We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rudderless cup trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
dublin
1 review
“Rudderless cup trip”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed 7 days this September on a Golfing trip, 12 Americans and 12 irish.
Breakfast great, staff very attentive, came back after a wet day and manager
Brought up heaters to room for us to dry out. Could not do enough for us!
Excellent bar, great location. Will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dublinharry70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antoinette C, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Dublin Harry70,

It was a such a pleasure to welcome both yourself and your group to Gallagher's Hotel, the team and I are delighted to read you lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us and I am so pleased you enjoyed everything we had to offer. Indeed that was an extremely wet day and it was my pleasure that I was able to help you in any way I was only too delighted to be able to assist . Looking forward to your next trip to Letterkenny and Gallagher's Hotel.
Many thanks &
Warm Regards,
Antoinette Coyle
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    234
    120
    68
    37
See reviews for
77
293
25
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Good central location, staff friendly and food good. Only criticism I would have is that sound proofing in rooms might be better.(we heard our neighbour snoring all night). But all in all an enjoyable stay and would recommend it to others.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antoinette C, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Michael W,
So delighted to read you enjoyed all the facilities in Gallagher's Hotel and with the hotel's town center location it is ideal for visitors to either use as as a touring base or for a weekend break away , both myself and my team are really pleased you had such a lovely experience with us as we look forward to welcoming you back really soon where a warm welcome awaits.

Warm regards,
Antoinette Coyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed here with a few friends - Its a lovely modern hotel in the centre of the town.. Check in staff were lovely - Food was pretty good, staff were very nice and looked after us well. The only thing they charged €7.50 for a few glasses to be taken to the room!! I understand this was their policy but i was out raged being charged for a few glasses!!! I would stay here again & I would recommend this hotel..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HS20112011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antoinette C, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Gallagher's for your recent stay in Letterkenny we are delighted to read that you found everything clean, and you enjoyed our food and service, it is indeed in a prime location for either business or leisure.
We do indeed provide a room service menu for food & beverages which there is a charge of €6.50 per tray, and It was disappointing to read you were charged for glasses to be delivered to your room, I apologise for any misunderstanding with the room service and we do hope to see you visit us in the very near future again.
Many thanks &
Sincere Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Arrived for a 3 day stay had to change rooms door locks and window locks broken. From then on the hotel continually failed to meet any decent standards. Decor tired Rooms not cleaned properly, staff poor and prices high. Restaurant took ages to serve food which when served was ok however breakfast was poor. Overall a tired hotel in need of refurbishment and staff that needs to remember who is paying their wages.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickeyp33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antoinette C, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear MickeyP33,
Thank you for your feedback, however I find your review very confusing, as I myself actually served you your dinner on one of the evenings which is cooked from fresh ingredients to order and as there was steaks depending on how they are cooked can take a little longer, and I then spoke with you again about your day on another occasion had you been anywhere nice? or to an attraction such as a sea drive but you had informed me you all had gone shopping, I feel you had ample opportunity to mention any grievance you may have had whilst you were here and I would have been delighted to rectify any problems you may have had, as you said you had a problem with the door lock and we had no hesitation in moving you to a different room, as you were on a package from Leisure Breaks NI which included Complimentary accommodation for 3 nights with a minimal charge for dinner and breakfast I feel your comments are not giving a true picture as one of the manager's actually asked you on checkout and all you mentioned was about the pillows not being fixed a certain way by housekeeping and you commented on the door lock as I have said previously it is such a pity as I would have been more than delighted and also my team would have preferred to amend things whilst you were here and I am sorry we were not given the chance to do so.
Many thanks,
Antoinette Coyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nothern ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

lovely modern hotel in the centre of the town.. great food and staff. ideal for people lookin for a close base to explore the town especially the night life and local shops. we stopped in it for a brief overnight stay on route home from further south. would be perfect for stags and hens due to close nature of clubs and pubs. carpark is beneath the hotel which is also handy too. the breakfast and meal we had couldn't have been better.

Room Tip: higher rooms would be a quieter due to proximity of nitelife
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emaigh21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antoinette C, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Emaigh,
Thank you for such a lovely review, and I appreciate your feedback recommending the hotels facilities and delighted to hear you enjoyed the food at both breakfast and dinner, and our team of staff here are so pleased by your comments as they do focus on the guests and I hope we get the opportunity to give you another warm welcome in the near future.
Sincere Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed at Gallagher's the night of Saturday 31st. I really like town of Letterkenny and this hotel is nice in terms of decor and excellently situated. However, our room was next door to some very undesirable guests and we were subjected to the night from hell. Of course, the hotel cannot preempt the sort of people who are going check into its rooms; however, the way the staff dealt with this situation was appalling. Our neighbours held the entire first floor to ransom by shouting, screaming, banging and knocking on doors, running amok through the corridors, shouting to people on the street, trashing the room and sneaking in people from outside from midnight until half seven in the morning. Despite receiving complaints from several of guests, (two strong worded calls from ourselves at various points through out the sleepless night) the staff made little attempt to quell our dissatisfaction and remove these people. Why would Gallaghers wish to have such inappropriate and threatening guests ruining its reputation? They need to consider the needs of civilised paying customers who come to the hotel for a retreat and not, as we ended up, to be subjected to chavvy and violent behaviour. We left Gallaghers feeling less rested than when we arrived,and paid almost one hundred pounds for the privilege.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antoinette C, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear ML,

Thank you for your review, can you contact me directly in regards to your recent stay.
gm@gallaghershotel.com

00353879855430
00353749122066
Sincere Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killala co Mayo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Letterkenny is a great town and Gallaghers Hotel a great Hotel to stay in. The staff are excellent and also is the service. I would recomend this Hotel to anyone.The bar facilities were good and also the food was great.

Room Tip: We were in a back room overlooking the carpark. It was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noreen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antoinette C, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
02/09/2013
Thank you Noreen for your feedback on your recent stay in Letterkenny, really delighted to read your comments and recommendations on our food and staff and indeed Letterkenny. We are ideally located and Letterkenny has a lot to offer all visitors.
Many thanks again Noreen and hope to see you back with us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
1.6 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
0.9 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,191 reviews
3.6 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny

Property: Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
Address: 100 Main Street, Letterkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest hotels in Letterkenny, Gallaghers Hotel is centrally located in the heart of this bustling town with state of the art facilities including the Ard na gCeapairí Bistro, Inis Meain room which serves a full bar food menu, Mc Carry's bar and top entertainment hotspot, Milan nightclub. This Letterkenny Hotel boasts the elegant Gaoth Dobhair Suite, which can accommodate up to 180 guests, ideal for the perfect Donegal wedding. The executive boardroom and the Gola Room facilitate smaller business meetings, which makes Gallaghers Hotel in Letterkenny an ideal conference and banqueting location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallaghers Hotel Letterkenny
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing