We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Dungarvan, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with husband and little girl..Clean hotel. Nice breakfast and evening meals are generous and a good selection on menu.
Room clean. In town centre so not much walking required for shopping.
Reception staff were welcoming and gave us information on where to visit .

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Deisejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanTopping, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Deisejoe,

Thank you for your very kind recent review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your time in Gallaghers Hotel and were able to enjoy dinner in our Inis Meain restaurant. I hope you will be back in Letterkenny soon and I can welcome you back to Gallaghers Hotel then,

Kind regards,

Jonathan Topping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    228
    116
    67
    37
See reviews for
76
282
24
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Hotel: The reception, Mezzanine/Bar and corridors are nice, clean and modern. Hotel car park can fill up pretty fast but car park available across the road.

Location: Fantastic location in the centre of Letterkenny town, within a reasonable driving distance of Malin head (1 Hour), Derry city (40mins) and Glenavey National Park (20mins).

Bedroom: We were upgraded to a large Executive Room on 2nd Floor with a two seater couch. Room was clean and modern. I wouldn’t say it was very quiet though as on Saturday night there was girls from a hen (1 of 5 that night) roaring and shouting at 5am in the morning.

Food: Only had breakfast at the hotel no other meal. Breakfast room is quiet small so on Sunday morning it was crazy busy. Buffet breakfast wasn’t fantastic taste wise and some items were slightly cold but there was a good choice.

Staff: All staff throughout the hotel were extremely friendly and efficient.

I would recommend this hotel for its location. Avoid on a Saturday night if your looking for a relaxing break though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elryan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanTopping, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear elryan1,

Thank you for your recent kind review. I'm really pleased we were able to upgrade you and you had a great time during your stay in Gallaghers Hotel. I hope you will be back in Letterkenny soon and I can welcome you back to Gallaghers Hotel then.

Kind regards,

Jonathan Topping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Enjoyed our stay at Gallaghers in Letterkenny in May 2014. Room was OK comfy beds - no view because window faced a ramp --- great service at bar and restaurant. Location was good -- I can recommend just because of the great staff in the restaurant and bar

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanTopping, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Gary T,

Thank you for your recent kind review. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your time with us in Gallaghers Hotel and particularly that you highlighted the great service we provide in all areas, but particularly the bar and restaurant.

Kind regards,

Jonathan Topping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

So disappointed. It was a joke no law and order in this hotel at all. Fighting, fighting in rooms tat we could here from ares lads trowing bottles out the windows. Needs to law and order before we would stay here again stayed here before and taught it was a lovely hotel. Food was only ok was trowing up.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Amykimkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanTopping, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Amykimkelly,

We employ a team of security to ensure that our guests enjoy a safe and secure stay with us. Should there be an issue, our team move quickly to deal with any situation to minimise the impact on our other guests.

Regards,

Jonathan Topping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

this hotel is located in a perfect spot of the town thats why we decided to stay here for 1 night.before entering our room,corridors were in mess,glasses,trays,left over food ect..it might happen sometimes but we checked in at 4.45pm... room cleanliness was below average.mirror had dirty hand prints from a child of a family who stayed there before us.shower curtain was dirty also.
I recommend to choose an other hotel in town if you can.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jakusjani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanTopping, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear jakusjani,

Thank you for your recent review and please accept my apologies if our level of cleanliness did not match our usual high standards. We have a great housekeeping team who work hard to ensure that the standards remain high, however it is clear from your comments that we failed to meet our own expectations. I have passed your comments to my housekeeping manager to ensure that what you experienced is not repeated. As you can see from other comments on this, and other review sites, we are well renowned for our cleanliness. I hope you will be back in Letterkenny and choose to stay with us in Gallaghers Hotel again.

Kind regards,

Jonathan Topping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

With two families with similar names, it was not helpful to find we were given the key for a room already occupied by another couple. Especially as they were in the middle of "unpacking" when we blundered into their room! Not sure who was more surprised-us or them! Given an alternative room, the card key was wrongly programmed and would not work so we spent quite some time resolving staff errors.
Being with a group meal times were set with no flexibility and courses rushed through for the benefit if the staff, not the clients. Would not visit again when touring in the area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanTopping, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Richard B,

Thank you for your recent review. Please accept my apologies for the mix up during your recent stay, I have spoken with the front office team regarding your comments and reviewed the process for issuing keys to ensure that your experience does not happen again. I hope you will give us another chance to show you the warmth of welcome and genuine hospitality for which we are renowned.

Kind regards,

Jonathan Topping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were so disappointed asked fo 2 separate beds there was one bed and a pull out bed that nobody ever told us about. The room was stuffy and smelly (stinking of smelly feet and stale tobacco and alcohol) We will certainly not be back. We paid for bed and breakfast but we would not dare touch breakfast judging by the rooms. We just paid and left, disgusted.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJBGalway_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanTopping, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear MJBGalway_Ireland,

Thank you for the recent review. I'm really disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay with us, your review in no way reflects the standards which we try and maintain for our guests. I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you and you will be able to recognise the quality of cleanliness, friendliness and service which we provide.

Thank you again for your comments,

Kind regards,

Jonathan Topping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
1.6 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#5 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
0.1 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
3.6 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny

Property: Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
Address: 100 Main Street, Letterkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest hotels in Letterkenny, Gallaghers Hotel is centrally located in the heart of this bustling town with state of the art facilities including the Ard na gCeapairí Bistro, Inis Meain room which serves a full bar food menu, Mc Carry's bar and top entertainment hotspot, Milan nightclub. This Letterkenny Hotel boasts the elegant Gaoth Dobhair Suite, which can accommodate up to 180 guests, ideal for the perfect Donegal wedding. The executive boardroom and the Gola Room facilitate smaller business meetings, which makes Gallaghers Hotel in Letterkenny an ideal conference and banqueting location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallaghers Hotel Letterkenny
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing