We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Used to be better”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shangri-La chinese resturant
Ranked #79 of 113 Restaurants in Letterkenny
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: chinese resturant and takeway on the high road letterkennt co. donegal .ireland,also does all you can eat buffet, id like to say i live in letterkenny and have had nice food from the shangri-la many times, although today the 1st of september 20011 my husband and i took ourselves and 3 of our children to their dinner buffet, which cost 12.95 euro per person, when we entered the shangri-la there was no buffet on site, it was the very same as ordering from a menu, but with a list of buffet food, which they bring from the kitchen, so there was no buffet style at all and the waitress pointed out on there so called buffet menu, if you do not eat your food you will be charged full price for a main course, we have kids and buffet means the food is in front of you and self service so you get to try a little of every thing, but not in this case we were foced to order a full stater each and main course and if our kids did not like oeat what they got we would be paying full resturant prices for everything, i am very dissapointed with the shangri-la as the do good food and their buffet was not a buffet at all no food on show, and we thought at last a chinese buffet in Letterkeny, my self and my husband just feel a wee bit conned, because once your in you cant leave and are under pressure espically to make sure the kids eat up, or else.thanks i hope you publish my review. linda brennan
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Used to be better”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We really liked this Chinese for takeaway, but recently it has dropped standards. Food has been cold and a bit of a let down. It is a pity, I hope they return to the good standard they had.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ssdonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    7
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Newtownards
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

We arri ed on a cold dark wet november night not realising that the resturant was not open. The takeaway was open and when i enquired when the resturant was opening the girl said it was not open until 6 but the time was only 5. However the girl said she would open up for us and gave us fantastic service i would recommend this place for this alone

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank markmcauley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lifford, Donegal, Ireland
2 reviews
“manners are easy carried”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

well how do you start this review, the inhouse service was good, but the take-away/delivery service leaves a lot to be desired...... i had the misfortune of ordering a take away an was told that it would be 30 mins that is fair enough but after 1 hour was still not here an had to call them again to see where it was only to be told it was on its way ..... when it did arrive the food was cold the order was not what i had placed an then the delivery person told me i was not charged for delivery which turned out to be false.... so called the restaurant again an was told the rest of the order was on its way an i was once again charged for delivery..... an they where lookin for full price for food.... a complete disaster an the food that was missin was for a diabetic an was not good enough..... so i emailed them a few days later but they had not got the courtesy to even acknowledge the email..............needless to say i will not be ordering a takeaway or visiting this restaurant again

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Deals”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Food is very good - they do a great lunch menu "eat as much as you want" at a very reasonable price

Helpful?
Thank SarahMarie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Want service? Eat elsewhere!”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

First of all, the food was very very good. That was not the problem. The problem was the service, or lack there of. We waited for 20 minutes between courses before having to psychically go and find who had been serving us (turns out it was the owner) to be told told its very busy. Only one other table in the place had customers at it. The attitude in general form this person was disgraceful and we will NOT be back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hughokeeffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shangri-La chinese resturant also viewed

Letterkenny, County Donegal
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 
Letterkenny, County Donegal
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 

Been to Shangri-La chinese resturant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing