We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Errigal Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We stayed at the Mount Errigal Hotel last Saturday night, we arrived early so thought that we would need to leave our bags behind reception however our room was ready. The lady on reception was very friendly and when asked gave us the directions into the town centre, it's a good 10 - 15 minutes’ walk away which is not a problem.

Our room was very nice, we were lucky enough to stay in the suite which was spacious and very comfortable. A great feature of the room was the Jacuzzi / steam bath/sauna in the bathroom. The way I would describe it is as a mini tardis from Doctor Who! The only downfall with this was there was no instructions on how to use it but I must admit it was fun pressing all the different buttons and seeing what happened next!

Before dinner we had drinks in the bar, staff were friendly and it was easy to get a seat. There were plenty of people in the bar too which gave the place a good atmosphere.

We ate dinner in the restaurant which I must say was the best thing about the hotel, we got a table next to the open fire which had a great ambience. The food itself was excellent, service very attentive and friendly. I would imagine it would be the sort of place that would also attract a lot of locals as well as residents.

After dinner we went back into the bar for a few more drinks, the atmosphere was good, plenty of locals and residents alike. There was a live singer playing and the whole place had a real good feel to it. It's good to see a place busy and full of life in today’s climate, some hotel bars can be very empty and boring.

Breakfast was again in the restaurant, the food was good however the time we came down was extremely busy, obviously everyone had decided to eat breakfast at the same time! The staff handled it very well though, they remained friendly to every guest and were always around to top you up with tea/coffee and bring you toast if required.

Overall we had a great stay at the Mount Errigal Hotel, we would definitely return if in the same area again.

Thank you to all of the staff who made our stay very pleasurable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulToner2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Thanks a million for your detailed, positive review! We are delighted by your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warmest Regards
Carolynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,275)
There are newer reviews for Mount Errigal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,749 - 1,755 of 2,275 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2012

We took the kids to the Mount Errigal Santa experience, and what an experience it was! Santa was fantastic. He spent ages chatting to the kids, who were amazed that he had come to see them in our room and knew all about them! The hot chocolate & cookies, cinema room and colouring pages too made it a lovely treat for the children.
The hotel itself overall was good. It's undergoing renovations at the moment so part of the pool area was closed but we enjoyed the main pool. Changing rooms were freezing though! Reception area, bar & restaurant were all well presented. Our room was more than big enough for 4 of us, with 2 double beds and a single. Although there were no ashtrays in the room in reeked of smoke - even the furniture - and there were cigarette butts lying outside the window, obviously having been thrown out by previous occupants.
We ate in the hotel as we had to be in our room for our visit from Santa, taking advantage of the special family meal offer. Opinions of the food were mixed.
Overall I would return to Mount Errigal again but would go out to eat.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank TheGrahamsNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay. I'm delighted you enjoyed the Santa experience, it was a great success!
As regards your dining experience, we will certainly take your comments on board.

We look forward to your return

Kind Regards
Carolynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Bought a recent Groupon deal, for a Santa experience within the hotel.
The hotel receptionist was fab- she gave us the agenda - we filled in the information so Santa knew all information on the kids- we received a Santa letter colouring in pencils & a voucher to receive hot choc & cookies-
Santa came to our hotel room & was such an experience as the kids were amazed how Santa knew all about them- he left them a present, then we went down to bar area- the staff again couldn't be more helpful as I needed to use wifi & was having problems logging on-
We had the hot choc & cookies - then to be amazed that the evening hadn't finished as the hotel had put on a movie in function room set up like a cinema .

I believe this hotel couldn't have actually of delivered any more to make the stay such an experience.

Looking forward to more Groupon deals & thanks to all the staff x

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

On behalf of the team here, thank you for taking time out to review your recent stay! We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us & we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

we stayed recently in mount errigal hotel letterkenny lovely warm room had a swim in the pool great breakfast nice bar couple of pints of guiness had table in bar just in front of fire very relaxing family enjoyed swim and free wi fi. staff nothing a problem will be back soon and definitely be in for pint at donegal rally .

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rallywd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

This is the first time I have used this hotel and certainly won't be the last. My 3 girlfriends and I just had the loveliest relaxing stay at Mount Errigal. We booked the SATC package and were not disappointed. The hotel is really beautiful with big welcoming fires and really cosy armchairs and attentive and very welcoming staff. Rooms were very nice and spotless. The spa treatment (inc in package) was heavenly just a pity we didn't book more but the pool, steam room and jacuzzi were sooooo relaxing. Our meal was booked for 7.45pm and we were taken straight to our table and presented with Cosmopolitans (incl in package) and a terrific choice of menu. Food was gorgeous and staff were so attentive. Bar staff very friendly and again big fire and cosy chairs and entertainment rounded off a great night. Upon checking out the receptionist informed us that we had not taken our cupcakes again in the package, and suggested we have a seat by the fire and she would arrange tea/coffee and the cupcakes to be served. All in all one of the best stays in a hotel I have had for a very long time and would not hesitate to recommend Mount Errigal as a great place to stay. In fact I have just booked my son and his wife in for a Winter Warmer package in January(Christmas pressie) Im sure they will have as wonderful a stay as my friends and I had. I hope to go back with my husband in February. Anne. Co. Tyrone

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANNE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

On behalf of the team here, thank you for taking time out to review your recent stay! We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us & we look forward to your return.

Warmest Regards
Carolynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Spent weekend here with husband and two children, we spent most of the time in the pool. We all really enjoyed it -pool staff very accomodating getting floats and rings for kids to play with. Special mention to C.J (pool attendant) really pleasant and helpful. Food lovely never seen staff work at such speed ensuring meals arrived on time. Unbelievable queue for breakfast Sunday morning but staff coped well. We hope to go back beginning January.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamison09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

On behalf of the team here, thank you for taking time out to review your recent stay! We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us & we look forward to your return.

Warmest Regards
Carolynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

This is the second time we have stayed here. We have had a fabulous time both times. Would highly recommend it for both couples and families. All the staff are both helpful and friendly. My middle child is special needs but the staff took time to listen and understand him. The leisure facilities are also great. My children love going down for a swim etc. they have entertainment in the bar of an evening and they don't mind if you get up for a dance. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie_halliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Thanks so much for your encouraging review! We are delighted you had a great time.

We look forward to seeing you & your family again soon!

Kind Regards
Carolynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,134 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
0.9 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
1.1 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
3.1 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Errigal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Errigal Hotel

Address: Ballyraine, Letterkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
#6 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range: £44 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Errigal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a great central location, within walking distance of Letterkenny Town, this luxury 3 star hotel and state-of-the-art leisure centre is close to pubs, nightlife, shopping and theatres. Free parking and Wi-Fi. The Mount Errigal Hotel has a leisure centre with a 20-metre swimming pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, steam room, and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mount Errigal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mount Errigal
Mount Errigal Letterkenny
Mount Errigal Hotel Letterkenny, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing