We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further if you want a hotel in Donegal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mount Errigal Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Look no further if you want a hotel in Donegal”
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Booked the Mount Errigal Hotel for two nights B&B and one 4 course Dinner. I thought the deal represented very good value for money and was impressed by both the Hotels Website and independent reviews. I have to say we were not disappointed. The room was probably the largest Hotel room Ive stayed in and the double bed was again probably the largest Hotel bed Ive slept in! The staff we encountered during the duration of our stay were very friendly and the receptionist was very informative with regard to restaurant reccommendations. We ate in the Hotel on the Saturday night and our meal could not be faulted. Portions were very generous and the service was excellent. During our meal a gentleman asked was everything to our satisfaction. When we asked our waiter who this gentleman was we were informed it was the Hotel owner. A very nice gesture I thought. All in all my partner and I were very happy with our stay in the Mount Errigal, we look forward to returning and would have no hesitation in reccommending it to family and friends. P McC Belfast

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Modric14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Mount Errigal Hotel. I am very happy that you appreciated our efforts in giving the best possible value to our guests whilst maintaining our top class service.
We are delighted by your comments on our staff & bedrooms, thank you also on your comments as regards Terry McEniff the hotel owner checking that everything was ok throughout your stay. We are a family run hotel and the owners take great pride in what we offer our guests and they enjoy meeting and greeting their guests personally.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future

Warmest Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,118
    594
    273
    146
    122
See reviews for
844
784
38
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strabane, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Had a very enjoyable time during our stay. Our meal in the Strawberry Garden Restaurant was excellent and all the staff were very friendly. The Manager/Owner coming around enquiring about our stay provided a lovely personal touch. It also worked out great value for money with kids staying free and extensive leisure facilities available. All in all everyone was more than satisfied.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan209945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and I would like to thank you for your kind comments on our food, staff, value for money and leisure centre facilities. The gentleman you met at breakfast is indeed the owner of the hotel, Terry McEniff. Terry enjoys talking to his guests regularly to ensure they are having an enjoyable, comfortable and relaxing stay - he will be very happy with your comments as will our entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Warmest Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

I find most of the reviews for this hotel so far to be unhelpful to tripadvisor readers - both the ones lauding and eulogising the excellence and luxury of the hotel (imagined or otherwise) and those denigrating the hotel or ranting off about some deficiency they encountered (imagined or otherwise). The hotel must be put into it's context in order to understand if it is somewhere you would like to stay. Basically, the Mount Errigal is your average three star Irish hotel, the type you find in most Irish towns and cities; comfortable, clean, functional, friendly, ok-ish food, efficiently operated, uniformed decor and furnishings, good deals and bad deals depending on dates; weddings, christening and funerals catered for. You get the picture! And like most of this "genre" of hotel, it struggles hard to exude its own character or uniqueness.
HOWEVER, this does not mean that the Mount Errigal is not worth staying in. It is. And I have stayed there on a number of occasions over the last three years. The point being that this hotel is not somewhere to enjoy a luxury break or to seek the awe-inspiring "hotel experience". The hotel DOES, however, have quite a good standard. It is clean, comfortable, welcoming, efficient and it is a quite relaxing hotel. The facilities and food are good. The staff are efficient and friendly. Basically, the hotel does the trick if you are having a night out or a weekend away in Letterkenny, if you are on a business trip, or it is good to use as a base to explore Donegal ... providing there are no weddings, christenings or funerals on. (I stayed one night where there was some class of party or function on. The place was quite boisterous, with noise on the corridoors till the late hours, including a rousing rendition of The Homes of Donegal! This seems to be par for the course in most Irish hotels. However, as The Mount Errigal seems to attract a friendly and decent class of people I'd imagine its a rarer occurence than in other hotels. But, might be an idea to ask if there is a function on when booking?). There are great deals available, and the accomodation prices are reasonable, but, in my opinion, it is bad value at peak times

Pluses: The leisure centre is superb. The staff are very friendly and warm - particularily the barmen who were really friendly, chatty and full of banter - pure authentic Donegal. This makes a refreshing break from the automan politeness and pretentious aspirational mannerism that seems to be the inculcated into Irish hotel staff. The large front of house area is really relaxing when the hotel is quiet. Nice armchairs, etc, to hide away into and read a paper, have a coffee or get a bit of work done. Nice vibe to the hotel.

Minor complaints : Sky sports or TV's on in the bar all of the time. Why does every Irish pub/hotel do this? Hard to eat, or read a paper while enjoying a cappuchino when a number of TV's are turned on (and no one watching them). Staff couldn't recommend a place to hear Traditional music or give information on what cultural events were on in Donegal. (Was meeting French friends who wanted a dose of Irish culture). Bar food is good but could be a little cheaper. Coffee, cappucino's, lattes, etc are too expensive and could be better (one barman was good at making them). Breakfast is generous and good, but could do with more 'natural' stuff.

All in all, this is a good hotel, but not a great hotel! I would recommend it if you get a good deal.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruler68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2011
Thank you for your very full and frank review, we truly do appreciate an honest review such as this one because it is very fair and honest to your own perception. We appreciate this sort of feedback very much.
We try and offer true 'Donegal hospitality' at the best possible rate, we may not be the in the most 'awe inspiring' location because we are so close to the town centre - some people love the location for that reason and others don't.
I will certainly note your negative comments and we will definitely act on them. I'm very sorry that our staff could not recommend a good irish traditional pub because the majority of our staff live locally and are usually commended for their local knowledge.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Warmest Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2011

I had a great stay in this hotel, the staff were very friendly and most helpful. The food in the cafe renaissance was delicious and the service was very quick. The rooms were very spacious, clean and comfortable. It was a brilliant stay and i'll definately be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridget038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2011
Dear Brigit

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Mount Errigal Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Normally when we go to Donegal we stay in my Grannys but this time my dads seven brothers and sisters there partners and kids. We stayed here because my grannies house was full. First great value for money second they have a pool kiddy pool a sauna a jacuzzi a gym a steam room and an iceberg pool. The elavotors and flooring are really messed up the way the elevator doesnt go to 5th or 6th floor and the main stairway doesnt bring you to third or first floor its like a maze besides that there is nothing I could fault except the Walls are paper thin and you could here the people in the next room snorings. Rear hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dneail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed our Leisure Facilities comprising 22m Pool, Sauna, Steam Room, Jacuzzi, Gym & Day Spa. I do apologise if you felt that the navigation to the rooms wasn't clear enough, we will certainly look into this. The lift goes to all floors except the 5th Floor, in future, if you prefer to have acces to the lift just let us know on arrival and we will ensure you are not allocated the 5th floor.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warmest Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We stayed In the master suite In november and I didn't want to leave! The room was great value and absolutely gorgeous! The jacuzzi an steam In the room was a bonus! Had a fab time and will definitely be going back again.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris2146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2011
Dear Chris

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay of the hotel! I am delighted you enjoyed the comforts of our new suites. Everyone really enjoys the state of the art technology in the bathroom where you can have a Sauna, Steam, Jacuzzi, Foot Massage, Back Massage and Acupuncture shower!

I look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Warmest Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Myself and my partner stayed here in September 2010 with a special offfer for one night's B&B with a 2 course evening meal in the Cafe Renaissance with a glass of wine each. We got the offer on Facebook and we were also upgraded to the Honeymoon Suite.
We had no complaints at all with the hotel other than our room not quite being ready when we got there but it was ready a short while later and we did appreciate that it may be more difficulty to get people out of the honeymoon suite sometimes.
We really enjoyed our stay and next time we would hope to stay a little longer.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie_elder001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2011
Dear Katie

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am very happy that you enjoyed our popular 'One Night Delight' package. Thank you also for your kind comments on our New Master Suites. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warmest Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letterkenny
0.8 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,122 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
0.9 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#3 of 12 in Letterkenny
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
0.9 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
8.8 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Errigal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Errigal Hotel

Property: Mount Errigal Hotel
Address: Ballyraine, Letterkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
#6 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Errigal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a great central location, within walking distance of Letterkenny Town, this luxury 3 star hotel and state-of-the-art leisure centre is close to pubs, nightlife, shopping and theatres. Free parking and Wi-Fi. The Mount Errigal Hotel has a leisure centre with a 20-metre swimming pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, steam room, and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Mount Errigal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mount Errigal
Mount Errigal Letterkenny
Mount Errigal Hotel Letterkenny, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing