We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, friendly staff, wonderful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great value, friendly staff, wonderful hotel!”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I have had the pleasure of staying in the Station House Hotel overnight, as well as eating in the restaurant on numerous occasions, together with having attended regular meetings in their function room and the boardroom, as well as having attended birthday parties there!

I have always been greeted by wonderfully friendly staff, who are more than helpful.

The rooms are lovely and spacious and very comfortable. The restaurant has a great menu, with brilliant choice and I have found the staff quite helpful in dealing with any dietary needs.

The hotel is very centrally located, so is convenient to all amenities. The rates are extremely reasonable considering the quality and location of this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare_N82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBDLetterkenny, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Clare

What a delightful review, thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to describe your recent experience at the Station House. Your tag line description epitomises our passion for achieving excellence and for going the extra mile with our guests. We are also recently in receipt of The Travellers Choice Award 2012 from Tripadvisor, so we are extremely excited and looking forward to a great year ahead. We look forward to welcoming you back tvery soon!

Yours truly

Siobhan Barrett-Doherty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    197
    44
    18
    22
See reviews for
115
287
27
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed 2 nights in october. Had a lovely relaxing stay. Room was really warm comfortable an spotless. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Definitely stay again

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthiey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBDLetterkenny, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear Ruth

On behalf of Team Station House, thank you for your delightful review. We pride ourselves on our excellent guest service standards and levels of cleanliness. Your kind positive words are very rewarding and very much appreciated. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Station House in the near future

Kindest Regards

Siobhan Barrett-Doherty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

great hotel, excellent location, fabulous big well appointed rooms, very clean, staff very good

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buzz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBDLetterkenny, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Dear Busy Mom

What a wonderful, kind review...On behalf of our team thank you most sincerely for taking the time to review your recent stay. Your comments are very encouraging and we will continue to work diligently to maintain our excellent customer care reputation. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Station House in the near future

Kindest Regards

Siobhan Barrett-Doherty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Its a long time since I came across a hotel so clean and spacious. this really should be a four star hotel as rooms ooze space and comfort, food is great and staff are excellent. Could not fault this hotel at all, have stayed on one of the hotels on main street before and it was same star rating but by god the difference is worlds apart, excellent location also to the shopping centre and town centre, will definately return

Room Tip: think all the rooms are as good as each other, we booked a family room which was 60 euro and have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBDLetterkenny, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear Noel 77

Happy New Year...Thank you most sincerely for taking the time review your recent stay with us. Your kind comments are most rewarding and encouraging as we begin another wonderful year ahead of looking after our valued guests. We have a very diligent team who perform beyond guests expectations and your review is testimony of our hard work and dedicated commitment to providing customer service excellence. So once again a huge thank you from Team Station House and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back as soon as your travel plans permit

Warmest Regards

Siobhan Barrett-Doherty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

a one night stay; got a good price (worth trying a little negotiation....) - Room was fine & clean.... didn't eat during this stay, but have eaten here before & found the food to be good, without being "special". One minor gripe was so few channels available on the TV.... oh, and the free wireless only extends to the bar area.... there is free broadband connection through ethenet cable, but no use for iPhone, iPad, etc...

Room Tip: there is a function suite on the ground floor - we were on fllor 3 & had no noise at all... woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank realalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBDLetterkenny, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Dear Alan

Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are renowned for fine cuisine and cleanliness. Your comments re the same are much appreciated and well received by team Station House. In reference to your wifi minor gripe, we are in the process of extending our free wifi service beyond our public areas and in time all our bedrooms will have complete wifi access. I am sure you can appreciate from your experience that we are continuing to improve our guest service standards on an on going basis and in the near future the wifi operation will be complete. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Station House as soon as your travel plans permit

Warmest Regards

Siobhan Barrett-Doherty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Very impressed with this hotel,we got a great rate for a one night stay,hotel was clean,friendly staff,spacious well equiped room,fantastic bed in a quiet room,slept really well,excellent location for shopping or socialising in letterkenny,I will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irelandbroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leinster, Ireland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I know, I know, I dont award five stars easily, but bear with me and I will explain how the Hotel earned it's stars...

For all my travels over the World, one part of Ireland I had never been to was Co. Donegal.
It wasnt planned to be this way, it was just the way life turned out. Until now.

I was invited up to Letterkenny by a friend who lives in Donegal, and am I glad that I did!

Not having a clue where to stay, I asked what would be a good place to stay, and she recommended I check out The Station House Hotel.

Naturally, I also checked out my trusty Tripadvisor too, and was impressed at the reviews, so took the plunge, and booked.

On arrival, it seemed pretty unremarkable appearance wise, a large, modern early noughties building.

I checked in, and the the staff were efficient and helpful on the evening shift.
Reception was warm and welcoming, and the public area was very clean and festive. Like!

Upon entering my room, I was very pleased at how modern and very clean that it was for the price. The only downside was the apparent lack of an Ironing Board and Iron as part of the
wardrobe set. Small quibble I know, but you take it for granted everywhere that it is part of the room these days! Nevertheless, when I brought it to the attention of the hotel staff, the necessary iron and board appeared very quickly indeed. Impressive!!!

Another little quibble was the serving of a glass of beer in a small rum and cola glass, which I brought to the attention of the bar-tender. Apparently it is the custom up here in Donegal, so
took it as normal.

I had a very restful night's sleep, and as Letterkenny is essentially a Party Town (think Galway, but on steriods!!!) a good nights rest is assured after the wild partying you may get up to!

Skipped Breakfast, as I had a late lie in, and got Lunch instead, which was excellent value for a four course meal (€18.50). Check out was superb, and the Manager was most accomodating and eager to improve the Customer experience. He genuinely meant it!

Marking this Hotel was hard, as whilst it was not perfect, it was obvious it was under new management, and the staff were working hard to improve the Hotel. With such sustained effort and the obvious diligent and pleasant staff, and the friendly environment, when the sum of it's parts was added up, I have no hesitation in awarding top marks.

This is a Hotel on the up and up, and for superb value, it is highly recommended.

A must stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
0.4 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
1.7 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
4.0 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station House Hotel Letterkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station House Hotel Letterkenny

Property: Station House Hotel Letterkenny
Address: Lower Main St, Letterkenny, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Encore)
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Letterkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
#6 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Station House Hotel Letterkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Professional family run boutique style hotel located in the heart of Letterkenny. Conveniently located within walking distance from the high street shopping area, theatre, multi screen cinema and all the culture and night life that makes Letterkenny such a delight. Offering year round entertainment, Letterkenny is the perfect base for exploring the diversity and magnificent beauty of County Donegal. We endeavour to provide you with an unforgettable stay, let our family take care of your family! We look forward to welcoming you soon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Station House Hotel Letterkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Letterkenny
Letterkenny Ramada
Station House Hotel Letterkenny County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing