We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Grove Country House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny(Letterkenny)(Great Value!)
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clanree Hotel(Letterkenny)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mount Errigal Hotel(Letterkenny)(Great Value!)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dillons Hotel(Letterkenny)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rockhill House(Letterkenny)
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveller rating
209
45
11
2
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
45
11
2
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roomlough swillybeautiful furnitureoriginal housedownton abbeyperiod furnitureroaring fireincredible foodfour poster bedsecond to nonehouse is beautifulon arrivalbirthday partydinner menularge roomwedding receptionsteak
Filter
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 275 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Went with friends to Castle Grove for the new years eve gala dinner.The food was fantastic a 7 course meal served efficiently to all the diners at the same time. It was more like going to a friends country house than a hotel staff are friendly and Mary is like the mother hen.All sitting rooms were beautifully decorated for the festive season and the log fires added the finishing touch.We have stayed in the hotel on previous occasions and the bedrooms are beautiful with antique furniture and cumfy beds.The resturant deserves its title of Best Hotel Resturant in Donegal as the food is sourced locally and the fusion of tastes is fantastic.It is a hard time for hotels at the moment and I wish Mary and the family a good 2012 in business as they deserve it.

Room Tip: All rooms are different.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wentaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Castle Grove is nestled away from hustle and bustle... no spa needed here.

First impression is homely and this gets better the longer you are there with open fires, and fine food.

The family run house is Georgian and has kept many of its original features. This makes for unique surroundings - not found in your typical 'concrete jungle' hotels.

The gardens are secluded which adds to the tranquility.

The restaurant had just won "Best hotel restaurant in Donegal" and it is easy to see and taste why. Locally produced and sourced food is part of the hotels ethos.

Staff very pleasant and professional. A hard working family that deserves praise.

10/10

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smart_traveller73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Just back from a night at Castle Grove & we had a lovely time. Once again the meal was fabulous. Without doubt the best food about. There is such a lovely homely feel to Castle Grove & a very relaxed atmosphere. Mary & staff are very friendly & make you feel at home.
The personal touch of Castle Grove shines through- Love it!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Njoy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We had a nice night at the hotel. Just had a snack which was well presented. Hard to find staff when you needed them. Took ages for food to arrive and then decided on dessert and that seemed to come from Dublin! Tea had then gone cold so bit dissapointing. Room was huge and bed was also! Mattress was firm and should have been good but our backs were 'in bits' in the morning - not sure why but something to do with mattress. Dining room has a very 'cold' feel with wooden floor and very large and impersonal for breakfast. Have got too used to modern hotels I suppose!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mervynnixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Our first stay at this place has been a real treat. The family run hotel really lets you relax and feel welcome. Some state that the place is run down. I guess it depends on whether you like the newest, fanciest facilities or enjoy the cosiness and comfort of huge old beds and plush carpets of a real country house.

Room Tip: We took a sneak peek into some of the other rooms. They looked just s charming as ours. However, the huge bed in our room is worth a try, it is in the "George B. Shaw'" room.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HTLAarhus_Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews