We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and cozy bnb”
Review of Hazelwood B & B

Hazelwood B & B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Straffan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hazelwood B & B
Ranked #1 of 2 Straffan B&B and Inns
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friendly and cozy bnb”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here when we attended a wedding at the Kclub. Charles and Marjorie couldn't of been more helpful if they tried! If we are ever in the area again we will definitely staying here again. Breakfast is lovely. Rooms are nice with tea/coffee facilities and ensuite with plenty of hot water!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank shawror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Letterkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on 14th Feb after attending a wedding at the nearby Village at Lyons. Room was cosy with a lovely big bed. The hosts Marjorie and Charlie are a joy. So welcoming, felt like you were staying with friends. Great breakfast with more offered if you wanted it. Charlie even ran my husband back to the wedding venue to pick up our car. A really great place to stay and hopefully we will be back (if we can escape from the kids again;-)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mumoffour074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Charles and Marjorie welcomed us to their home like family. We were attending a wedding at the K Club so Hazelwood was an ideal base, Charles dropped us up to the K Club and the K Club ran a shuttle bus back to the front door of Hazelwood after the wedding. Marjorie's cooked breakfast was perfect after a late night and a long drive home. Hazelwood will be the standard I judge future B&B stays to.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank garrigai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed here a while back - wedding in the area. What can I say? Charles and Marjorie are undoubtedly the warmest hosts I've met - their home is so warm, cosy and comfortable, I'll be back again and again. They really make you feel like you're part of the family.
The rooms are really lovely, and I particularly love the style and taste shown throughout the house - beautiful touches and cordon bleu cooking. Also the best cup of tea I've had in a long time, good and strong, made with tea leaves - the proper way!
Definitely something special about this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C0rkGirl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I stayed here this past weekend as I was going to a wedding at The Village at Lyons. Just a few short minutes drive from Straffan town, Cellbridge and the N7 motorway. Easy to find and a perfect alternative to the hotel within close proximity. Can't complain. Marjorie and Charlie and friendly and easy going couple. Would recommend to stay. Nice quiet and peaceful location. Typical Irish fry up in the morning to set you on your way for the day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GBenson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I stayed here for 1 night to attend a wedding at the nearby K club. It was very close - just too far to comfortably walk but Charlie was happy to give me a lift to pick up my car in the morning and the taxi back on the evening of the wedding was reasonably priced. The room was fine - en suite with hot shower. The breakfast was cooked by Marjorie and was just right. There was an iron and ironing board available, 24 hour access, and very hospitable hosts.

I would happily stay here again; it's excellent value for money in a lovely area. Thank you Charlie & Marjorie!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed at Hazelwood the night after attending a wedding at the nearby Village at Lyons. It was the cheapest option in the area and is a good value for the region (which is more expensive than many other parts of Ireland). It was a little on the cluttered side, but super-friendly and the rooms were appropriately clean, so we can't complain. The proprietor - who looked JUST like a Kennedy in an old picture of himself sitting near the entrance - even gave us a ride to the reception so we would only have to take a cab one way. You know they have to be wonderful to so cheerily deal with all these wedding guests from the areas fancy venues - people regularly returning to the B&B in the wee hours and waking up hungover. Breakfast at Hazelwood is the perfect hangover cure, though!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CNHeidelberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Straffan
0.9 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
903 reviews
1.6 mi away
Barberstown Castle
Barberstown Castle
#2 of 2 in Straffan
335 reviews
3.1 mi away
Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
432 reviews
6.0 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
576 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cliff at Lyons
Cliff at Lyons
#2 of 4 in Celbridge
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazelwood B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazelwood B & B

Property: Hazelwood B & B
Address: Ballyhays, Straffan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Straffan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Straffan
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Hazelwood B & B Ireland/Straffan, County Kildare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing