We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
Nearby Hotels
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny(Letterkenny)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dillons Hotel(Letterkenny)
US$142
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clanree Hotel(Letterkenny)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (739)
Filter reviews
739 results
Traveller rating
434
208
55
20
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
434
208
55
20
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswet rooma living social dealdunnes storesgreat hotelsaturday nightrecommend this hotelwalk in showerthe main streetsteak nightgiants causewayfirst floorstaff were very friendlylive musictown centreboth nightsgood sizecentral location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
382 - 387 of 739 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Judging by past reviews, maybe I caught these folks on a bad night. I found one member of the bar staff to be fairly unaccommodating and it took ages to get served drinks Also one of the waitresses messed up our order and had a bit of an attitude problem.

I ordered carbonara which wasn't the best. It came with garlic bread which was lacking flavour and soggy. The carbonara itself was also lacking flavour. Instead of crispy pancetta I got chewy bacon//ham, it was swimming in cream (carbonara isn't supposed to have cream), the mushrooms and onions were underdone and the pasta was overcooked.

In their defense, it was quite busy, portion sizes were huge, the home made chips were nice if a little bit under-cooked and it wasn't too dear.

Having said that, there's better places to eat in Letterkennny in the same price bracket.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Oisin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Oisin G

Thank you for choosing the Station House for your recent dining out occasion. I am sorry that our Carbonara was not cooked to your liking. On our menu it clearly states that the Carbonara is cooked in a creamy garlic and parmesan sauce so our Chef has chosen to include cream in his recipe.

Please accept our apologies regarding the service issues you had, we have since implemented a customer service refresher course for all our team.

Thank you for your feedback, it is with constructive feedback like yours that ensures we continue to deliver on our excellent customer service standards.

We look forward to seeing you back in the Station House very soon.

With Kindest Regards

Siobhán Barrett-Doherty
Station House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had never stayed in this hotel before but were looking for a good deal in Letterkenny and this hotel offered just that!

We spent 3 lovely days here with B & B and one dinner for total of 170euro!! I had requested a room at the back, not overlooking the road, and this is what we got. The parking was free. We parked in the underground car park which easily assessed.

The hotel is in a perfect location being a very short walk from the main street and also from the array of shops, cinemas, etc. Our room was well appointed but as pointed out by previous reviewers lacked some storage space, e.g. drawers, etc. This does not pose a problem if you are only staying a few days. The rooms appeared to have been recently renovated with laminate floors and nicely tiled bathroom. There was no bath in our bathroom.

The breakfasts were lovely with the usual juices, cereals and breads. I did not notice any brown bread there but maybe it is available on request. Our dinner was lovely too with big portions and service was excellent.

One very pleasant event occurred on our arrival to this hotel which started us off on a very positive note. When we arrived we were informed that our room wasn't ready and we were swiftly handed a voucher for free tea, coffee and muffins in the bar by a very friendly receptionist! I cannot ever remember in any 4star we have stayed in being offered this service and it left a very good first impression.

If I were to visit Letterkenny again I would definitely return to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollieNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Mollie NorthEast

Thank you for choosing the Station House for your recent break away, it was our pleasure to have you as our guests.

Your kind review epitomises our core values and we continue to strive for guest service excellence. We ensure a warm traditional welcome and will go to great lengths to ensure that all our guests have a memorable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Station House in the near future.

Many thanks again & Best Wishes

Siobhán Barrett-Doherty
Station House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We have just stayed here for 4 nights, it's a great hotel, excellent staff, they are all great and a credit to the hotel, they are so friendly nothing is too much bother and always a smile. The rooms are lovely as are the bathrooms, would've liked a drawer to put underwear in apart from that you cannot fault it. The food was great and VERY plentiful we would highly recommend a stay here., Thank you to all at The Station Hotel for a great stay !!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alien1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Alien 1944

It is with great pleasure that I am responding to your wonderful review, on behalf of our team thank you and thank you also for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We take huge pride in our hospitality standards and work diligently to ensure that we meet and exceed our guests expectations.
Thank you for your kind reference to our staff, our great food and lovely bedrooms.

We would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future, or as soon as your travel plans permit you to be back in Donegal.

Warmest Regards,

Siobhán Barrett-Doherty
Station House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed here with my fiancé for one night, For a 3* hotel it was just fabulous.Rooms were modern and clean. Bathroom's were so unusual, loved the design of them. Food was so delicious and well worth the money with big portions,Staff were very helpful and welcoming, will definitely be back again!!...superb hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traceylou31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan Barrett D, Director of Sales at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Greetings Traceylou31

On behalf of our team thank you for your "fabulous" feedback! I am delighted that you had a brilliant Station House experience and thank you for your kind reference to our modern rooms, delicious food, excellent levels of cleanliness and great value.

We work diligently to ensure that all our guests have a memorable stay and look forward very much to you returning in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Siobhán Barrett-Doherty
Station House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed in the Station House Hotel recently as I was working in the area. The room was spotless and the bed was very comfy!
What impressed me most about my stay was the friendly welcome I received from every member of staff... They were all so pleasant and helpful. The Bar Food portions were plentiful & very tasty too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan Barrett D, Director of Sales at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Nicola C

On behalf of our team I am delighted to respond to your wonderful review, thank you for taking the time to advise others about your break away to the Station House.

We take huge pride in our customer service standards and your kind comments are testimony to our passion and commitment for delivering a warm and welcoming traditional hospitality experience.

It would be our absolute pleasure to invite you to come back and stay in the near future.

Once again Many thanks & Kindest Regards

Siobhán Barrett-Doherty
Station House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews