We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE best climb in ireland..quite possibly”
Review of Mount Errigal

Mount Errigal
Ranked #2 of 28 things to do in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“THE best climb in ireland..quite possibly”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

For the sake of the environment its best to start at the public car-park (there are several other routes, including the challenging NW ridge) ..a boggy start soon gives way to a 30 degree ridge walk, which may be windy but is very obvious, and the views from the top twin peaks are simply stunning. best done in late evening or early morning, to see the huge conical shadow of the mountain reach out towards the islands. Golden eagles can sometimes be seen soaring overhead,and the lakes, hills, and islands of Donegal are all around.In summer ..wear insect repellent! good strong shoes are needed as the quatzite rock is harsh, and moves a bit under foot. its a magical, special, beautiful airy summit..and you can see for miles and miles. 2.5 hours for a easy total trip..1 hr return for fit young mountain goats.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Brendan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    32
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great climb but be prepared!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

First off, I climb the Mourne Mountains regularly. So before climbing I read a review on here about the boggy ground and need for welly boots. My partner didn't believe me about the wellies until we arrived at the car park at Errigal. The bog was a nightmare and dangerous at parts. We crossed the river at the start... big mistake, as the bog sucked us up and was quite terrifying! Everyone else who was climbing had made this mistake too. Keep on the right hand side of river, but be alert as its still very boggy, the muck went past our ankles constantly!

From one extreme to the next the terrain turns into loose shale. So walking boots on we climbed up to the top and were rewarded with fantastic views. Scenery is splendid, definitely worth the effort! On our way down the frustration of the bog hacked us off so much, that we decided to walk along the river, on top of the reeds and long patches of grass, which saved so much time!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoochio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“looked amazing with a dusting of snow”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Was there during a period of snow - looked very impressive from Dunlewie village. The poison glen was also very pretty.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
syracuse, new york
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Scenery is amazing and eerie at same time”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We spent 2 weeks renting a cottage at the foothill of Mount Errigal, a 35 minute drive from Letterkenny in May of 2013. To go from the green and lush Letterkenny to the rocky and barren Dunlewey was awe inspiring. You pass many peat bogs, which I have never seen. The roads are narrow, the mountains are gorgeous, and you feel truly transported to another world. The hiking through the Poision Glen, as well as Mount Errigal is wonderful. Be warned however it IS remote but I have been to Ireland many times, always staying in the touristy South. This was by FAR my favorite trip. Here we saw the truest Ireland. Donegal county is one where nature abounds, not shops with cheap trinkets. The people open their arms and fold you in. If you want to see Ireland at its best... Donegal county is one of the places to go...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank getgoing2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donegal
Level Contributor
124 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view.”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

When you reach the summit of this wonderful mountain the view on a clear day it takes you breath. It can be tough going getting to the top but once there you don't want to leave.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank marypatrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Errigal also viewed

Letterkenny, County Donegal
 
Letterkenny, County Donegal
Dunfanaghy, County Donegal
 

Been to Mount Errigal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing