We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Noisy - No Sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Hotel was clean and very close to Letterkenny Main Street so position was excellent. Room was a good size and free Wi-Fi in the lobby and room. Breakfast was also fine.

However!
The noise in the hotel and directly outside caused probably my worst nights sleep ever in a hotel. The walls/floor and ceiling seem to transmit noise rather than block it. There seemed to be a party going on below our room to 5.30am. Also as there was no air con and it was very warm the windows had to be kept open. While it is no fault of the hotel it is situated on Letterkenny "racetrack" and from 1am to 4.30 am cars and motorbikes raced past the hotel. Every time a motorbike came round it stopped and revved til the limiter cut in. This would be a warning for anyone thinking a staying anywhere in Letterkenny centre as they raced round and round and I would recommend getting a room away from the centre. It was Saturday night so possibly other nights are quieter.

Room Tip: I was on the first floor which had a lot of road noise however I spoke to people who stayed on the 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Dave H

We were delighted to have you as our guest and on behalf of our team thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us.

Thank you for your kind reference to our excellent levels of cleanliness, great breakfast and complimentary wifi. We are indeed in an ideal town centre location with access to all amenities on our doorstep. Due to the convenience of our location, unfortunately with this comes traffic noise, this noise is completely out of our control and we clearly advise all our guests where we are situated.

We apologise for the noise pollution you experienced and trust that you will return to the Station House on your next visit to Letterkenny.

With Kindest Regards,


Siobhán Barrett-Doherty
Station House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 715 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed here at Easter with my husband my parents and my baby staff are friendly and helpful rooms are modern and very clean and food was excellent we had dinner in hotel during our whole stay as it was so good

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Caitriona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Catriona D

On behalf of team Station House, thank you most sincerely for your glowing review. We exercise a warm and welcoming traditional hospitality approach with all our guests and we strive to ensure that everyone has a fond and memorable stay.

Thank you for your kind reference to our bedrooms, cleanliness, excellent food and helpful staff. We look very much to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best Wishes & Warmest Regards

Siobhán Barrett-Doherty
Station House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed in the hotel for one night during a trip to the local area. The hotel was quiet but also bustling with excitement. The staff were extremely professional and friendly, meeting all of our needs and expectations.

Would recommend to anyone not only for the service but also for the price. Will most definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Richard M

It gives me great pleasure to respond to your excellent review, on behalf of our team thank you and thank you for taking the time to post the same.

We thoroughly enjoy going the extra mile for all our guests and I am delighted that we met and exceeded your expectations.

Your acknowledgement of our professional staff, great service and value for money is much appreciated. Thank you for choosing the Station House, assuring you of our continued personal attention.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards & Best Wishes

Siobhán Barrett-Doherty
Station House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Judging by past reviews, maybe I caught these folks on a bad night. I found one member of the bar staff to be fairly unaccommodating and it took ages to get served drinks Also one of the waitresses messed up our order and had a bit of an attitude problem.

I ordered carbonara which wasn't the best. It came with garlic bread which was lacking flavour and soggy. The carbonara itself was also lacking flavour. Instead of crispy pancetta I got chewy bacon//ham, it was swimming in cream (carbonara isn't supposed to have cream), the mushrooms and onions were underdone and the pasta was overcooked.

In their defense, it was quite busy, portion sizes were huge, the home made chips were nice if a little bit under-cooked and it wasn't too dear.

Having said that, there's better places to eat in Letterkennny in the same price bracket.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Oisin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Oisin G

Thank you for choosing the Station House for your recent dining out occasion. I am sorry that our Carbonara was not cooked to your liking. On our menu it clearly states that the Carbonara is cooked in a creamy garlic and parmesan sauce so our Chef has chosen to include cream in his recipe.

Please accept our apologies regarding the service issues you had, we have since implemented a customer service refresher course for all our team.

Thank you for your feedback, it is with constructive feedback like yours that ensures we continue to deliver on our excellent customer service standards.

We look forward to seeing you back in the Station House very soon.

With Kindest Regards

Siobhán Barrett-Doherty
Station House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had never stayed in this hotel before but were looking for a good deal in Letterkenny and this hotel offered just that!

We spent 3 lovely days here with B & B and one dinner for total of 170euro!! I had requested a room at the back, not overlooking the road, and this is what we got. The parking was free. We parked in the underground car park which easily assessed.

The hotel is in a perfect location being a very short walk from the main street and also from the array of shops, cinemas, etc. Our room was well appointed but as pointed out by previous reviewers lacked some storage space, e.g. drawers, etc. This does not pose a problem if you are only staying a few days. The rooms appeared to have been recently renovated with laminate floors and nicely tiled bathroom. There was no bath in our bathroom.

The breakfasts were lovely with the usual juices, cereals and breads. I did not notice any brown bread there but maybe it is available on request. Our dinner was lovely too with big portions and service was excellent.

One very pleasant event occurred on our arrival to this hotel which started us off on a very positive note. When we arrived we were informed that our room wasn't ready and we were swiftly handed a voucher for free tea, coffee and muffins in the bar by a very friendly receptionist! I cannot ever remember in any 4star we have stayed in being offered this service and it left a very good first impression.

If I were to visit Letterkenny again I would definitely return to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollieNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Mollie NorthEast

Thank you for choosing the Station House for your recent break away, it was our pleasure to have you as our guests.

Your kind review epitomises our core values and we continue to strive for guest service excellence. We ensure a warm traditional welcome and will go to great lengths to ensure that all our guests have a memorable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Station House in the near future.

Many thanks again & Best Wishes

Siobhán Barrett-Doherty
Station House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We have just stayed here for 4 nights, it's a great hotel, excellent staff, they are all great and a credit to the hotel, they are so friendly nothing is too much bother and always a smile. The rooms are lovely as are the bathrooms, would've liked a drawer to put underwear in apart from that you cannot fault it. The food was great and VERY plentiful we would highly recommend a stay here., Thank you to all at The Station Hotel for a great stay !!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alien1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Alien 1944

It is with great pleasure that I am responding to your wonderful review, on behalf of our team thank you and thank you also for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We take huge pride in our hospitality standards and work diligently to ensure that we meet and exceed our guests expectations.
Thank you for your kind reference to our staff, our great food and lovely bedrooms.

We would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future, or as soon as your travel plans permit you to be back in Donegal.

Warmest Regards,

Siobhán Barrett-Doherty
Station House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed here with my fiancé for one night, For a 3* hotel it was just fabulous.Rooms were modern and clean. Bathroom's were so unusual, loved the design of them. Food was so delicious and well worth the money with big portions,Staff were very helpful and welcoming, will definitely be back again!!...superb hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traceylou31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan Barrett D, Director of Sales at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Greetings Traceylou31

On behalf of our team thank you for your "fabulous" feedback! I am delighted that you had a brilliant Station House experience and thank you for your kind reference to our modern rooms, delicious food, excellent levels of cleanliness and great value.

We work diligently to ensure that all our guests have a memorable stay and look forward very much to you returning in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Siobhán Barrett-Doherty
Station House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
0.5 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
1.7 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#3 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
396 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,329 reviews
4 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station House Hotel Letterkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station House Hotel Letterkenny

Address: Lower Main St, Letterkenny, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Encore)
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Letterkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range: £56 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Station House Hotel Letterkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Professional family run boutique style hotel located in the heart of Letterkenny. Conveniently located within walking distance from the high street shopping area, theatre, multi screen cinema and all the culture and night life that makes Letterkenny such a delight. Offering year round entertainment, Letterkenny is the perfect base for exploring the diversity and magnificent beauty of County Donegal. We endeavour to provide you with an unforgettable stay, let our family take care of your family! We look forward to welcoming you soon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Station House Hotel Letterkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Letterkenny
Letterkenny Ramada
Station House Hotel Letterkenny County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing