We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic service !”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

On checking in we discovered that our room was a smoking one even though we did mention a non smoking one on reservation. We complained to the reception and we were straight away given an upgrade. This time a non smoking one ! The room was clean with all the basic facilities. Breakfast was fine. One morning there were no soda bread (which we really like). It was brought in straight away...and with a smile. All the staff were very courteous, helpful and fabulous. A private parking is a definite plus. Will definitely choose this hotel again..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clearsea51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanTopping, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Clearsea51,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay in Gallaghers Hotel. I'm really pleased that despite there being a couple of hiccups during your stay we were able to solve every issue with a smile and panache! I hope you'll be back to Ireland soon and I can welcome you back to Gallaghers Hotel.

Kind regards,

Jonathan Topping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    235
    122
    71
    37
See reviews for
79
297
25
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Can't fault this hotel, bed was very comfy. Room very clean and had a great nights sleep. Close to all bars and restaurants. Was on special for €49 for room, had everything we needed. Staff were lovely.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Celine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanTopping, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Celine M,

It's always great to read about how great the team of people who work in Gallaghers Hotel are. They work hard to ensure that every guest stay is special, whether it's in housekeeping to ensure every room is spotless, from reception who deal with every enquiry with professionalism and attention to detail, to the food & beverage staff who love nothing more that having a chat about your time in Letterkenny or to share the secret of their amazing Mojitos!

I will share your comments with the team and I hope I can welcome you back to Gallaghers Hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Jonathan Topping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Was taken here with a bunch of friends for my own surprise birthday, we had dinner and drinks in the restaurant, the food and service was great, can't fault a thing! The rooms lovely and the location is fab for a night out, will def be back again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magpie197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanTopping, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Magpie197,

Thank you for writing such a brilliant review of your stay in Gallaghers Hotel. I hope you were properly surprised by your friends for your birthday but that you'll come back to Letterkenny and Gallaghers Hotel again soon.

Thanks again for your kind comments,

Kind regards,

Jonathan Topping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Just spent a very happy two days in Gallagher’s with “the gals” whilst visiting the area for a friend’s wedding. Gallagher’s is the perfect base for a weekend of fun – we were within minutes of a selection of restaurants and bars and critically the hotel served a fantastically cheap fat-laden breakfast for when you are feeling like doom from a night of Guinness.

The hotel was generally quiet and peaceful, apart from both nights I heard girls cackling and squealing in the corridors around 4/5am. But they were clearly having an absolute blast and my bed was so wonderfully comfy that it barely impacted on my sleep/stay. However, if you are a misery guts and a bit of laughter (or 40 girls dressed in learner plates, willy shaped headbands etc) is going to upset you then it may be one to avoid.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JokeswithOakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanTopping, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear JokeswithOakes,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of you recent stay in Gallaghers Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed our "fat-laden" breakfast - which I love! But I should point out that there are always healthy options available like porridge, dried fruit, fresh sliced fruit salad, and granola.

I hope you'll be back in Ireland, Donegal and Letterkenny soon and I can welcome you back to Gallaghers Hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Jonathan Topping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Had a fantastic stay in Gallaghers Hotel on saturday the 12th of April. Absolutely lovely hotel, perfect location for a night out in letterkenny and brilliant value for money! Bed was very comfortable :) Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niamhm985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanTopping, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear niamhm985,

Thank you so much for your great review! I really enjoy reading brilliant feedback, especially about the wonderful team of people who work in Gallaghers Hotel to make each guests stay really memorable and special. I'm delighted you'll be coming back soon - see you then!

Kind regards,

Jonathan Topping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Gallaghers on a Saturday night & although its a great central location it was very peaceful. Staff were very friendly, rooms were great & breakfast was lovely.would definitely stay there again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jhughes49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanTopping, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear JHughes49,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent say in Gallaghers Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your time with us and I hope I can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Jonathan Topping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Gallaghers Hotel is right in the heart of Letterkenny. No complaints about this hotel which our tour company used for our trip. We were over for St, Patricks day parade and we could not have chosen a better viewpoint as the hotel was on the main road where the parade passed.
Bedroom was large and warm, which was a good point as it was very cold a night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shottsfotomaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanTopping, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Shottsfotomaker,

Thank you for your review of your stay over St Patricks Day. Our location is ideal for any visit to Letterkenny, being in the heart of the town, however I'm pleased you were able to take advantage of the glass front to the hotel in order to stay warm while watching the St Patricks Day parade!
I hope you will be back to Letterkenny soon and I will be able to welcome you back to Gallaghers Hotel then.

Kind regards,

Jonathan Topping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letterkenny
0.1 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#3 of 12 in Letterkenny
340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
1.6 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
0.9 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,224 reviews
10.7 mi away
Jackson's Hotel
Jackson's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny

Property: Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
Address: 100 Main Street, Letterkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest hotels in Letterkenny, Gallaghers Hotel is centrally located in the heart of this bustling town with state of the art facilities including the Ard na gCeapairí Bistro, Inis Meain room which serves a full bar food menu, Mc Carry's bar and top entertainment hotspot, Milan nightclub. This Letterkenny Hotel boasts the elegant Gaoth Dobhair Suite, which can accommodate up to 180 guests, ideal for the perfect Donegal wedding. The executive boardroom and the Gola Room facilitate smaller business meetings, which makes Gallaghers Hotel in Letterkenny an ideal conference and banqueting location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallaghers Hotel Letterkenny
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing