We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“badly needed decorated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mount Errigal Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

we stayed one night and it was enough.The room was big but had the tiniest window as there was a heatwave was unbearable.We were on top floor which had only one lift which held about 4 people.Wifi didn't work we told the reception she was quite abrupt told us bring our device down.The breakfast was a free for all no clean tables not enough staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Lizmc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,275)
There are newer reviews for Mount Errigal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,421 - 1,427 of 2,275 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

four of us (two couple) stayed midweek in two rooms for two nights. the check in was fast and efficient. lots of info was given about the hotel facilities and even the local events when checking in which was useful. rooms were clean and reasonable size. used the spa facilties and pool. clean and not very crowded as it was midweek. bar was good and service excellent.
i would say the only negative would be the notice in the room indicating charge of 5 euro as corking charge for providing glasses and ice. the location was also good, easy to get into town from

Room Tip: take your own glasses and bottle openers if you want to avoid the corking charge :-)
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Very nice stay, super pool and steam room - the jacuzzi was also fun.
The staff were also very friendly, so would recommend. The only downside being the rather large wedding party also staying , which made breakfast a lilttle chaotic - bit the staff tried their best.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 667Barclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Great hotel good location brilliant staff nothing to much trouble. Very good food you won't go hungry here. All round a great stay. Good access to all northern areas plus every thing you need locally. Can not think of anything negative to say except that parking can be a problem if the hotel is busy.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stonned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is the second year that our club has brought teams to stay for the foyle cup. This year over 110 players and 20 coaches stayed for the duration of the tournament. From the receptionists and bar staff to the chef, managers and owner, this hotel knows how to provide high quality customer service with a smile. None of our requests were any bother. Lunch and dinners times and specific dietary requests were changed to suit individual player needs without hesitation whether we were sitting in or taking a packed lunch. Top quality food on offer at evey meal and a diverse selection to cater for everyone. Fantastic leisure facilities and patient staff accommodating our excitable youngsters. The rooms were all clean and spacious. We're already looking forward to next years expedition and our stay at the fabulous Mount Errigal Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SOPFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014

Thanks a million for your positive feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Warmest Regards
Carolynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We chose to stay here for a family break, don't think we'll return. Food service was slow and food Itself was below standard of a 3star hotel. The room was pokey and bedsheets stained (new linen wouldnt go amiss) the lady on reception was delightful however. Bar staff were slow to serve I almost felt like I was putting them out asking for a drink. Nice enough location just a pity the stay didn't live up to our expectations.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Noplacelikehome61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

I'm very saddened to read your review today, I apologise that on this occasion, you were not impressed with various aspects of your stay.
I sincerely wish you had raised your concerns directly to us, giving us the opportunity to rectify them with you. On check out, you would have been asked if you enjoyed your stay, I can only assume you said you did at this stage, otherwise a member of our management team would have been alerted.
We have no details of when you stayed, so it is very difficult to pin point the issues raised and address them accordingly, however, we will take your feedback on board and continue our efforts in providing top class hospitality for our guests.

We hope you will visit again, I'm confident you will be impressed.

Kind Regards
Carolynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Will not be staying here again.We took our two children here for two nights.Booked online a family room.Paid extra for my 16 year old to stay in the room with us plus paid another bit for an upgrade.My 16 year old had to share a bed with her 7 year old brother.As the "upgraded" family room consisted of two very small double beds. Weather was really clammy and warm.Though we be ok if we opened the windows.Windows were screwed shut as they were broken so with no air conditioning or windows that opened it was really too hot to stay in let alone sleep in.We also found a half chewed biscuit on one of the lockers from previous guests.Service in the bar was slow.Felt like I was diturbing the barstaff when ordering a drink.Needless to say we wont be back.I sent the hotel an email after but have yet to hear back from them.That was 3 weeks ago. Very bad experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking time out to review your recent stay. I'd like to apologise for the issues you raised here and I'd also like to clarify that we did not receive any feedback from you, we checked all our review records and we could not find anything relative to the issues you raised. We are consistent at responding to all guest comments, reviews & feedback.
When you would have booked the family room, it would have been clarified that all our family rooms have two standard double beds, I can only assume that this point that you did not request an extra single bed. When you checked in to your room, and were unhappy with the bed arrangement, you should have called us and we would have been happy to add an extra single bed.
I'm confused as regards your comment on the windows being 'screwed' shut; this is not the case in any of our bedrooms. Each bedroom will have a safety latch that will allow the window to open so far, for safety reasons; there is nothing we can do on that front. We have been lucky to get fantastic weather here in Donegal of late, for this reason, we purchased enough fans for our 140 bedrooms, had you raised concerns about heat, we would have been happy to provide one.
I apologise about the biscuit found in the drawer in the bedroom, this is unacceptable. I spoke to our housekeeping manager about how this may have happened, especially since we have a rigorous cleaning schedule for each room, followed by detailed checks. She suspects that the only way this could have happened is if a guest was checked into a room, and then immediately wanted to change rooms due to bed arrangement, view or distance from reception, that the room may have been allocated to a new guest, without the detailed checks required – this can happen easily if the housekeeping team are not informed by reception, so I do apologise.
As you can see from the majority of review on this site, the majority of guests are very impressed with our standards in service, cleanliness, food & staff. I'm sorry that on this occasion we let you down. I can assure you, your next stay will enjoyable and you will see a great improvement in comparison to your most recent stay.

Kind Regards
Carolynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
0.9 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
1.1 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
3.1 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Errigal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Errigal Hotel

Address: Ballyraine, Letterkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
#6 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range: £44 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Errigal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a great central location, within walking distance of Letterkenny Town, this luxury 3 star hotel and state-of-the-art leisure centre is close to pubs, nightlife, shopping and theatres. Free parking and Wi-Fi. The Mount Errigal Hotel has a leisure centre with a 20-metre swimming pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, steam room, and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mount Errigal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mount Errigal
Mount Errigal Letterkenny
Mount Errigal Hotel Letterkenny, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing