We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed in the bedrooms considering the cost”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Disappointed in the bedrooms considering the cost”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We went down on a Friday and check in wasnt until 4pm. We had booked 4 double rooms for 8 adults in total. We asked if we could have all bedrooms near eachother because it was for my mum's and my sisters birthdays that weekend and it was the night after my wedding so we were celebrating. However, they only let 3 rooms be beside eachother and the 1 double room was at the other side of the hotel.
the room value was €120 bed & breakfast, From the pictures on the hotels website and saying it was a 4* hotel we were very excited to book this hotel for it looked gorgeous however, when we got into the bedrooms, the rooms were small, and one of the double rooms was a family room with a double bed and a single. Not impressed considering the price of the rooms as they could do with a re-vamp in decorating. very disappointed as we thought it was going to be luxurious bedrooms. Wouldnt stay here again for that price again as I've been in nicer hotels at that price. The food in the bar was great, staff were friendly and the food came out very quick and all 8 of us loved our meals but just the bedrooms disappointed us all. i wouldnt rate this hotel a 4* due to the decor of the halls and bedrooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh12342013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    129
    64
    20
    15
See reviews for
215
287
22
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belmullet, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2013

we have stayed in many hotels at home and abroad and none could compare with this hotel. the staff were so so friendly and helpful/the accommodation was second to none/the food and service was wonderful! we so enjoyed our stay and hope to return soon. thanks to all who made our stay so good. Annie Lavelle

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We chose the Silver Tassie from the range offered by the Irish supermarket chain ‘Supervalu’. As such our stay, which included 100 euros worth of spa treatments/products represented very good value. Overall, we were pleased with the choice.

Possibly the best part of our two-night stay was my wife’s session at the Seascape Spa. Caroline, the masseuse, was excellent with the treatments well on par with those experienced, often at much greater cost, in more exotic locations. If staying at the Silver Tassie or simply in the area we would suggest checking out the Spa.

As to the hotel itself, we found staff friendly and check-in and check-out were simple and straightforward. Decor and furnishings are, however, rather tired and some of the lounge area armchairs are noticeably past their best. While our room was comfortable enough it too was rather dated. We had a double room at the rear of the hotel which was quiet and away from the traffic on the main road which passes the front of the hotel.

The food erred on the side of generosity of portion size than imaginative cooking but, overall was good. Cooked breakfasts were large and, commendably, cooked to order. The steak I had on our first night was cooked as requested, tender and accompanied by a tasty sauce. However, the crispy half duck on the second night wasn’t really crispy. Vegetarian options are limited but there are three main course options and those tasted were fine. The champ - a favourite when in Ireland - was very good though my saute potatoes to accompany the duck seemed deep fried rather than sauteed and there was a detectable, if not overpowering, smell of frying in parts of the corridors leading to the bedrooms. Wines are averagely priced and there is a fair range from which to choose. It was a pity that the pre-dinner dry sherry - some points for having it - wasn’t chilled.

Good points are the ample parking, the on-site spa and fitness centres and the free wi-fi in rooms and public areas. The hotel is about 10 kilometres outside Letterkenny but close to the small historic town of Ramelton which is well worth a visit and which has a few shops, including a chemists, for any forgotten essentials. It also has the cosy, thatched, Conway’s Bar - perfect for a Guinness. The Silver Tassie is well placed for touring in this part of Donegal or visiting some of the interesting golf courses.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are quieter away from main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sakiScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Just returned from a tour of County Donegal whilst staying at Silver Tassie in Letterkenny. This hotel is a great base for touring County Donegal. The room was comfortable and had free WiFi access, the staff are ever so friendly and the breakfast each day was very good with a fully stocked breakfast buffet and full cooked Irish breakfast.
The restaurant and bar provided good food although there was not a great deal of choice difference between the two.
A pleasant experience nevertheless and one I can recommend if you are touring this beautiful part of Ireland.

Room Tip: Those on the front have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlz54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

After having a fantastic Wedding Reception my husband and I decided to return for our Anniversary. Firstly the Wedding Reception was perfect,well organised, had beautiful decor and was reasonably priced per guest - you definitely get your money's worth when it comes to food! I also used the Hairdressers and Spa located near the entrance which is handy and also had a good experience with these shops. When booking for our Anniversary we were told it was FREE as we had our Reception here which was great. Although the Honeymoon suite was booked for our specific date we got the older Honeymoon suite/executive suite which was just as good. Food and staff were lovely as always. Music in the bar was great entertainment. Would definitely recommend and also be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Called into the Silver Tassie to purchase a gift voucher, the receptionist was busy on a call she was very apologetic for keeping me and as she was so helpful and friendly we decided to stay for some bar food. The bar wasn't overly busy and the was plenty of staff on, the food was lovely, hot, quick and reasonably priced but the staff were a let down. When we sat down a waiter greeted us by saying you want to eat while he was still walking past our table, when we finished out starter a waitress came over and just said finish very bluntly same with main course and it was a struggle to get the staffs attention to order another drink they were more interested in talking to the 2 young barman behind the bar. if the staff had paid a little more attention to us and addressed us in a politer manner this would have been a completely different experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jojo544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed here recently for a few nights. First thing I have to stay is the advertised location is very deceptive in my view; I booked this as being in letterkenny as that's what the address says. It's way out the country and should be advertised as such. I assumed by the address given ie ramelton road, letterkenny that the hotel is actually in/near the town...anyways got over that and stayed in the hotel, and was greeted by very nice and welcoming staff.
The room was fine, but backed onto a view of a gas tank and rubbish bins; certainly not the image of Donegal I had in my head! Decor and cleanliness were fine. Shower only ok, sent out boiling hot water intermittently though so you had to be careful. Ate dinner one night in the hotel and again it was pretty uninspiring and basic enough fair really. No real attempt to dress up the mashed potatoes or veg.
The breakfast was nice but again underwhelming. Why use cheap type black and white pudding in this day and age? It's really bad quality and wouldn't eat that low quality at home, let alone when on holidays! Rest of the breakfast was fine, nothing amazing. Also, small thing, but you really should invest in a few toast holders. For a four star hotel to serve toast pilled on a side plate is below par these days.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin1982_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
3.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
3.2 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,111 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#3 of 12 in Letterkenny
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,224 reviews
4.0 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
3.6 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa

Property: Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Address: Ramelton Road, Letterkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
#1 Luxury Hotel in Letterkenny
#1 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa is only a 5 minute drive from the town of Letterkenny and a 15 minute drive from Rathmullan Beach. Renowned for excellent service and award winning food the hotel has everything you need to make your stay memorable including DVD players in the bedrooms and complimentary library of DVD's and books. Sample our specialty Seaweed baths in our Seascape Spa, just one of the many treatments & ways to relax. Golf courses, surfing, walking, horse riding and Glenveagh National, are a short drive from the Hotel. An ideal base to tour the North West Coast with Derry City only 33km away. Free WIFI access throughout the hotel. Hotel guests can avail of complimentary use of the Aura Leisure Centre Swimming Pool which is ten minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Tassie Hotel Letterkenny
Silver Tassie Hotel And Spa
Silver Tassie Letterkenny
Hotel Silver Tassie
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa Letterkenny, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing