We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise”
Review of Barberstown Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barberstown Castle
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Straffan
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I booked here for a one night short break. The room was EUR180, including breakfast which is a lot. However, we felt we got value for that. We arrived on a Sunday evening and were upgraded. The room was enormous, four poster bed, everything in excellent condition. Yes, it is dated but that, for us, was part of its charm. We had afternoon tea and dinner in the tearooms. The food was nicely done and we were very happy to sit quietly by the fire. As others have noted, there are no tea facilities in the rooms but we felt this was an improvement: you just ring reception and the tea and coffee are complementary and are deliver to your room. Proper tea in a proper cup with proper milk was, for me, far better than struggling with tiny packets!

As such, not cheap, but it gave us what we wanted. We felt welcome - the staff were not as well-trained as they might be but were attentive and friendly. Would return.

Room Tip: I had 65, on the first floor and it was lovely and spacious. Use the staircase instead of the lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dublin2010-16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a family room with my wife and two kids. It has been a long time since We experienced such old fashioned hospitality and staff who were all willing to go the extra mile to make our stay a sucess.

Food in Fine Dining Rooms was absolutely mouth watering. Breakfast sausages and bacon were tasty, ny wife and daughter had perfectly cooked poached eggs.


It has been a long time since we enjoyed being spoiled and welcomed so warmly.

I was worried the kuds woukd be bored but they loved the log fires and thought the automatic lawnmowers were like daleks turning up unexpextedly.


We will absolutely be back and cant recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cornishdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We have gone to barberstown for the last 3 years for a meal on our anniversary but this year we were badly let down. When we arrived we were told that there was no booking for us but when i checked the sheet i found our reservation. We were then told that we must take our table immediately , but we said we would like to have a drink in the bar as we had arrived half an hour early. We went to the bar but had only ordered our drinks when we were told we had to take our table. We were shown our table but chairs were not pulled out for us or napkin put on our knee as it had been on previous visits. We ordered our meal and wine. After 15 minutes of a wait our starter arrived but no wine ,we asked waitress about wine and the bar man arrived with wine, he then proceeded to pour but spilt wine on table and never apologised. We finished the starter and sat there for 20 minutes before our empty plates were noticed. We then had another 20 minute wait for main course to arrive and then when it did we waited another 5 minutes for our veg which turnede out to be poorly cooked baby potatoes. When my partner tried her stake it was smotherede in pepper which had not been on the menu. She ate as much of the stake as she could as she dislikes pepper. We then decided to get our bill and leave. When paying i was asked if everything was ok, i told the lady what had happened and she discounted my bill by the cost of our wine and she told me that there was a big group in and that caused the delay. In my opinion the cause was lack of and poorly trained staff

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank nialljb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We received a voucher from a family member to have dinner at Barberstown Castle and having looked at website decided to stay overnight. So excited as it was our first visit. Our confirmation booking advised dinner in Bartons Rooms Restaurant. It turned out we were the only couple to have dinner in the bar. I pointed this out and was asked would we like her to try swap tables. As we were allocated the table we didnt want to disrupt anyone else. People standing around have a drink while waiting on their table, looking down at what we were eating, not a great ambiance. Moaned again at check out time but got nowhere. We sent a letter and basically were advised it was our fault, we should have taken her up on swaping tables. In their response letter they couldn't even get our surname correct.
There will never be a second vist.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely 1st wedding anniversary break here last weekend. Stunning room, gorgeous food and the staff couldn't do enough for us, so genuine and helpful. Such an amazing place, very special. Thankyou for a lovely stay.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed in one of their premium rooms, you could live in it it was so roomy. Big four poster bed, plenty of storage, authentic sash windows that actually opened and closed. The bathroom was huge and had all mod cons. Authentic castle feel without the musty smell and do withouts.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jesolodublin_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Spent one night in Barberstown Castle in September. On arrival we were upgraded to a junior suite which was a nice surprise. The suite was luxurious (antique furniture, four-poster bed & tasteful decorations) with plenty of space in the room & bathroom. Our dinner was included in the price of the package but we could select anything from the al a carte menu which was very nice. Food was excellent and service very good. My only criticism which is small, is that the wine list was mostly French & a little pricey but the house wine was good. The bar is a little small but is atmospheric and cosy. Had a very comfortable nights sleep in the affor-mentioned four-poster. Breakfast was delicious - really fresh and tasty and with friendly service. There isn't a whole lot to do in the hotel (no spa or other facilities) so if you were staying longer you would probably travel to Naas or Newbridge for activities. However, there are lovely grounds and nice tea rooms so to switch off and relax with a book or good company it is perfect. I will be back.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite (room 44) on ground floor - it was lovely and quiet with beautiful furnishings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AH0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Straffan
1.2 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
939 reviews
2.3 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
454 reviews
5.0 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
8.0 mi away
Osprey Hotel
Osprey Hotel
#2 of 5 in Naas
1,212 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barberstown Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barberstown Castle

Address: Straffan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Straffan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Straffan
Price Range: £164 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barberstown Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Barberstown Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barberstown Castle Hotel Straffan
Barberstown Castle Ireland/Straffan, County Kildare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing