We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Irritations But Well Handled”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Small Irritations But Well Handled”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed here towards the end of August for 5 days. On arrival we were checked in efficiently, but on entering the room realised there was no air-conditioning, the bathroom extractor fan didnt work, so we asked to be moved and were, though we were informed that in standard rooms, there is no air-conditioning in the room. I know it is Ireland but a 4 star hotel without air-conditioning as standard - is pretty basic nowadays to have it. However, the extractor fan in the bathroom again didn't work and there was what seemed to be a strong stench of urine. Again I trundled down to reception and Niall apologised and upgraded us to a business class room. Eureka - bathroom extractor fan that worked! And to boot there was air-conditioning.
We both had a good night sleep, though her indoors, the following morning was like a 'drunk' trying to get out of bed. She looked under the mattress and low and behold her part of the bed was broke! So the hotel quickly sorted this little issue.
Part of the hotel deal included meals on two evenings. On both nights the meals were of a decent standard. Breakfast while self-service, with the exception of coffee and toast being brought to the table, is pretty good. The staff in the restaurant both in the evening and at breakfast were pleasant and helpful. Staff in the hotel in general are very courteous, up for a bit of craic and conversation and are a credit to the hotel.
Outside of the few mishaps at the beginning the rooms are spotless and kept immaculate. A bonus for me was to find out they have modernised some of the gym equipment, which was great, as her indoors could go to the shopping mall across the road, while I tried to lose different sort of pounds.
All in all a very pleasant say and it is my better 'alf's fave hotel in all of the island of Ireland. And to be fair it is all down to the staff. My concern is that the small mishaps we encountered at the start need looked into and that the hotel updates constantly and doesn't run down - that would be a shame.
Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Hopefully they will put air-conditioning in all rooms - if not pay a bit extra and go for business c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theblackwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena O, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny.

We are delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and found the overall experience that you enjoyed to be down to the hotels staff. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for any shortcomings you received in the bedroom standard but in relation to air-conditioning is only available in business class rooms and not a 4* hotel standard requirement in Ireland for all bedrooms to have but we will certainly take your feedback on board and greatly appreciate it.

We are over the moon to read that your partner consider us to be here favourite hotel, that is a wondering honour to have.

We very much look forward to welcoming you both back to the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny in the near future.

Kind regards,

Helena O'Brien
Director of Sales & Marketing
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    320
    156
    50
    46
See reviews for
238
496
38
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
carlow
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed in the radisson last Thursday night 3rd October after travelling for nearly 5hours I arrived after work at 8.55pm only to be told at reception that the only food I could order was on the 24 hour menu which was a very small choice I was really disappointed after the journey I had just taken and when room service arrived it was disgusting and I could not eat it. I have just started a course in letterkenny it and will be staying in letterkenny. Every few months for the next 2years but I will definitely not be staying in the radisson. Also when I entered the room all the tiles in the roof at the entrance were all pushed up into the roof

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena O, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny.

I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us on your recent visit to Letterkenny. The bar and restaurant in the hotel finish serving food at 9pm each evening, this is a standard in many hotels in Ireland however we do offer an extensive room service menu that is available 24 hours. Unfortunately, there is no record of your feedback on your disappointment regarding the food received in our records, we always strive for each of our guests to have an enjoyable stay with us and if we had been made aware of your feedback during your stay we would have been delighted to offer you a replacement meal.

If you would like to contact me in relation to your feedback please do not hesitate to contact me directly. We do hope that you will reconsider staying with us in the future as you will see from previous reviews our guests very much enjoy their experience of the hotel and return time and time again.

Kind regards,

Helena O’Brien
Director of Sales & Marketing
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This hotel, while part of an international chain, has still managed to retain its friendliness and the personal touch - a rare find this day in age. Its staff certainly understand the meaning of being in the hospitality industry.

We had a Business Class room for 2 adults and 2 children. It was a good size and was clean with Bath robes, slippers, toiletries, colouring for the kids, large tv with lots of stations, air con that actually worked, an ice bucket for the ice machine on the corridor etc.

We ate in the bar each evening and the food was lovely - hot and fresh. Breakfast was plentiful and equally lovely.

A great swimming pool and location beside the shops ticked even more boxes.

I couldn't fault the hotel or its staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morck_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena O, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny.

We are delighted to read that our staff could not be faulted by you as we strive to ensure that each and every guest of the hotel has an enjoyable stay with us. We are over the moon that you enjoyed your stay with us, your feedback has really made our day.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny in the near future.

Kind regards,

Helena O’Brien
Director of Sales & Marketing
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Reception staff and restaurant staff fabulous. House keeping was not what I expected. Had to ask for my toilet to be cleaned not very nice. If your room ends in 14 or 16 there is a lift in between that makes a noise and also empty beer barrels being rolled late a night meant I did not sleep well at all. Should have asked for a change of room but as was only there for four nights thought it would get better.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms ending in 14 & 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueeerob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena O, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny.

We are delighted to read that you found the staff of the hotel reception and restaurant to be fabulous. We would like to take this opportunity to apologise for any shortcomings in service that you received from the hotel accommodation team and have already addressed the issue that you mention in your feedback to ensure that this will not happen again in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny in the near future.

Kind regards,

Helena O’Brien
Director of Sales & Marketing
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed over one night last week and enjoyed. Rooms adequate, clean and comfy. Food in bar was ok but had to complain about meat free beef lasagne. Complaint was acknowledged and reduction given which is a sensible approach. Also well located for retail therapy for her and easy access to town for pubs for him. Would use again!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena O, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny.

We are delighted that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and would use the hotel again. We would once again like to apologise for any shortcomings in service for which you received and are pleased that you were satisfied with hotel the matter was dealt with.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny in the near future.

Kind regards,

Helena O'Brien
Director of Sales & Marketing
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel from a choice of 2 in the Newmarket brochure for the Giants Causeway holiday. The holiday was excellent overall.
The Radisson was clean and modern and the reception staff very efficient when we arrived at 8.45pm the one thing we did feel was that the lighting in both reception and the rooms could have been better.
We ate in the Oak bar the first night which was good but a little expensive although similar in price to some of the other restaurants we saw in the area. We're more used to Toby carvery or sizzling pub prices.
On Monday afternoon when we arrived back from our trip the maid was about to do our room but agreed to come back in an hour when we'd gone out again.
Breakfasts were very good and the service excellent. On our last morning we had a very early start and a continental breakfast arranged for 5.45am. The young waiter who was setting up breakfast was very helpful bringing me Earl Grey tea and making my toast. It was nice to see a jar of cookies as a change from bread.
We didn't try the pool or gym as our excursions were all day. Don't worry about being close to the retail park you don't notice it from inside hotel. Dunnes was a nice shop with fashion and groceries. We even found a pair of shoes to fit my husband which is no easy task. M&S only sold ladies fashion and food. Hotel room 110 was very quiet and very little noise from outside.
Overall it was a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LelP50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena O, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny.

We are delighted that you overall had a lovely stay and found the staff to be very efficient and enjoy the hotels cuisine.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny in the future.

Kind regards,

Helena O’Brien
Director of Sales & Marketing
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
266 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Comfortable. What you expect from Radisson. It falls down on the little things. Servicing the room, service in the bar, ice buckets in rooms....you get the picture. Nothing to keep you from staying here, just small irritations. Staff was friendly and breakfast excellent.
Too far from interesting part of town. Near a giant strip mall.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minnetonkalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena O, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny.

We are delighted to read that you found the staff to be friendly and breakfast to be excellent.

It is unfortunate that you didn’t enjoy some of the bedroom amenities, however, you will see from recent reviews that most guests of the hotel find the bedroom and amenities to be excellent along with the hotels convenient location for shopping and a 5 minute stroll from the main street of Letterkenny.

We do hope that you will return to the hotel on your next visit to Letterkenny to experience why so many of our guests return time and time again.

Kind regards,

Helena O’Brien
Director of Sales & Marketing
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
1.4 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
329 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
0.4 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
3.8 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Address: Paddy Harte Road, Letterkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Luxury Hotel in Letterkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny is designed in a contemporary Irish style, with the comfort of both business and leisure guests in mind. The superior 4-star hotel features 114 modern, bright bedrooms, a restaurant, bar, grill, leisure centre, ample parking and complimentary high speed internet access. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Letterkenny town, within walking distance of shopping areas, cinema, theatre, bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Rezidor, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny Hotel Letterkenny
Radisson Hotel Letterkenny
Radisson Letterkenny
Radisson Sas Letterkenny
Letterkenny Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing