We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently improved and all the better for these changes.”

Orchard Inn Letterkenny
Ranked #19 of 113 Restaurants in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A perfect mix of 2 cosy bars and a contemporary restaurant. At The Orchard bar & Lounge we are obsessed with quality from the freshest produce and the friendliest staff which is why so many of our customers return again and again.The Orchard bar & Lounge hosts special events, from gourmet dining to party bookings our cookery is a master class to rival none. Throughout the year the Orchard bar & Lounge’s menus celebrate the seasons and champion the very best of local produce, whilst special offers make a meal even more tantalizing. Our latest edition to Orchard bar & Lounge complex is a brand new state of the art Function room.
Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Recently improved and all the better for these changes.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The presentation of food in this restaurant has markedly improved in recent months and really lends itself well to the overall experience. For example, lunchtime panini now served with lovely dressed leaves and a small bucket of chips and presented on a wooden board...now visually pleasing as well as delicious!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishWeekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    33
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waterford
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were staying in Letterkenny for 2 nights and decided to eat in The Orchard on the second night. It's a lovely bar/restaurant and the food was excellent. The customer service was really friendly. Joe, one of the staff was particuarly nice and helpful. Really nice guy with a lovely manner. Would recommend this place if visiting Letterkenny! Trad band was playing on the night we were there so that made for a good atomosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WhiteFarran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cocktails:) ”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We were here on a very busy Saturday night, a group of six and even though we hadn't booked the waitresses accommodated us! We ate of the new bar food menu and we were all so happy but the highlight of the meal had to be the cocktails!!! The red rum is my favourite and even though the bar was under pressure the girl making them(Gina I think??) always was smiling and having a laugh with us! Will definitely be back again!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Jan3467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Menu not as advertised online or on the premises”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I visited this pub/restaurant to try the Buck Mondays menu 16 euro 3 course as advertised in their website but was left dissappointed to be advised that they don't do it anymore & that they were now doing an early bird menu. They are still advertising Buck Mondays specials online & in the pub/restaurant on their electronic advertisements. As they have not taken these advertisements down they should still be offering this menu.

The early bird menu was limited in terms of choice but offered decent value at E14.90 if you could find something that appealed to you that is..

The service overall was pretty poor & the place lacked any real buzz or atmosphere in comparison to the last time that I had visited this establishment. The tables looked tarnished & worn out possibly a little dirty too. They have also changed the way things are presented or served to the table with chips, fish etc coming in metal baskets which was abit different to say the least. I'm not sure that it works. I may give the place a try again just to see if it has tweaked the early bird offering or it brings back the buck Monday special but with so much choice in Donegal & Derry it faces huge competition & would need to do more to attract you back.

The soup for starters was ok but was not served with baked bread just a basic white roll. The sirloin on offer was only 6 ounce & was tasty, the chips were not too bad but the peppercorn sauce served with it wasnt very nice. Now if you compare the chips & sauce alone to say McGettigan's bar in Letterkenny their would only be one winner & that would be McGettigan's all day long. I recently got two 12 ounce steaks with all the trappings in McGettigans on a Monday for 25 euro so the Orchard faces stiff competition. One of the people with me tried the chicken stuffed with black pudding & they thought it was grand with plenty of potatoes & veg served with it. The desert was a mixture of small eclairs etc & was tasty. Overall, if they could offer some more choices on the early bird as it is far too basic at the moment but perhaps its early days & improve on staff enthusiasm they could do quite well but they have things to work on for sure if they want to improve or maintain their reputation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank genie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New menu! ”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

I love this place! New menu I noticed the last time i was in and it's lovely:) such effort has went into the desert and the choice is limitless:) staff are so friendly and pleasant:) never disappoints!!! Keep up the good work!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jan3467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orchard Inn Letterkenny also viewed

Letterkenny, County Donegal
 
Letterkenny, County Donegal
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 

Been to Orchard Inn Letterkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing