We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Treat here was wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Grove Country House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

My husband took me here on 19th December for my birthday. We had not eaten here in a few years. It was simply wonderful the food was absolutely delicious and such good value. We had a delicious goats cheese salad starter followed by a gorgeous sorbet then turkey and ham simply divine and loads of it and a chocolate parfait for dessert gorgeous. We also had delicious homemade breads, a chefs appetiser and lovely tea and mince pies to finish all in all brillant. I would highly recommend and cannot wait to return. I was even serenaded by one of the waiters when told of my birthday. What a perfect birthday thank you to all.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Fox149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eirene S, Manager at Castle Grove Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

I would like to thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and of course I am thrilled our team was able to make you felt so special and welcome on your birthday.
I will be sure to let the chefs know how much you enjoyed the meal , we do work effortlessly to maintain high standards in the restaurant and throughout the hotel.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Irene Sweeney
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
There are newer reviews for Castle Grove Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We visited this country house hotel and restaurant in mid-December for my wife's birthday. The last time that we visited was around 2 years ago. The restaurant has certainly maintained its very high standards with regards to the quality food, ambience and service. We were not disappointed. We chose from the four-course festive menu and every course was extremely tasty with so much attention to detail. All in all, a great dining experience, not to mention the competitively priced menu which represented real value for money.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank george9009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eirene S, Manager at Castle Grove Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2015

Hi Charlotte,
Happy New Year, hope 2015 will be kind to you.
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We, as a team, are thrilled you enjoyed your stay so much, it's hard to top "best hotel stay ever" but we will continue to maintain and improve our services and always remain humble in doing so.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I had fhe great pleasure of celebrating my wedding here on December 14th. From the mulled wine reception to the elegant christmas decor and open fires it was truely a dream winter wonderland themed wedding. Staff were extremely attentive to detail and made all my guests feel very welcome and well looked after.
Food was exceptional and all my guests said it was the best wedding food they ever had. We went for fillet steak and hake. Little extra touches like the sorbet after the started all added to the meal experience.
As the whole hotel is exclusively hired out when you book your wedding, it feels like "your" house for the day/night. All our guests also commented on this saying they felt so relaxed throughout the day as there was such a homely feel throughout in our intimate venue.
We had a guest list of 95 people and the function room was full with a great atmosphere as no table was too far away from the main one. The acoustics for the band and Dj are excellent and the dancefloor always seems packed compared to a larger venue with the same guest numbers. This all adds to the buzz. Some of our non dancing guests were still able to soak up the atmosphere from the adjoining bar or drawing room so you felt the whole group always stayed together.
I can highly recommend Castle Grove Hotel as a top class intimate wedding venue for it's attention to detail, superb Michelin Recommend restaurant food, fantastic acoustics and above all it's warm, friendly and relaxed feel. 10/10!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thirtycountriesby30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We booked for a christening on a Saturday for 22 people and also booked 5 rooms that night.
The four course meal was simply gorgeous, they take their food serious here. My partner is a hard to please chef and he was delighted. All the guests had a great day. The wine was lovely and reasonable, we had a lot! The chef even baked a cake. The grounds are unspoiled and well kept. There is a Victorian old world charm to this place. It made the day feel very special and I would highly recommend, lovely staff ect.
I can find no fault with our wonderful visit.

Stayed: December 2012
1  Thank Coffeegalx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We got a warm welcome, slept in lovely bedrooms, relaxed in front of big open fires in comfortable sitting rooms and enjoyed beautiful food.

The house is a genuine country manor in a beautiful setting close to Letterkenny. The decor and furnishings are lovely.

This really is a hidden gem and we look forward to returning.

This is the best of Irish hospitality, warm, unobtrusive and totally professional.

Excellent in every way.

We will certainly return.

Is there anything else you could want?

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank DERRATH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stayed with my two children (one of whom is a very lively 9 year old boy) for two night during the October Half term holidays. What can I say? The hotel is beautiful. It feels like Downton Abbey, but the staff are so friendly and approachable, you feel at home straight away. The rooms are so comfortable, and elegant and the public areas are stunning with open wood fires and huge chanderliers.

The restaurant was closed when we were there, but I am reliable informed that is it very good indeed. If the breakfasts are anything to go by I have no difficulty believing that. I hope I will get the opportunity to visit again and eat dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucy007London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We recently stayed at Castle Grove Manor House Hotel and found it delightful. The owner and her staff exhibit the utmost in hospitality. We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel and were delighted with our meal. Our room was comfortable and charming, with a canopied bed and wonderful antiques. Mary, the owner, couldn't have been more generous with answering our questions and providing helpful tips for that area of Ireland.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrelandfanUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
3.6 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,141 reviews
0.8 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
367 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#7 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,277 reviews
4.6 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Grove Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Grove Country House Hotel

Address: 245 Ramelton Road | Ballymaleel, Letterkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
#4 Luxury Hotel in Letterkenny
#6 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#7 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range: £78 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Grove Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Grove House is a 4 star hotel (Georgian house) and award winning restaurant which overlooks Lough Swilly and welcomes you into a relaxed atmosphere of comfort and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castle Grove Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Grove Country Hotel
Castle Grove Country House Hotel Letterkenny, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing