We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was magical!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barberstown Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barberstown Castle
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Straffan
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It was magical!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We got married here last December for a Christmas wedding. Couldn't have been more happy. The staff was great, the venue was magnificent. Food's delicious, rooms were great. It was magical! They helped us every step of the way and went out of their way to ensure we were happy. The candles that lit up the place really added to the romance, the fireplaces kept it warm and cozy throughout. Was BEAUTIFULLY decorated for Christmas, which was great for the wedding. Christmas trees, hollies, the harpist with the Christmas carols, the mulled wine and rich foods, you name it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    68
    33
    25
    22
See reviews for
72
135
4
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Ate in restaurant Friday August 2nd. The staff were pretty indifferent. We had a drink at the bar but were not allowed to order our food so had to go to our table with our pre dinner drinks. Lamb that was ordered pink came out totally overcooked and was immediately changed for correct one .... Steak was utterly tasteless. We were very disappointed as this restaurant is not cheap. We will not be returning.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Noreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I had stayed in Barberstown many times in the past and always had a great time. Indeed, we actually had our wedding there 5 years ago and so have always had fond memories. However, we stayed there a couple of weeks ago to celebrate our 5 year anniversary and from beginng to end, our stay was incredibly disappointing. The lift was broken and the decor in our bedroom needed a definite facelift. We ate in the Barton restaurant where the service was completely disinterested and the food overdone and flavourless. My husband asked for fries with his steak and was told that even though they were served in the tearooms, they could not be served in the restaurant. The only side he got with his overdone steak was a bowl of lukewarm mashed potato. At beakfast the next day, the food and service was again poor. We tried to have showers before leaving but 5 minutes into my husband's shower, the water ran freezing cold and despite contacting reception and wating 20 minutes, repeatedly running the shower to see would hot water return, it never did. However, the most disappointing part of our stay was the reaction to our complaints. We were told that no manager was available to talk to us and that we would be contacted by phone as soon as possible. We paid in full (over 300 euro) and followed up by phone and email. We got a response this morning, acknowledging our complaints, thanking us for sharing our experience but doing and saying absolutely nothing else! It's obvious that management really do not care about repeat business or about providing any sort of customer service. Avoid at all costs!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank AdaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for a night with a few friends. Rooms were beautiful with a bit of character. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Food was delicious and got good value too. The only fault I had was the noise in the morning of breakfast trolleys passing our room as we were beside the stairs but apparently that was only because the lift was currently out of action and staff were carrying trolleys up stairs, hence the racket. But I'm assured once the lift is back in action, that shouldn't be a problem. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Aedamair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful venue, rooms are spacious and comfortable and food is excellent.

However service is slow and staff unwilling to accomodate children, i.e there is no children's menu so you have to order from main menu and there are no baby changing facilities. I did ask if the chef could make a simple chicken fillet and chips or sausages and chips dinner for my toddler but was vehemently told no as the chicken was prepared stuffed and the sausages were in another kitchen. Nobody seemed to be able to go and get sausages from the other kitchen!

This venue is suitable for weddings and couples but definitely not for families of young children.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank AylaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had in the past regularly ate at the tearooms and we were on the whole satisfied with the service and would have recommended the tearooms previously.

We ate here last night and we were appalled by the service and attitude of the management.

We had ordered an evening meal in the tearooms and we were in the middle of our main course when both ourselves and another couple spotted two mice running around the tearoom.
I was immediately put off of eating dinner as I felt uncomfortable that such a venue would have mice running around the tearooms.
I sat for the remainder of my meal with my feet off the floor.

Both the other couple and ourselves brought it to the attention of the staff, the presence of the vermin in the tearoom.

When we were asked if we would like desserts we said no and asked for the bill. We were put off by the sight and had lost our appetites.

Our bill was presented to us in full. We asked to speak to the manager regarding the bill, we were shocked that as a courteous gesture at least the glass of wine and coke would be taken off the bill. It wasn't.
The Manager / owner of the hotel told us that the venue is set within an agricultural area and they had the doors opened all day. Thus he was justifying that it is perfectly excepted and therefore acceptable for mice to run around the premises. He was not apologetic in the slightest.

We pointed out that we in fact lived adjacent to farms but we would not find it acceptable to have vermin in our house, and we are not in the blue book.

In whole we thought the manager's attitude was poor, belligerent and completely dismissive. We would not visit here again and our opinion of the establishment and its management has without doubt been lowered.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Emer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here before heading back to the States. Check in was smooth and the front desk staff was extremely helpful. The room was very large and nicely appointed. The restaurant was a bit pricey, but the food was good, and service was great. The only thing this hotel lacks is a bar area. I was highly impressed with the staff, very attentive and friendly. I would stay here again, and recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Straffan
1.3 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
2.3 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
5.0 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre
9.5 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
16.9 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barberstown Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barberstown Castle

Property: Barberstown Castle
Address: Straffan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Straffan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Straffan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barberstown Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Barberstown Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barberstown Castle Hotel Straffan
Barberstown Castle Ireland/Straffan, County Kildare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing