We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No heating, cold showers and tough steak”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mount Errigal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“No heating, cold showers and tough steak”
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Hey booked romantic night online with partner. Arrived at hotel and the up graded room that we had booked had been given to another couple. we were gutted but were given a less equiped room. To be honest the room was very clean just so noisy from traffic outside and the band playing.
Dinner was 53 Euro and neither of us could cut the steak it was so tough. Really cold night with no heating. I shut every open window along our corridor.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funkeeslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2010
Dear Funkeeslave

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Mount Errigal Hotel. Our records show that on the evening you arrived you were indeed dissappointed because the upgrade you had booked was not available, however, we did offer you a free upgrade to an executive suite and you happily accepted that.

We have since rectified the problem with the booking of the Suites and I can assure you that overbooking will not happen again. I'm dissapointed that you did not raise the issue as regards Heat in the room, we would have dealt with this immediately - on the night you stayed it was generally warm throughout the hotel and we had numerous requests for fans in the bedrooms - I'm sorry that you found it to be cold.

As regards dinner, I'm very sorry you were dissappointed and that you did not speak to one of our managers. We often get great compliments about our food and on the night you dined we had no complaints at all.
I believe Orla checked you out and she asked you if everything was ok with your stay to which you replied, 'yes everything was fine'.
I sincerely wish you had raised these issues with us prior to leaving, we do hope you give us another chance in the future and I personally would like the chance to speak to you about your recent stay and apologise.

KInd Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,088
    577
    256
    140
    116
See reviews for
818
752
34
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cavan, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Just back from a four day stay in the Mount Erigal with my husband and four kids and couldnt have been happier with the hotel!The staff are a credit to themselves and the hotel. Will definetly be back! Well done Erigal.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineCooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2010
Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at the Mount Errigal Hotel. I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, I assume your were on our popular 'Kidz' package...this package has been a great 'hit' with families this summer and I am glad it met your expectations.

We are very lucky to be able to offer discounts for Bowling at Arena 7, Waynes World and Century Cinema's and for any time between activites the Kids can enjoy our Leisure Centre or our InHouse Cinema!

We look forward to welcoming you all again very soon!

Kind Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co.Meath
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Bedrooms could do with being updated but apart from that we had no problems.Every morning the cleaners were cleaning top to bottom.(I COULD DO WITH THEM HERE AT HOME). Food was excellent.Good value for money.Fantastic breakfast.A wide range of food and as much as you could eat.My daughter enjoyed the movie that they put on for the children during the week.She also enjoyed the pool everyday.The staff at the pool were very helpful and friendly.
Any of the staff that we had dealings with in the hotel were more than helpful.And we will be going back again.........THIS IS THE DAUGHTER -i would like to thank the staff for a great stay in the hotel i also love the pool and the movie.

HOPE YOU ENJOY YOUR STAY

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinkle9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are absolutely delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, our staff will be very happy to hear your review! Thank you for your kind comments as regards our Food, Bedrooms and Leisure Centre! Miss Hughes, thank you for your kind words also, be sure to let us know when you are returning so we can make sure we have another Cinema Night arranged ;-) . We look forward to welcoming you all back in the near future!

Warmest Regards
Carolynne & all the Staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We have recently returned from a short break in this hotel and would definitely recommend it.
The leisure centre was well equipped and had a hot Jacuzzi with a mild temperature pool.
The breakfasts were great with as much as you could eat. Cranberry juice was the only thing missing for me!
The inclusive dinner had a wide choice of dishes and the wine was reasonably priced.
We enjoyed both steak and roast of the day. They have a great comfortable, outdoor area for smoking/eating, relaxing when the sun shines!
The room was large and the beds comfortable. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. All in all a great place to stay in Letterkenny! Very good value for money!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bangorgirl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am delighted you enjoyed our Leisure Facilities, Sun Terrace, Food and Staff - we are very proud of our staff at the Mount Errigal and thankful that we have such a genuine team of people who care dearly about our guests enjoyment!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Kind Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I stayed with a group of 13 friends. We arrived late which we had made the hotel aware of and after booking in, found that the only food available was dessert. We had travelled almost 4 hours after a day's work, so needed something more. We ended up ordering a takeaway! The local takeaway wasn't slow to take €100 from our group. We would have been happy with sandwiches but we were told the kitchen was closed. We were amused to see piles of rashers and plenty of toast the following morning, pity there wasn't some enterprising person there to see this opportunity.
The rooms were clean & spacious but the decor is a little dated. Breakfast was great & the friendly staff would entice me to return

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galway10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2010
Thank you for your recent review, following our correspondance via email we have spoken to our staff about providing sandwiches after hours and this is now readily available. I apologise profusely that you were refused and can understand your frustration after having travelled quite a distance.
Thank you for bringing this to our attention and thank you for your kind comments as regards our clean bedrooms, food & staff!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Warmest Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We were made very welcome by the staff. The rooms were very clean and tidy and the food was excellent. Do I need to say anymore

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rayhill68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2010
Thank you Ray for your kind comments about our Staff, Food and Clean Rooms, we are very lucky to have such a great staff team, they will be delighted by your comments!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Kind Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyddington
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Rooms clean and well equipped. Staff friendly and helpful. Food excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindalyddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay, we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Warmest Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
0.9 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
1.1 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
3.1 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Errigal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Errigal Hotel

Property: Mount Errigal Hotel
Address: Ballyraine, Letterkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
#6 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Errigal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a great central location, within walking distance of Letterkenny Town, this luxury 3 star hotel and state-of-the-art leisure centre is close to pubs, nightlife, shopping and theatres. Free parking and Wi-Fi. The Mount Errigal Hotel has a leisure centre with a 20-metre swimming pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, steam room, and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Errigal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mount Errigal
Mount Errigal Letterkenny
Mount Errigal Hotel Letterkenny, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing