigate the issues raised, however, this is difficult because we have no record of any complaints relating to yours, nor do we have a date or time.
You can be confident that we will address the appropriate departments and should you give us a second chance, you will see a significant improvement.

Kind Regards
Carolynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,922 - 1,928 of 2,307 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

Hotel bar and lobby were vast and lacked atmosphere. Breakfast was very poor Due to quality of produce ,however the evening meal in the restaurant was excellent .

Room Tip: We were in a rear bedroom above ventilation system, therefore could not open window during the night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawsfearon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you for reviewing your recent dining experience with us. I'm delighted you enjoyed your evening meal. I was dissapointed to read your comment on our breakfast, as you can see, from other reviewers this is not a common complaint, however we will certainly raise your concerns with our Chef to ensure our high standards are met at all times.

Kind Regards
Carolynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This hotel left me very confused. The hotel lobby and restaurant are lovely. Food was gorgeous. No complaints there whatsoever. Staff friendly and Great value! When it came to the rooms however it seemed like a completly different hotel. Rooms in badly need of an update. decor is VERY dated. Extractor in the bathroom is very loud, so much so you can hear it from 2 rooms down. Also the windows could do with a clean! I think i would definitly come back for food but i dont think i would ever stay again.

Room Tip: stay in the hotel down the road,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GQ123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted by your kind comments on our food, staff & value for money. You will be happy to know that we have almost completed the refurbishment of our 'older wing' of bedrooms. These rooms are now of an exceptionally high standard, competing with our popular executive rooms.

I do hope you can give us another chance in the future, I can assure you that you will be impressed with the significant improvements made of late.

Kind Regards
Carolynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Upon arrival we had to make our way through a large group of smokers at the front door (there was a function on that evening). In fairness, I think they were receiving mixed messages from the hotel as right below the 'No Smoking' sign the hotel had thoughtfully provided a large standing ashbin! The lobby therefore stank of smoke and gave a very bad first impression. We has specifically booked a non-smoking room, but were sent up to a spacious but slightly dingy room which stank of stale smoke. Edel at reception could not have been more helpful and sent us off further down the corridor to a sweeter smelling room. However, as this was above the function room which was going to be used for a wedding the next night we were told it would probably get very noisy. They duly moved us to another room (our 3rd and final one) the next morning, and what a difference!! I would strongly recommend that you do not stay in the 'older' part of the hotel - make sure you are in the newer wing as there is a world of a difference. We had dinner in the bar that night and the food was excellent. Likewise, breakfast was great with attentive service and plenty on offer. Our waitress Fiona was a real gem. We enjoyed the pool and our overall stay, but they really need to sort out the problem with stale rooms and second-hand smoke.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the 'older' part. Rooms numbered with 500 or 600 are in the newer wing, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thecraicis90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Firstly, I would like to apologise as regards the issues you encountered. We have since addressed the issues regarding guests smoking near the entrance and we have also addressed smoking & non smoking bedrooms.
You will be happy to know that we have almost completed the refurbishment of the 'older wing' of bedrooms. These rooms are now of an exceptionally high standard and are all non smoking.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards
Carolynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We spent a weekend here on a Living Social deal. From the start the staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. Everyone made an effort to deliver good service with a smile. The hotel is clearly a focal point for night life in this part of Donegal and both nights we stayed the public areas were packed for functions. Despite this there was no overnight noise nuisance, and our bedroom was noticeably quiet and untroubled by passing revellers. Bar food was better than I'd expected considering how busy they were. Breakfasts were very good with a wide range on offer and a good "full Irish". The very attentive servers kept everyone supplied with top ups of coffee and tea. Our room was massive and very clean. Fittings were comfortable though some updating of the decor is needed. The pool is a great size and offers a good length swim. On the day we used it, it was not very busy. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. My only reservation would be that the foyer of the hotel and the dining room are inadequately lit. A sombre colour scheme doesn't help. But this is a minor issue as basically this hotel has its heart in the right place.

Room Tip: Room 601 offers ample space and a quiet overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tripstaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we are delighted by your review. I have taken on board your comments regarding lighting in the foyer area, we have since addressed this and you will see a vast improvement when you join us again in the near future.

Warmest Regards
Carolynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

A large hotel made exceptional by the friendliness and sheer good-nature of the staff. The food was an eye-opener, we had dinner in the restaurant and the food was excellent, as was the lunch we had there the next day. The wine list is quite small but we had a bottle of the white Rioja which again was excellent. great value.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knowledgeseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2012

Thanks a million for your kind comments, we are delighted by your review & we look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Kind Regards
Carolynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Went back to this hotel for one night in March 2012 having stayed there before in May 2011. It was still as good as last year. We had a great evening meal in the bar & a plentiful breakfast on the next morning. No complaints.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xandalree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we are delighted you enjoyed our hospitality and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kindest Regards
Carolynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,159 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
0.9 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
379 reviews
1.1 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
3.1 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Errigal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Errigal Hotel

Address: Ballyraine, Letterkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
#6 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range: £43 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Errigal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a great central location, within walking distance of Letterkenny Town, this luxury 3 star hotel and state-of-the-art leisure centre is close to pubs, nightlife, shopping and theatres. Free parking and Wi-Fi. The Mount Errigal Hotel has a leisure centre with a 20-metre swimming pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, steam room, and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mount Errigal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mount Errigal
Mount Errigal Letterkenny
Mount Errigal Hotel Letterkenny, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing