We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Grove Country House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This Hotel is so under-rated, we went up there last week, and boy did we have a good time. We sat in the garden's and had a glass of wine, and watched the wild-life.
This hotel is remote, but so beautiful and the peace and quiet, was so welcome.
The room's were excellent, and decorated to the style of a castle.
The food was second to none, and the staff were of excellent standard.
Over all this hotel, is 100%, and if your thinking of visiting, my advise is its not to be missed, also ask for room no 7. its amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for room no 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allie2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    40
    11
    0
    8
See reviews for
43
109
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
178 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

from the drive into the country house to the first sight to the sprawling room and bath, this could not be any better. the building, 300 years old, the staff (super nice, helpful beyond words) and the location added up to the best night in ireland.
we had dinner there and the food was primo quality. the grounds were gorgeous. we met some other folks, from dublin, with whom we shared time and felt as thought the setting lent itself to such interaction.
given the oppurtunity, i would move in permanently

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denverchucko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

My husband & I stayed here for one night. We found the property after a slow drive along the access road and glimpsing the small sign that let us know we’d found the right driveway. The actual house is set in lovely gardens and is a beautiful old building. On arrival we were offered tea and scones to be served in the lounge. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with a large bathroom. We had an enjoyable meal in the restaurant that evening, having a 3-course meal of well-prepared food. The dining room was rather formal and for a while there was some loud classical music playing that didn’t really work. There was a good selection of options for breakfast in the morning. Overall we had a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SidekickSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We had a very relaxed three night stay in Castle Grove and I would highly recommend it for anybody who wants to destress. The hotel was spotless, up to my Mother's standards! We had dinner on two nights and the quality and selection of food was excellent. Nothing was too much bother for the staff, tea and coffee served anywhere in the hotel, homemade biscuits included, at any time and surprisingly all included in the price. The surroundings were tranquil and beautiful and the raw Atlantic within a short drive. We intend to visit again in the Autumn.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Spent a night at this quiet, secluded hotel. Perfect for the discerning person looking for somewhere to relax while enjoying a period property. It has only 14 bedrooms so peace is guaranteed and it sits surrounded by 300 acres of farmland. It is a couple of miles outside Letterkenny but the setting makes up for that. The owner is very welcoming and helpful, as are the staff, and the food is excellent. If you want peace and tranquility allied with a superb setting and excellent food this hotel will meet your every need.

Room Tip: Just ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This is a true country house hotel, large private grounds and very private and secluded. Very relaxing and comfortable, we had a large room and onsuite bathroom with bath and seperate shower, very nice, lovely views towards the lough. The food is excellent, we had a fabulous evening meal, lovely wine list and breakfasts are really nice, local produce,really tasty . A big thank you to Mary and all the staff, who are so friendly and attentive for a lovely long weekend stay during our trip around Co. Donegal.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianhaggerston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Kiwis on Tour
When we arrived at this hotel, it was noticeable and surprising how run down it was. The outside furniture was lying around everywhere and the conservatory was a disgrace. The furniture was badly water stained and the whole area looked very uninviting. We were shown to a room, which although large, was very outdated, had badly uneven floors and smelt old and damp. When trying WIFI I found that reception was non-existent and was told that it was available in the public areas although it was advertised as being available throughout the hotel. Unfortunately that was the final straw and we checked out immediately without staying the night. This was the most expensive hotel that I had booked throughout Ireland and I was expecting something very special. I assure you it was not. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. 4 Stars is ridiculous for this hotel.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Seamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
3.6 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,102 reviews
4.3 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,198 reviews
0.8 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
752 reviews
4.6 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Grove Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Grove Country House Hotel

Property: Castle Grove Country House Hotel
Address: 245 Ramelton Road | Ballymaleel, Letterkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
#4 Luxury Hotel in Letterkenny
#6 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#7 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Grove Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Grove House is a 4 star hotel (Georgian house) and award winning restaurant which overlooks Lough Swilly and welcomes you into a relaxed atmosphere of comfort and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle Grove Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Grove Country Hotel
Castle Grove Country House Hotel Letterkenny, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing