We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I feel like I'm sitting on rocks here as I type this. The chairs need to be replaced or redone. I requested a non smoking room on the upper floor. The room is not on an upper floor.It is right off an alley with a lot of noise. I checked in and rather then tell me at the time how to use the wifi I had to go back to the reception and get instructions for bit buzz. I don't think I'll come back. No pool or fitness centre.

Room Tip: Go some where else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomapar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanTopping, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Boccigallupo,

Thank you for your review of your stay. I'm sorry you didn't like the feel of our seats. You were accommodated in an upper floor of the hotel, however as the hotel is built on the side of a hill, the rooms at the rear are nearer the ground. I'm sorry you were disappointed that we don't have a pool or fitness centre however we do not advertise that we have these facilities anywhere! I hope you will be back in Letterkenny soon and will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Kind regards,

Jonathan Topping

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 733 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in August with my family for three nights. First impressions were good but that quickly changed after meeting the staff at the front desk. the girl at reception did not welcome us at all and seemed quite eager to push us along. we have two small children aged 4 and 6..the youngest said hello to the receptionist who in turn totally blanked her! Friendliness scored a zero right there and then! we were happy with the rooms spacious wise but were disappointed in the lack of towels and toiletries supplied for a family. Cleaners never left new toilet rolls either. Location is good as in its central but our room overlooked a side street where young clubbers decided to start fighting and swearing outside our room waking our children up. My husband rang down to the night porter but he said they were not guests so if we had a problem we should ring the guards ourselves. I will definately not return to this hotel and would warn all parents with families to avoid this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holly824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanTopping, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear holly824,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay in Gallaghers Hotel. I'm really disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay, particularly that you felt my team were not friendly as this is something for which we are renowned. I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you and show you the genuine hospitality and warm welcome that is highlighted in so many other reviews on this site.

Kind regards,

Jonathan Topping

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed for two nights with my twin for my birthday celebration upgrading to their suite. The hotel was very clean and the room was lovely. There are however many negatives to my time staying here. As a surprise my brother's girlfriend and mine came down to visit us on Monday night..we went out to a bar that night and when returning to the hotel the night porter told us the gfs were not allowed as it was residents only. The girls were wanting to stay as they had driven a long distance so they asked how much it was for a room, the night porter told us 89 euro. My brother and I booked through hotels.com cheaper at 49 euro so my girlfriend rang them instead to get a room. Hotels.com asked to speak to whoever was on duty so my girlfriend handed the phone to the night porter. He then responded to her saying ''its ok go on ahead''. My gf asked are you sure and his reponse was yes. Upon leaving the hotel, the two girls were charged 100 euro!!!! absolutely ridiculous...especially when the girls were more than willing to pay!! Secondly, we were accused of smoking in the room when none of us even smoke...strange?! This was probably caused by residents before us as there was strangely plastic or something over the smoke alarm...something which we did not remove. Thirdly, we accidently broke a glass bottle of the complimentary room water and admitted to it. My gf tried to pick the glass up and clean but cut her hand so I insisted she left it until the cleaners could lift it safely with a brush and pan. We got charged for this broken glass...and for the water spillage on the carpet which was obviously wet!!! A wake up call was asked for in order to be up on time for breakfast...we woke at 10.50 and rang down for breakfast to be told it stopped serving at 10.30...we received no call. Reception said they rang however when we asked for proof they said it was on the system but they would not show it to us...! The manageress was extremely rude to us all, including hanging up the phone when we rang after. The reason we upgraded to the suite was for the jacuzzi but upon arrival we were told it was not available for health and safety reasons?! stupid! We will never be back to this hotel as the service and customer care was ridiculous. We contacted hotels.com to share our awful experience and they very kindly compensated us with vouchers but honestly nothing would make this hotel experience any better!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JAYHEANEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanTopping, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Jay Heaney,

Thank you for your review of you stay in Gallaghers Hotel. Since reading your review I have investigated your issues and I believe that a number of your issues result in a breakdown in communication between members of my team and for that I apologise. As you can read from the numerous other reviews on this and other sites we take pride in the levels of service and hospitality that we provide and it appears that on this occasion we have failed to meet out own high standards. I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you and I look forward to welcoming you back to Gallaghers Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jonathan Topping

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 20th -22nd September for our anniversary. We where checked in very quickly and staff where very friendly. Room was very clean and done the job. Only negatives were having to take 2 lifts to get to the room & 2 to get back out as our room was on 3rd floor. Also car parking was a bit of a nightmare as it was full but not a lot the hotel could do on that front.

Location is great and yes we would return!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shiv2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanTopping, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Shiv2010,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay in Gallaghers Hotel. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay. I understand your feedback regarding the lifts, however as the hotel is situated on a steep hill, the building was designed this way. Free carparking in a city centre hotel will always be limited due to space, however we do try to ensure that our 40 spaces are utilised as efficiently as possible. I hope you will be back in Ireland and more specifically Letterkenny soon and will give us another opportunity to serve you in Gallaghers Hotel.

Kind regards,

Jonathan Topping

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed 1 night in this hotel September 2013. Location was great. Reasonably priced. Staff was very welcoming at front desk. Rooms were spacious and clean. Didn't get to eat in restaurant. Small thing....parking and elevators are a bit confusing in hotel.
Would forsure stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi0329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanTopping, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Heidi0329,

Thank you for your recent kind comments regarding your stay in Gallaghers Hotel. I'm really delighted you enjoyed your stay and I'm pleased you recognised the warm welcome and genuine hospitality that our front desk, indeed all our staff, deliver. I hope you will be back in Ireland soon and I can welcome you back to Gallaghers Hotel.

Kind regards,

Jonathan Topping

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed with my sister for 1 night to blow off some steam in a great location and reasonably priced!
Rooms were spacious & clean totally loved it.
Checked out the menu for dinner and other than the fact we had dinner plans would have loved to have eaten here as the menu looked amazing!
I had a full breakfast the next day and I have to say it was very good.
Staff were brilliant, cheerful and just generally nice and friendly. Not a thing more that I can say about this great hotel tho the parking facilities not great!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AileenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanTopping, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear AileenP,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay in Gallaghers Hotel. I, and the team, really appreciate receiving such positive feedback and I hope I will see you back in Letterkenny and at Gallaghers Hotel soon,

Kind regards,

Jonathan Topping

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed 7 days this September on a Golfing trip, 12 Americans and 12 irish.
Breakfast great, staff very attentive, came back after a wet day and manager
Brought up heaters to room for us to dry out. Could not do enough for us!
Excellent bar, great location. Will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dublinharry70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antoinette C, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear Dublin Harry70,

It was a such a pleasure to welcome both yourself and your group to Gallagher's Hotel, the team and I are delighted to read you lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us and I am so pleased you enjoyed everything we had to offer. Indeed that was an extremely wet day and it was my pleasure that I was able to help you in any way I was only too delighted to be able to assist . Looking forward to your next trip to Letterkenny and Gallagher's Hotel.
Many thanks &
Warm Regards,
Antoinette Coyle
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
1.6 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
383 reviews
3.6 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny

Address: 100 Main Street, Letterkenny F92 C440, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range: £47 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest hotels in Letterkenny, Gallaghers Hotel is centrally located in the heart of this bustling town with state of the art facilities including the Ard na gCeapairí Bistro, Inis Meain room which serves a full bar food menu, Mc Carry's bar and top entertainment hotspot, Milan nightclub. This Letterkenny Hotel boasts the elegant Gaoth Dobhair Suite, which can accommodate up to 180 guests, ideal for the perfect Donegal wedding. The executive boardroom and the Gola Room facilitate smaller business meetings, which makes Gallaghers Hotel in Letterkenny an ideal conference and banqueting location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallaghers Hotel Letterkenny
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing