We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise when window open.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mount Errigal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Noise when window open.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

The food again is out standing for our evening meals we stayed two nights, breakfast too.
Our room top floor at the back, with the window open it was noisy, the room was hot with it closed, so don't have a room at the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: Dont have a room at the back of the hotel when its warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogthehat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,076
    570
    251
    140
    115
See reviews for
803
745
33
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
n.ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed here for a three night break. On the minus side the hotel could do with a little bit of TLC, a lick of paint etc. Breakfast was ok but not great. On the plus side staff were very friendly and helpful. Evening meal in restaurant was excellent as were the bar meals. Great location for touring Donegal and the beautiful Glenveagh National Park. Overall an enjoyable break and good value for money..

Room Tip: Front rooms can be noisy as the road is busy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earlshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thanks a million for taking time out to review your recent stay with us, we are delighted we impressed you & we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow - Ireland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Got a great deal with the Supervalu getawaybreaks. For the price we paid I felt it suited us perfect, Stayed for 2 nights and found the hotel very close to town centre and all the amenities Letterkenny has to offer. Staff friendly. Rooms are a very good size. Breakfast in the morning was fine with a good choice. Would stay again if visiting Letterkenny.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishNicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking time out to review your recent stay with us, we are delighted you were impressed & we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Needed somewhere to stay as I had an interview in Letterkenny the next day, so not holidaying. Overall the hotel could so with a good lick of paint and a bit of redecoration, its quite dated. That said, they seem to have re-done the carpets so maybe its on its way. Regardless, the room was very clean and comfortable so I don't mind the old fashioned look, it did the job nicely. Breakfast was awful. We waited a long while for tea to be served which was pretty much just water. The table beside us repeatedly asked for tea and had finished eating by the time it arrived and just left. Scrambled eggs looked like plastic and porridge seemed to be solid. The food was all over done and seemed to have been sitting out for a long time. The hotel was clean and if you just need somewhere to stay its fine, but if you enjoy a good breakfast prepare to be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking time out to review your stay. I'm sorry to read that you were not overly impressed. Since your stay, you will be happy to know that we have also painted all our corridors, I agree, during the time you stayed, our main corridor was looking a little tired after the busy summer season. My apologies as regards your experience at breakfast, I will certainly communicate this to our team and look at ways in which we can improve.

We hope you will give us a second chance, I'm confident you will be very impressed on your next stay.

Kind Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed at the Mount Errigal on Friday night last. Booked double room for 2 people and requested a 'quiet room'. Was allocated 1st floor room at front of hotel. Our 'double' room was equipped with no less than 3 double beds - all packed tightly together. Bathroom was tiny and the door on the in-bath shower made a terrifying noise when moved. The room was anything but quiet and we were awoken early by a large group of early departing guests just under our window.
Breakfast was very poor - orange juice was undrinkable and you could play ping-pong with the black pudding!
Overall we were very disappointed with this hotel. It needs serious upgrading bo make it value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
I'm very dis-heartened to read your review this morning. I hope you can accept my apology on this occasion. It is not often we get such negative feedback, we are often commended for our value for money.
I will certainly take on board your comments.

Kind Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

My family stayed 2 nights using the "All in Family Deal" which included breakfast, dinner and use of the leisure club. We arrived during a feis (Irish dance competition), which thrilled my girls who are also Irish dancers.

Our room was very large - I believe it was a Master Suite - with a king bed and two twin beds brought in for the girls.

The leisure club had recently been refurbished and was so well equipped; I loved that it had a separate kiddie pool.

The breakfast buffet was large, with plenty of options including everything you need for a "Irish Breakfast" as well as pastries, cereal and fruit.

A special menu for the family package had a main entree and desert for the kids with a starter and main entree for the adults. A small menu, but still plenty of options and very large portions.

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel and will return.

Room Tip: If traveling with kids be sure to request a family room. You will appreciate the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishgrl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thanks a Million for your review

Kind Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal, Donegal, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Both myself and my fiance stayed at this hotel last weekend we had a great time and could not ask for better staff and hotel half the time people stay at hotels and never post comments and give credit where it is due where do i start ,ok the bar staff they were great tendin to everyones need a quick as possible and always had a smile from the start of the shift to the end of the shift the the food what can i say it was better than great and the new grill they have bought is a great asset to the hotel because the food was outstandin and brought out very promptly we couldnt fault either of these 2 things and the service was great and made for a very relaxing stay.

From the minute we checked in the staff couldnt do enough for us roison i think her name was at the desk couldnt do enough for us and was very well upto date on everything in the hotel and area more times than enough when you stay in hotels nowadays they just take your booking and take your money and are not interested but the staff in the errigal are a credit to terry lol i think thats the owners name we stayed in room in the 600s and the rooms are clean and spacious it was quite and great we had a really nice time in this hotel and if you looking for a hotel in the letterkenny area to stay in deffo book the mount errigal and you will have a great time we have booked to return in a few weeks and are looking forward to going back

Room Tip: All rooms are great but ones in 600s are great and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you so much for your very positive review, reviews like yours make all our efforts very worthwhile & we appreciate the time you took out of your busy day to leave such feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Kindest regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#5 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
0.9 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
1.1 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
3.1 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Errigal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Errigal Hotel

Property: Mount Errigal Hotel
Address: Ballyraine, Letterkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
#6 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Errigal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a great central location, within walking distance of Letterkenny Town, this luxury 3 star hotel and state-of-the-art leisure centre is close to pubs, nightlife, shopping and theatres. Free parking and Wi-Fi. The Mount Errigal Hotel has a leisure centre with a 20-metre swimming pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, steam room, and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Errigal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mount Errigal
Mount Errigal Letterkenny
Mount Errigal Hotel Letterkenny, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing