We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!”
Review of Hillcrest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Letterkenny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillcrest House
Ranked #15 of 27 Letterkenny B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 March 2008

We stayed at Hillcrest for the first time this Season and really liked the changes that Martin had made at the B&B since we last stayed with him. There is a new Natural Stone fireplace in the guests' Lounge, it's so cosy looking and the log fire was just the thing for the cold weekend we had. The Bathroom & shower in our room had been re-tiled and Martin has added a few personal touches to the bedroom. Honestly, we felt like we were staying in a Hotel! Our Breakfast was HUGE, as usual. Next time we go I'll remember to take my camera.. Kangootripper.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kangootripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2008

Only stayed for the Easter weekend in a modern bright room with my wife ,my three sons were in two rooms above us . they loved letterkenny,s nightlife. Its about 10 euros in a taxi . The host and owner made us very welcome and nothing was any bother to him ,he also makes a very good traditional breakfast wished I had more time to sample more of his food .

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2007

We stayed at Hillcrest for four nights during a short break in Donegal. Our decision to stay at Hillcrest was based on the reviews on Tripadvisor, and we wanted to see if the stories of cosy rooms and the legendary Martin were true. They were! Martin is the best host, so genuinely friendly and helpful that it really made our stay. He also makes the best breakfast and dinners and irish coffees! We really were not expecting so much from a B&B, we were delighted.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PBear20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2007

We stayed here for our first night in Northern Ireland after flying in to Derry because a TripAdvisor reviewer had said they'd wished they'd stayed here longer rather than trying to find a hotel in Derry. We were glad we took their advice - they were absolutely right.

We had a warm and friendly welcome from Martin Anderson, a clean room with a comfortable bed and exactly what we wanted for breakfast. A perfect start to our first visit to this part of Ireland.

Hillcrest is easy to find: it's about two miles from the centre of Letterkenny, on the N14 from Strabane.

Martin is a trained chef - but you do need to book in advance if you want an evening meal. We didn't, but found plenty of choice in Letterkenny itself (€55 on a meal for 2 including wine at Dillon's in the High Street).

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PhyllRutland_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2007

Hillcrest house is situated on one of the main transport arteries close to the centre of Letterkenny, located at the heart of Donegal allowing easy access to all areas of the county. Hillcrest house has all the amenities expected by the traveller, provided to an excellent standard. The unexpected outstanding feature of our stay (6 nights) was the exceptional quality of the food provided, both at breakfast and dinner and the flexibility of the owner to meet our needs. The charm, local knowledge and eloquence of the proprietor added much to our stay, making it a memorable experience. which would be repeated when revisiting the area.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank Rossmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2007

We didn't like the city of Letterkenny, the property wasn't glamorous or luxurious, the room was small, as many reviewers have already noted. BUT the owner, Martin Anderson, made us so welcome, was so helpful with tips and directions, was such a great chef and so hospitable, that we would recommend this place to anyone.
His friendly, open manner and the welcome he extends to his guests make all the difference between a place to stay and finding a new friend.
The first night we got there, it was late and we were starving. We hadn't booked dinner, but he had made a little extra, 'just in case.' My husband had salmon, I only wanted some soup. It was all delicious and the perfect 'comfort meal' after a long day on the road. Typical of his concern for his guests that he would plan for us even without a definite reservation. The breakfasts were lovely, and he would help us plan our days, go over our maps with us, make recommendations that only a local to the area would know. We stayed three nights with him and it was sad to leave on the last day!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lady717998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2007

From the moment we arrived our host, Martin was the best ever! He was very personable and tried his best to make sure we had a great stay!

The rooms were a bit small, as well as the tv's but all were very clean.

The location was easy to find, (right on the main road, yet there was no road noise). It took two minutes to get into the main part of Letterkenny, and with Martin's excellent recommendation we enjoyed a wonderful dinner in town.

The breakfast was exceptional! (See my pictures!) Served in a very nice dining room with beautiful murals on the the walls.

I would stay here again, and would recommend it to my friends as well thanks to our wonderful host Martin!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tetonski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letterkenny
0.7 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
851 reviews
2.1 mi away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
413 reviews
3.5 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hillcrest Bed and Breakfast
Hillcrest Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Castlebaldwin
19 reviews
17.2 mi away
Oaklands B&B
Oaklands B&B
#2 of 27 in Letterkenny
119 reviews
12.3 mi away
Bridgeburn House
Bridgeburn House
#5 of 27 in Letterkenny
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest House

Address: Hill Crest Hillcrest House Sligo Road, Letterkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Letterkenny
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Failte Ireland 3 Star Approved B&B , is owned by Your host, award winning Chef Martin Anderson, he invites you to spend a little time in the heartland of County Donegal, be it a mid-week stay for business, a long lazy weekend exploring the joys of Donegal, experiencing the joys of traditional Irish cooking, a night at the races at Lifford Greyhound Stadium or tapping your feet to the beat of one of the many music pubs of the area. As a food Approved Destination, Chef Anderson Only use local ingredients and produce , with home baking , Breakfast and Dinner a specialty , A wee Irish Coffee Compliments of the Chef each evening is also awaiting you on arrival or while relaxing at the end of a busy day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillcrest House Letterkenny, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing