We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Evening meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurant Sage

Restaurant Sage
Ranked #4 of 109 Restaurants in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$38
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sage aims to serve local bought produce from the wonderful areas surrounding Letterkenny, in Donegal. We have a contemporary feel with a relaxed and vibrant ambiance. Every dish is cooked from fresh and to your liking. We are able to cater for all sorts of tastes and dietary needs and our staff are always delighted to talk to new and returning customers about our menu. Our Chef hails from Mexico and we can offer fine imported Mexican ingredients, when ordered in advance. We enjoy our restaurant and certainly hope you do also.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Evening meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We recently visited sage and had a lovely evening. We were greeting by friendly and helpful staff and then served the most superb food. The restaurant could do with a lick of paint in parts but all in all it was excellent

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EVE328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    37
    21
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Letterkenny, Ireland
1 review
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Went to this restaurant having read the reviews on trip advisor and We certainly were not disappointed
We were greeted by young friendly staff who were efficient and knowledgable regarding the menu
The cup of soup and fresh warm breads was a lovely surprise
The starters of Brie and Goats cheese were superb and were followed by our main courses of trio of fish and scallops which were excellent also
Presentation was beautiful
The chef came from the kitchen to enquire about our meal, which I feel was a lovely touch
We will certainly be back to this restaurant

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnMc22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Walking out !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Booked Sage on the basis of its number 1 Tripadvisor rating..... We must have been on a day when the chef was off sick because it was simply dreadful.
The place was almost deserted on a Wednesday night, but because the menu reads (and is priced!) like a fine dining experience I wasn't surprised. My partner ordered deep fried Brie, which arrived freezing cold in the centre.... An unlucky event maybe ? This was sent back to the kitchen and was replaced within 5 minutes..... Exactly the same stone cold centre! Another starter was delivered which was adequate, however the explanation that they'd found the reason for the undercooked Brie was laughable, apparently the fryer had been turned off !!!!!
Main courses arrived. We had chosen 2 Fillet steaks. One cooked medium and one as rare as possible... Both arrived well done. Surely a very rare steak should be the easiest to accomplish? By this point we had decided to cut our losses and eat elsewhere.
We left without charge, feeling sorry for the waiter, Roy, who seemed rather shell shocked to be serving such rubbish. My final gripe is the amount of "pinging" noises which could be heard from the kitchen. The Amuse Buche was a soup which had obviously been blasted in the microwave to flamethrower heat, and the veg was also cooking from the inside, suggesting the same
at €25 or so (plus sides) I would expect a decent standard of main course, but was sadly let down

Maybe we were unlucky? Won't be going back to find out though

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
15 Thank holtender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fine dining for a great price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

One of the nicest meals ive had in a long time.
Went here with work colleagues and we were greeted by friendly staff who were more than accommodating.
The food was of a very high standard and each course was a perfect size, the pre starter soup was a lovely surprise with the homemade bread just out of the oven.
I had the chicken curry spring rolls to start, and the fillet which was perfectly cooked, along with the malteaser meringue mess… Gorgeous.
I will definitely be back here as the food was wonderful and the staff were so friendly, there was no pressure on eating and the little break between courses was perfect.
It was also a very nice personal touch to see the chef appear from the kitchen at the end to ensure we were all happy with our food and we were enjoying ourselves.
Thanks for a great evening!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tmagee87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

My wife and I visited Sage recently,prior to going across to the theatre. We'd read the reviews, but being naturally sceptical after past experiences, still wanted to give it a try. A great evening meal, with excellent, friendly attentive service and good value. It does Letterkenny a real credit to have a restaurant of this calibre in town. Not an easy business to be in and we wish them long and continued success. We'll be back soon!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Sage also viewed

Letterkenny, County Donegal
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 

Been to Restaurant Sage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing