We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good city centre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mount Errigal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Rooms clean and well equipped. Staff friendly and helpful. Food excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindalyddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2010

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay, we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Warmest Regards
Carolynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,137 - 2,143 of 2,293 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2010

I think the title says it all: what a terrible, terrible hotel! It might have been nice in the late '60s-'70s, but it desperately needs some refurbishment and renovation. Wallpaper coming off the walls, chipped windows covered in birds excrements, mould everywhere..

We were there for 11-12th July weekend and had booked a 2-night stay with evening meal. It was supposed to be a relaxing break, but it turned out to be so disappointing! Our room was just dreadful: walls drilled everywhere, lights not working, toilet seat stained, the shower head was so covered in mould that no water came out of it, and those few drops were very cold. There was a gap between the shower head and the wall, and I've never seen such dirt, plenty of dust and spider webs. There were two double beds, not very big nor comfortable. Neither of us is very fussy, so we only reported the broken shower to reception, which was fixed during the day.

When we tried to get in the room the second day the door wouldn't open; I have to say the poor lad sent to have a look tried his best, but nothing seemed to work: he had to unscrew the door lock. It took us about 35 minutes to get in the room. We had left the windows closed in the morning, as we were on the ground floor overlooking the busy car park, but we found them open. Reception apologised and offered us an upgrade to an executive room; it surprised me that there's no lift to the executive rooms, which are supposed to be the best in the hotel. Room was nicer, but still not worth the money we had paid: the toilet seat was broken and they seem to have a constant problem with mould everywhere! I have to say Orla at reception was very helpful and friendly, she offered us an upgrade without us asking and was very apologetic.

Breakfast was nice both mornings, even if a few more lights would be nice. We found the service very poor: both mornings we were only offered toast/tea n coffee whenever we were about to leave; it was quite busy, but not mad. We had dinner the second night. By this stage we were so upset we didn't even order a drink, cause we just didn't want to give them any extra money! Again, service was miserable: our order was taken farly quick, but it took us about 20 minutes to get some water. Nobody seemed to care and it took us 2.15 hours to have a starter, main and dessert. Food was ok, but the menu very poor. If you happen to be in Letterkenny do yourself a favour and go dining at La Fantasia: absolutely superb!

One of the reasons we had booked the Errigal was the spa. Again, it might have been nice 40 years ago, but it's ridiculous now! The sauna and steam room very pretty nice, but the water in the jacuzzi and main pool was very cold; walls need painted badly and - again - mould everywhere!

We had a nice time in Letterkenny, DESPITE the Errigal. I am just sorry we had paid cash upon arrival, 'cause the state of our first room would have given us a lot of room for a proper complaint.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrazyKitty81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2010

Dear CrazyKitty81

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay on Tripadvisor. I sincerely wish you had raised these issues during your stay because according to our records you were only moved because there was a problem with your shower. Having investigated your complaint thoroughly please see below our findings...
1 - As regards refurbishing of bedrooms we are currently in the process of this, most of our bedrooms are of a very high standard and I am glad you enjoyed the comforts of our Executive Rooms.
2 - Having looked at the two rooms you stayed in we found no evidence of Birds Excrement or chipped windows, our windows are cleaned inside and outside regularly, so we apologise if you encountered Birds Excrement on the outside of your window, however it is impossible to clean our windows outside every day.
3 - As regards 'walls drilled everywhere' we recently had new 32Inch HD Ready Plasma Screens put into the bedrooms and they required a new wall bracket. As I said earlier, we are in the process of renovating these bedrooms, many have been completed, I apologise that you were unhappy with the 6 very small drill holes in your room.
4 - The Shower was not covered in Mould, we regularly treat our shower heads because of the quality of the water locally. The water locally is considered 'hard water' which sometimes creates a build up, however we are dealing with this regularly and we have systems in place to minimize inconvenience caused by it.
5 - I apologise regarding the issue with your room key, on the day this happened we did have a temporary problem with our system.
6 - The room you were allocated initially was not on the ground floor although you may have thought it was because it is on the same level as our reception. I apologise that our housekeeper left your window open, they sometimes do that during their service to let some fresh air into the bedroom.
7 - Your claims as regards 'Mould everywhere' is totally unfounded, we have checked all the areas you mentioned and we have found no evidence whatsoever as regards this.
8 - On the weekend you stayed we were fully booked. Breakfast can be busy especially if you decide to come down at the peak time which is between 9.30 and 10am, I apologise that you were not offered Tea & Coffee immediately, this should not have happened and I am very sorry about this.
9 - You said you spent 2 hours and 15 minutes in the restaurant having your dinner, I apologise that you feel this was because of the speed of service. We like our diners to enjoy their meal fully and we often find that our dinner guests usually like to spend a fair amount of time enjoying the ambience of our restaurant Strawberry Garden and often ask our staff for some time between courses because it is a four course meal.
10 - We very rarely get complaints about our Leisure Centre, I'm sorry that you felt it was in need of updating, guests often 'rave' about our modern facilities. As regards the temperature of the Pool, this is an uncommon complaint also but if you use the Sauna or Steam Room and immediately use the Pool, it may seem colder initially.

Thank you for your kind comments on our staff, executive rooms, Breakfast and food. I really wish you had raised your issues with our management and had given us the opportunity to rectify the situation, it is very disappointing that you wrote such a bad report on Tripadvisor when all the genuine issues you raised could have been sorted out immediately.

I do hope you give us a chance in the future to show you our newly refurbished bedrooms.

Warmest Regards
Carolynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Stayed here with my partner for our anniversary at the start of July. We were concerned when we arrived because it was difficult to get a parking space and the hotel seemed extremely busy, however, we noticed they had additional parking across the road which was fine. When we checked in the receptionist was very polite, she congratulated us on our anniversary and told us that the management had upgraded us for free which was a lovely surprise! When we entered our room we were surprised to see a bottle of bubbly...now that is what you call service! The room was spacious and overlooked the front of the hotel and in the distance there was nice views of the hills (once you look past the large carpark). The room felt really fresh and clean and had a new flat screen TV. The food was of an excellent standard, only draw back was the service was a little slow due to it being so busy and the waitress did seem a little stressed but it did not take any enjoyment away from our experience. The staff in the hotel are lovely and couldn't be more helpful. .. Id without a thought stay in this hotel again for the hospitality and service i was given. Great Great weekend......

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzzimck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2010

Dear Suzzi

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am very happy that we were able to make your anniversary memorable. The Management and Staff of the hotel will be delighted by your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon

Kind Regards
Carolynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

This is a very classy hotel, relaxing and the perfect place for a getaway break.The food was great, i highly recommend the bar food. And no better way to start the day than with a delicious breakfast with all u could eat. My partner found the health suite, swimming pool and gym very impressive. It was situated in a quiet area. It was very close to the town. Also the staff were very helpful and friendly. All in all it was a ten outa ten break. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stacestarCoalisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

great dinner offers from Mon till Thursday,great base for touring,lovely helpful staff and food was brilliant,staff didnt have a clue about wine though I ordered a white and they kept bringing red and then small bottles

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heather1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

i have stayed in many hotels with my husband and kids over the last few years and this was by far the best.the service was excellent and the staff were extremely friendly.the rooms were of good size and i found it really clean.anything that was requested of staff was done immediately and with pleasure and the facilities in the building were amazing. everything u could possible want and more is in this hotel.the only downside was that i had to come home!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonyawebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2010

Dear Tonya

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay, we are delighted you enjoyed your time at the hotel. Thank you very much for naming us as one of the best hotels you have stayed in, that is a great compliment and we really appreciate it. I am glad you found our service and staff to be great, they will be delighted to read your review.

I look forward to welcoming you again soon

Kind Regards
Carolynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We stayed here 2 nights, 11/12th July, and the hotel was fully booked for the week, as there were requests at reception when we were checking in to move rooms. They could not be accommadated because of this. We stayed here previously in Oct 05, so there were bound to be some changes in the Hotel. We were allocated a ground floor room, facing the car park, which wasn't the most private....The room was a good size, but the 2 double beds were extremely small, and too soft and the pillows, even using 2, useless. The bathroom was very small, with signs of wear around the bath, the toliet roll holder came off the wall! I reported the lights in the room to reception on the Mon, and some were fixed when we returned to the room, but still were flickering. Prob an electrical fault. It was lovely to be woken before 8am by the children next door bouncing off the walls.....Breakfast was very good considering.....plenty to choose from and warm. But the clientele......I was constantly elbowed in the back trying to get breakfast on the Tues morning,.due to breakfast being self service, when I asked the offfending person what was she doing, she laughed and said she knew she was doing it!! Again, I can't fault the hotel and the staff, who were remarkably cheery considering the free for all going on with the screaming families....Foolishly we would never have dreamt the hotel would be so busy, it's fine for families, but certainly not for couples expecting a relaxing breakfast....I wouldn't rule out another visit, but will have to try and get when all the school are returned!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belfastgal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am very sorry that you were not overly impressed with certain aspects of your room. The room you stayed in is the older part of the hotel and we are currently in the process of refurbishing these rooms in blocks.
I apologise that you experienced noise from adjacent bedrooms in the morning, I would also like to apologise as regards the other guest at breakfast. I am disapoointed as regards the headline of your review because you mentioned that you could not 'fault' the hotel or staff and that you would return so I assume your headline is relating to the other guest at Breakfast.

I really do hope you give us another chance in the future, we are a very large hotel with 140 bedrooms, large leisure centre comprising 22m Pool, Sauna, Steam Room, Jacuzzi, Gym & Spa, we also have 9 purpose built conference and events suite - it can get very busy at peak times which adds to the atmosphere of the hotel.

Kind Regards
Carolynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,147 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
0.9 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
369 reviews
1.1 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
3.1 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Errigal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Errigal Hotel

Address: Ballyraine, Letterkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
#6 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range: £37 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Errigal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a great central location, within walking distance of Letterkenny Town, this luxury 3 star hotel and state-of-the-art leisure centre is close to pubs, nightlife, shopping and theatres. Free parking and Wi-Fi. The Mount Errigal Hotel has a leisure centre with a 20-metre swimming pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, steam room, and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mount Errigal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mount Errigal
Mount Errigal Letterkenny
Mount Errigal Hotel Letterkenny, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing