We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good but could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Our first impression of this hotel was not great. We arrived around 9pm to be told that both the bar and restaurant were closed. This simply wasn't true, the Maître 'd was clear on this. We had an excellent meal then went straight to our room, which was very hot. It turned out that air conditioning was not available throughout most of this relatively new hotel. Fortunately the night porter found us a fan, which made the room bearable.

After this inauspicious start, the rest of our stay improved considerably. The staff were willing and friendly, breakfast was excellent and the meals we had in both restaurant and bar were first class. Oh, and the bed was very comfortable too.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jt1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena O, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

The hotel bar and restaurant does stop serving food at 9pm, we will of course always do our best if there are chefs still in the kitchen to accommodate guests who arrive at 9pm, however 24 hour room service is available for all hotel residents. As the weather in Letterkenny was warmer last week than usual the hotel accommodation was warmer however we did do our very best to accommodate guests with a fan when available.

We are delighted that the rest of your stay improved considerably and you found the hotel staff to be willing and friendly. The hotel is renowned for a high standard in quality and service and your feedback on the hotels Super Buffet Breakfast and the food in the bar and restaurant being first class have made our day.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny in the near future.

Kind regards,

Helena O’Brien
Director of Sales & Marketing
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    308
    147
    50
    43
See reviews for
231
479
37
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel in June, 2014 on a business trip and was quite disappointed at the service.
We arrived at 20.55 and asked about availability of food. We were told that the food service in the bar was finishing shortly but if we went straight through we might get some. When we went through, at first we were told that it was too late (9.00 pm closing in June ??) but we persevered and eventually we were served, after being made to feel a mixture of annoyance and relief.
The room was well appointed but while it had an ironing board, it had no iron. I rang down first thing in the morning to enquire about getting an iron. When I checked out 4 hours later it had not arrived.
The girl who checked us out made no eye contact, did not ask whether we enjoyed our stay and gave the impression of wanting to be anywhere but there.
I am not sure if this was a once-off or if the early signs of growth in the Irish economy have led people in the hospitality industry to become complacent (again).
For an expensive hotel in the middle of nowhere, it was poor service and I would not recommend it to anyone, although I have had better experiences in other Radisson's.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Occasionaldiner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena O, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny.

I would first like to take this opportunity to apologise for any shortcomings in service that you received during your recent stay with us. I can assure you this is certainly a one off as we will never become complacent and value all of our customers and their feedback.

I have addressed your feedback with the team to ensure these issues do not arise again for future guests. As you will see from previous reviews we are a very popular hotel in a convenient town centre location in Letterkenny and we have many guests returning time and time again.

We do hope you will reconsider your decision and return again in the future to experience what makes us a hotel to which our guests love to return.

Kind regards,

Helena O’Brien
Director of Sales & Marketing
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We spend a few days in Radisson Blu Letterkenny with my sisters , and a friend and had a great girly break. Hotel was lovely , rooms bright and spacious with all you need to hand , TV , iron and board , fridge , ice bucket , and great bathroom. The hotel has a pool , sauna and steam room , which we made good use off . I should add there is no lift down to the pool only stairs or you have to walk out of the hotel and round the building to the rear , for people with walking problems just drive your car round to the gym at the back of hotel , we had to do this but it was not a problem , great pool. The food in the hotel was beautiful , breakfast and evening meal , the dining staff could not do enough for you , very attentive if you needed anything they were right on it , really lovely people . The desk staff where very kind and helpful , even printed us a cinema list of what was on at the cinema , which is just beside the hotel . Shopping , well all you need to do is just cross the road in front of the hotel and you name it every shop you could think of is there , you would need three days to get round them all .This hotel is the perfect place for all you ladies, everything in the one place , we loved it, the staff were a happy bunch of people , very homely I like that, and I will be back .
Loved you Raddisson Blu.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor , there was not much to see from the windows . It was very warm in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philomena153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena O, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review of your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay as it is always our objective to ensure all of our guests have an enjoyable and comfortable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny in the near future.

Kind regards,

Helena O'Brien
Director of Sales & Marketing
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here en route from Belfast to Galway with friends.Staff at the front desk are mainly from Donegal and are very friendly, which is a huge bonus on entering the lobby of any hotel nowadays.
We found the rooms to be in good order but during this heat wave, with no aircon, the south facing rooms were very warm.Some fans were available.
This is a hotel on a ring road across from a shopping complex with no real views per se BUT I still found it offered the weary traveller, of which we were 5, good food, drink and service with a smile.The breakfast was excellent with smoked salmon and boiled eggs on offer.We ate in the bar both nights and were satisfied with the fare.
I would stay again, if we ever decided to go to Glenveagh National Park again.It's only 30 minutes north of here.None of us ventured to the pool or spa area but we heard it was nice.
We liked the good old fashioned 'park on the flat in front of the hotel for free'.No pesky tickets to swipe or pay.Their Wifi was fine too, I didn't have any issues with it.I have been using ear plugs for years so the boy racers on the ring road don't affect my sleep!

Room Tip: Front facing to Lidl are brighter abd at least you see some of the Donnegal hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariahTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena O, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review following your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotels staff to be friendly and enjoyed the hotels location and amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny.

Kind regards,

Helena O'Brien
Director of Sales & Marketing
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

the main problem is the heat of the room unbearably hot and stuffy even with window open bed was hard and I was kept awake til 5am by the noise of cars racing up and down the road outside definitely won't be using Radisson blu again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alex k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena O, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny.

We are disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Donegal has been experiencing wonderful weather over the past few weeks which is causing tempatures to rise. As you will see from other guests reviews, if you ask for a fan to help keep your room cool we will be happy to provide you with one if it is available. Alternatively, Business Class rooms include air-conditioning along with other extras for only €25 per room per night. The hotel is located in the town so unfortunately there is nothing that we can do about cars driving on the road in front of the hotel but we normally don't receive complaints, it may be possible that you stayed over the Donegal Rally weekend which as one would expect would deliver a higher volume of traffic to the area for that weekend.

We do hope will consider your decision and return to the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny in the future to see why so many of our guests return time and time again.

Kind regards,

Helena O'Brien
Director of Sales & Marketing
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monaghan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Just stayed here with my daughter for a 3 day 2 night stay, we had late check out which I love as it takes the rushing out of having to get ready and check out at the usual early times, The food in this place is top notch and I can honestly say meal wise there was no complaints from me or my daughter. definitely recommend the early bird menu, breakfast is a buffet style with loads of choice to satisfy every palate, they have an abundance of tasty breads and crossaints, smoked salmon salads etc available as well for breakfast which is brilliant although the one complaint I have is that myself and my daughter went down for breakfast around 9am on the morning we were leaving and the breads and smoked salmon were gone and I asked the waitress if there was anymore available in the kitchen and she said there was none left which I didn't really believe to be honest as its available on the dinner menu a few hours later. that being said the staff are great and the hotel really does go out of its way to look after its residents with their one touch service they'll even help you if you've forgot a simple thing like a toothbrush..excellent and its great to see somewhere going that extra wee bit for the customer. when we arrived the weather was fantastic so you could sit outside and enjoy a coffee or a drink in the sunshine and the hotel is also a shoppers dream with a huge shopping complex more or less surrounding the hotel grounds, everything was in walking distance. we also made use of the leisure centre which was ok the pool area and the dressing rooms could do with some refurbishment but maybe that will happen in time as they were very drab and there was no Jacuzzi which is unusual for a leisure centre, my daughter used the gym and she said the machines were of a high standard but there were no things like kettle bells etc available for use. but she still enjoyed her workout anyway lol =) the free wifi had some glitches but if you tell them at reception they will do their best to sort out the problems for you there are fridges in the rooms but they weren't working which was a pity as cold drinks would have been nice when you wake up during the night with the weather we had - all in all I would definitely return to the Radisson as it was a very pleasant happy and enjoyable experience, a few minor glitches bt nothing that would take the enjoyment of the visit away, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to stay in Letterkenny it has everything going for it, comfort, culinary expertise and good and friendly staff willing to help you.

Room Tip: no complaints about the rooms and there are lifts available to all floors, maybe ask for one without...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena O, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review following your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny.

We are delighted that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us. Your wonderful comments and feedback has really made our day.

We look forward to welcoming you both back to the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny in the near future.

Kind regards,

Helena O'Brien
Director of Sales & Marketing
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Arrived at our room to find it very warm & stuffy. Unfortunately the windows opened onto a flat roof so leaving it open was not an option for security reasons. Called reception to enquire how to use the air conditioning to be told there was none available in the standard rooms and that they would send up a fan. Spent our two nights sleeping as near to that fan as possible, which made for a pretty uncomfortable sleep. Lucky for us it was only 15 degrees outside. Wifi slow and unusable in room.

On a good note staff were helpful & friendly although I wouldn't be in a rush for a return visit.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Aileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena O, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny.

We are disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny. In Ireland it is not a standard requirement for hotels to offer air-conditioning in hotel bedrooms, but we are always happy to provide a fan to guests when available. We are surprised to read that you experienced a problem with the wifi during your stay, and hope that you bought this to the attention of one of the team to assist with rectifying the problem. We are delighted for your feedback on the hotel team and greatly appreciate you taking the time to compliment them.

We do hope that you will reconsider your decision and return to the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny on your next visit to Donegal to experience why so many of our guests return time and time again.

Kind regards,

Helena O’Brien
Director of Sales & Marketing
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
1.4 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#5 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
0.3 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
3.8 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Address: Paddy Harte Road, Letterkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Letterkenny
#2 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny is designed in a contemporary Irish style, with the comfort of both business and leisure guests in mind. The superior 4-star hotel features 114 modern, bright bedrooms, a restaurant, bar, grill, leisure centre, ample parking and complimentary high speed internet access. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Letterkenny town, within walking distance of shopping areas, cinema, theatre, bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny Hotel Letterkenny
Radisson Hotel Letterkenny
Radisson Letterkenny
Radisson Sas Letterkenny
Letterkenny Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing